We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming and clean minutes to Rome train station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #346 of 3,576 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and clean minutes to Rome train station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Close to trains, bus and Metro but on a quiet side street. Staff were excellent in this family run hotel/B&B . We had been booked in a B&B around the corner that was dirty, noisy and overpriced and found this gem. Very reasonably priced - clean and well run. They helped with reservations for the Vatican Museum and recommended restaurants nearby. Excellent WiFi in the room as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franny2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    163
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
58
202
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

arrived here after flying from Denver to Frankfurt, then to Rome. Jet-lag had set in but we found the hotel with the provided instructions.

Very clean, comfortable room, great breakfast. I grumbled about no toaster at breakfast, and our hostess overheard me, and her husband made me toast, now that is service!

Yes I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarhead-1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this B&B. The rooms we had were spacious, clean and quiet. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 4 more days at end of our trip in Italy. This hotel is near the Termini train station which was convenient for us to go to Venice and Tuscany. Breakfast was good and the personnel was helpful to provide information on your stay in Rome. Close to Termini is also great because you are close to transit bus station. The personal understand English which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pierre44Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel a few minutes walk from the Termini station. We had a 5th floor room with a small balcony (there is an old style lift for when you arrive with your cases!) and it was clean, tidy and had a nice (small) bathroom with good working shower. There was a fridge in the room too which was helpful to keep water/drinks in overnight for taking out during the day. Hairdryer and towels provided.

Good value for money, breakfast is buffet style with bread, cheeses and ham, cereal and yoghurts, pastries, cake and biscuits along with coffee.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, pointed out some nice restaurants in the area which we visited and were not disappointed with at all. The hotel is in walking distance of all attractions (15 mins to Colusseum, then just a bit further down the road to Roman Forum, Vittoriano, and 20 mins walk to Villa Borghese Park) we did a hop on hop off bus which left from Termini regularly one of the days, and got the number 40 express bus from Termini to the Vatican, easy to buy your ticket at the station and then stamp it on the bus).

Would definitely return and stay at this hotel again, thanks for everything Loredana and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This little hotel is in a very convenient location near the Termini train station, although the area can feel a little intimidating after dark if you're by yourself. I have stayed here several times, and find the hotel to be always clean and welcoming. The staff take a personal interest in their guests and are extremely helpful. The breakfast is basic and heavy on pastries and sweets, but tasty. The hotel is cash-only, which can be a problem if you stay several nights, but there is an ATM nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just about a three block walk from the Roma Termini train station. The room and bathroom was very clean and quiet, the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations of restaurants and shopping. You can catch the city tour buses at the train station. We bought a 24 hour pass and got on and off at all of the sites we wanted to see.

The breakfast was satisfying and there is wifi in the lobby. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 525Barb1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#361 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#277 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#283 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#143 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreina
Hotel Andreina
#577 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Esquilino
La Casa di Amy
La Casa di Amy
#258 of 3,576 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Property: Hotel Maryelen
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 3,576 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing