We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very helpful great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Ranked #665 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    60
    12
    14
    9
See reviews for
37
89
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Close to major sightseeing and very good service. For the money, one cannot expect a 5 star room. All is OK! But old, but clean and working.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

After receiving a confirmation number from Hotels.com (Venere/Expedia affiliate) we traveled from the Amalfi Coast to Rome via our car rental with GPS. The GPS and we had a very difficult time locating the hotel as well as the street it was located on! The dark of night and the rain that eve didn't help matters. Once we found the hotel the clerk let me examine the room. I felt this was important since I had booked prior to reading revues which included a few nasty ones! The room was small but acceptable since we were only staying the night to view Vatican City the next day. The clerk graciously volunteered to help get the luggage from our car. Once we returned to the building's elevator that takes you up to the floor the hotel is housed on, another guest showed up with confirmation in hand. The clerk seemed confused and asked us both to wait at the elevator while he went upstairs to check records. Apparently, while upstairs he had phoned the owner who mysteriously appeared at the elevator explaining to me our confirmation had been cancelled by Hotels.com due to credit card validity! Interesting enough we were never informed of any inconsistency and in fact had a confirmation number from Hotels.com!!! We had no trouble anywhere in Italy either before or after this incident with using our Visa for thousands of dollars worth of purchases! I suspect the room (our room) was given to this other couple because they were staying 3 nights (vs. our one night).

The owner then proceeds to tell us that he has another newer hotel around the corner that is nicer and that he will honor the same price at that location. I was reluctant to go check it out after what I had read in a previous revue where the lady detected mice and had an attempted purse snatch when her husband went to check the second hotel! With hesitation, I did go check it out at the owner insistance that there would be "no obligation" in broken English. A clerk from the second hotel came and escorted us and our bags around the corner to his location. Up another elevator again to view another hotel room. Once there I decided to pull back the covers to examine the bed. Upon doing so I found 2 long strands (about 9" long) of hair on the pillow and sheets in just the one corner I looked at!! Needless to say, we moved on! We were very fortunate to find a fantastic boutique hotel just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: View room and linens before check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very comfortable bedroom in an apartment in a private block with lift access to the fourth floor. We were made very welcome although we arrived early. Ideal location especially for the Vatican area. Breakfast brought to our room each day, orange juice, croissants, bread, jams, cold meat, cheese and yoghurt and of course a hot drink.
We can recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank douglas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived early in Rome and drove to the hotel to see if our room was ready or if we could at least leave our luggage with them. It took us over an hour circling the same block over and over trying to find it since there was no signage that the hotel even existed. We ended up parking the car and literally walked the entire street and asked local businesses trying to find it. Finally we found a tiny intercom box with the name of the hotel on it. We pressed the intercom button for the hotel and then waited about 15 minutes for the receptionist to let us in. When he finally came down, he informed us we were staying in another building down the street. He offered to show us the room - parking was not available as advertised at the hotel. When we asked the receptionist, he said there was a parking garage down the street we could use if we chose (in a really sketchy part of the street with many unsavory characters hanging out in the front) or we could park on the street ( which we were told is known for many car break ins). We then walked into the building surrounded by tons of graffiti, swastikas, and very shady men selling knock off purses that followed us to the door (extremely unsettling to say the least). Upon entering the building we were greeted with an instant smell of mold, urine, and mice scurrying across the floor. Then we took an extremely rickety elevator ( that had graffiti on it ) which sputtered and struggled to reach our floor. We arrived to our door after stepping over an air vent that had fallen off the wall, the receptionist unlocked it, and the first thing we saw was an open closet to the left filled to the brim with tons of odd and ends, cleaning supplies, and a skateboard that fell out as we walked in. I noticed after we walked into the room (which I thought was our room), there were 4 other doors and a tiny dilapidated desk with office supplies, a telephone, and a Rolodex. He took us to the end of the room, past the tiny desk, and unlocked another door which was now our room. Again, the smell was unbearable. I'm not a princess by any stretch of the imagination, but the linens looked they had been washed so much over the years that they were covered in pill type lint and hadn't been new since the 70's. At this point, I was in tears. Not only was this hotel in deplorable condition, smelt horrible, had mice, we were supposed to stay in a room section with 4 other 'guest' rooms, and if I had to guess, the hotel's storage area. The receptionist saw our concern immediately and wanted to take us to see a room in the other building which my husband went in to look at , I was honestly afraid to. While my husband and the receptionist were looking at the other room, I sat outside looking for a store to buy an international cell phone. While searching for a store on the same street as the hotel, a man ran up behind me and grabbed my purse, which was strapped around my neck. Thankfully a local store owner helped me and nothing was stolen. My husband finally emerged from the building, saw me in tears, and I told him what happened. Well, that was the final straw and we were not staying there. We told the reception to cancel the booking and we left in search of another hotel in a safer neighborhood. This being our first experience in a new country, I was ready to head back to the airport and go home. Thankfully, we were to locate a reputable hotel about 10 minutes away that had availability.

Do yourself a favor and book a hotel. This place is a horror movie!

Room Tip: Go stay near Via Veneto... Neighborhood is sketchy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaKeOrDeAtH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#540 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#497 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
The Flower
#712 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#737 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Prati
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
#1,059 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Suite di Via Ottaviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suite di Via Ottaviano

Property: Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Address: Via Dei Gracchi 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#300 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Suite di Via Ottaviano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Suite di via Ottaviano YOUR HOTEL IN FRONT OF SAN PIETRO In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic PRATI , where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the Papale Palace and Risorgimento square. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Suite di Via Ottaviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suite Di Via Ottaviano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing