We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service,attractive pricing”
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia
Ranked #631 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The first thing was the fantastic deal on the hotel website,
I must say that the hotel far exceeded our expectations. The room was little small, but cozy. The beds were very comfortable, and the entire place was very clean.
Breakfast was consistently good with an assortment of bread, pastries, yogurt, coffees/teas, hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, juices. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Twice we had to get up early to meet a tour bus and breakfast was made available to us in advance.
I cannot emphasize how pleased we were with this hotel. The fact it was off a side street near Via Cavour was awesome.
We had the quietness of that street and the convenience of being right next to a major avenue without all the noise.
Walking to the train station was just under 10 minutes.. This place is very close to the major sites: Coliseum, Roman Forum, Vittorio Emanuel II monument, etc.
.
Thanks all the staff Ruslam,Mikela,Alina
If we ever come back to Rome, we will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 805 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I must admit I usually dont'leave any reviews, but my stay at Hotel Saturnia changed my mind about it.......everything about the hotel made my stay in Rome so much better.
To begin with the location:it's excellent located near the Termini train station, so when you arrive, you've just got a short walk to your hotel, 5 minutes.This way you can get rid of your suitcase and your other packings very soon and check out the wonders that the great city of Roma has to offer you!
Second: the staff of this hotel is SUPERB!Most kindly and always ready to help you with anything you need.
The staff of this hotel sets an excellent examplee of how any staff in any hotel should be!!
I've travelled to Roma by myself, however I've never felt alone in my holiday of a week.
I think it's one of the best places to stay during a holiday to Roma.
Nothing but goog things about this hotel, keep in mind that it is a 2 star rated hotel, so the rooms are this class...however the location, the staff and the entourage are more rthan a 5 stars!
They're amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I booked 4 nights here, in a single room with shared bath, on arrival I was informed of a double booking and my first night would be at a near by hotel. A short walk later I arrived at the second hotel very near the Basilica (can not remember name of hotel, but would give it 4 out of 5), as it was a double with attached shower room I was happy enough.

So into the Saturnia, first of all the good points, it is very near the Termini, I would say when you know where you are going 5 mins, 10 mins to the Colosseum and Roman Forum, and I walked to St Peter's in about 40 min. Secondly the staff are first class, very helpful and cheerful so thumbs up to them. The not so good points were the room and shared bathroom. The room itself (210) was clean, maid in every day, but looked rather shabby, the bathroom, 1 loo and shower, was shared between 5 rooms, so there was times when it was in use etc (but I knew it was shared facilities.

Overall its ok for the price; if your there to see Rome and your out of your room most of the day as I was, then fair enough, but, if your planning a romantic trip away, guys splash a bit more cash and upgrade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel was great, especially for the price. 10 minute walk from train station with our carryons- nice reception by the manager who quickly laid out a map for the day's travel. Our room was on the top floor- we knew there was no elevator, so it wasn't a surprise to lug the suitcases up- (the last flight is a metal circular staircase- so it was tight). You don't run up and down to the lobby very often. The room was very nice- large with a balcony, private bath. TV has about 100 channels, none of which are in English, but then...this IS Italy.
We loved the breakfast- the pastries are some of the best I've ever had. A coffee machine was ever ready for cappacinos and the conversation was plentiful and pleasant. Cereals and other breads and meats- really nothing more I could want.
The men who run the place are very helpful and pleasant; really a joy to talk with. They always have time to help.

Room Tip: Room 402 or 404 is on the top and share a nice balcony with private bath. But, you will have to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chosen from the internet for proximity to Termini (only 4 blocks) and the price. Its also a short walk from Metro stop Cavour. Its close to the Colosseum and Paletine Hill. Plenty of little restaurants around. Staff were helpful and courteous and their breakfast is very good with staff providing fresh made cappucinos. We stayed 4 nights early October and 2 more before we left Italy late October. The first room was on the 3rd floor and had aircon and shared bathroom ...no lift but we expected that. The second room was on 2nd floor and had a shower and bidet...but no toilet ....no aircon but a good fan. The shower was one of those where you could just get inside and thats about it. The rooms are probably in need of a spruce up but its Ok for a budget choice close to the station.You can actually feel a small rumble as the metro trains pass under the hotel. Would we stay again.....maybe... but would research Trip Advisor first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on via Ruinaglia. Rooms on via Cavour - a main road - are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My trip-planning on a recent trip to Italy was not terribly well-informed, but I was quite happy with this hotel. If you end up staying near the train station, which would not be odd given the sheer number of hotels around it, this hotel is definitely in the best location relative to the station. It's still touristy, but the street around the corner from the hotel, Via Urbana, has all local-serving businesses and feels very neighborhoody. Cross Via Cavour -- the hotel is between Via Cavour and Via Urbana -- and go up the hill and you are in another seemingly ordinary Roman neighborhood. Though I put many miles on my feet and walked everywhere, the hotel is between 2 subway stations, so it's very convenient on public transit.

My room was simple but very clean, and I had wifi in my room, which was not always the case with other hotels I stayed at (at several other places it was only accessible in the lobby or common area). I had a single room with a shared bath, and the bathroom was clean and not very well-used while I was there. Breakfast was good -- everywhere I stayed on my trip had pretty similar breakfast fare -- and staff were quite friendly. The one negative that I would note is that my room was very loud. Via Cavour is very busy, and my window was right on the corner of it. I live in NYC so it did not bother me much, but if you are used to quiet, the traffic noise, which was 24/7, could be unpleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmore4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Saturnia. We were on the 3rd floor and judging from other reviews we were pretty lucky not to have lugged our luggage up 3 flights of stairs, because we arrived early our room wasn't ready so they stored our luggage at reception and brought it up for us! The room was a good size, we did not have the problem of lack of floor space like what other readers were describing. There was air con is our room as well
But the room did look old and tired.
Bathroom: we chose the shared bathroom option which wasn't so bad, but I must say it wasn't cleaned very well, there was no bath mats so floor was wet after anyone had a shower. I personally would not stay here again however depending on budget this might actually one of the better hotels around Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,528 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $71 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing