We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good location, clean but really small rooms, no wifii available, friendly family hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #470 of 3,660 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“good location, clean but really small rooms, no wifii available, friendly family hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

just few mins walk to termini train station which is great because easy to come from airport with suitcase and also walk distance to bus station. my room was really really small but bed and bathroom was really clean. no wifii in rooms just in lobby, breakfast is nice several choices you will have. it's a family hotel and they are nice .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    167
    52
    23
    13
See reviews for
60
208
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

lovely family running this hotel; very caring and friendly-bending over backwards to be helpful.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Termini Station.The area is decent,and there are many restaurants nearby (the owner recommended Lionetti's). The room is clean,athough spartan, and excellent value for the price. Breakfast is included,which is always a plus! My only conern that wifi is not available in the rooms. Would definitely stay there again when next in Rome!

Room Tip: as for a room c a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyzeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best things about this hotel are its location (very close to Termini Station and in an area full of restaurants) and the very friendly service offered by the family, three generations of whom are involved in running the hotel.The warm and welcoming atmosphere began even before we arrived in Rome, with a personal email correspondence, including instructions for finding the hotel. Excellent value for money! The room was adequate, very clean and quiet; the breakfast was copious for an Italian hotel, with savoury sandwiches, ham and cheese as well as a wide range of sweet pastries. The third day of our stay the internet connection to the rooms was repaired and from then on we had an excellent fast connection in our room.

So we were very happy with our 6 night stay in January, returned in February and will certainly book here again next time we are in Rome. Most of all we remember the warm human contact!

Room Tip: To get to some rooms involves going up a few steps in order to reach the elevator; if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eirlys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clean & welcoming B&B within five minutes of Termini, and easy walking distance of many major sights. Family run, and all done with a smile. Breakfast is ample and of the continental style - pastries, cakes, cold meats, coffee. The wifi problem in the rooms has now been addressed. The rooms and bathrooms are excellent for the price, although the views are not to die for, as one would expect near a major railway station. Coaches to and from Fiumicino airport arrive/leave at Termini (two blocks away), and cost only 4 euros each way, being a better option than the train. Plenty of nice trattorias in the immediate area, although little in the way of nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Very responsive staff, from the moment we booked. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and great central location, near bus and train transportation. My only wish is that wifi was available in the rooms.
We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the beginning of October for our first trip to Rome and were pleased with our choice. Loreda sent us an email with a map before we arrived and gave us plenty of notice that we would need to pay cash for our room. This seems to be a common practice in Italy so I was not alarmed by the request. The location is very convenient, being a few minutes walks from the Termini, metro station, and bus stops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the street and there was some noise from the restaurants but nothing that kept us from sleeping. The room and ensuite were fine, in fact, the room was larger than I expected from our stays in hotels in England and France. The breakfast was more than I expected, being ready for just a continental breakfast, with yogurt, meat, some kind of pastry with egg, bread, sandwichs, cereal, drinks and lovely red orange juice. My husband thought that there were too many sweets but we managed to find enough to eat in the morning. There is even a laundromat right across the street, which was convenient when we ran out of clean clothes. I am sure we will stay here again if we are lucky enough to get back to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights for last October 2011. Loredana was just so lovely to deal with even before we arrived. I emailed asking if it would be possible to get a room with a little balcony overlooking their courtyard and she kept her promise and provided us with a lovely spacious room with a small balcony. The bathroom was quite small but thats the norm in Italy. The staff were always friendly and helpful, the breakfast was too sweet for my liking but i enjoyed the orange juice and tea. This hotel is extremely convenient for travellers who want to be near Termini Station, u can get trains, buses hop-on/hop-off buses or the metro to where ever u wish to go to in Rome. There is lovely restaurants all around. I really enjoyed my stay with Loredana in her lovely hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LopLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#329 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#732 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#216 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Maryelen 2
Hotel Maryelen 2
#324 of 1,027 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Esquilino
La Casa di Amy
La Casa di Amy
#239 of 3,660 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Esquilino
Dem Guesthouse
Dem Guesthouse
#337 of 3,660 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Property: Hotel Maryelen
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #470 of 3,660 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing