We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Train Station, Good Value”
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #899 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Maryelen for one night prior to our departure from Rome. We wanted a place close to the train station so we could easily get to the airport via the express train. The area around the train terminal isn't necessarily the best, but the hotel was only 2 blocks away and we didn't feel unsafe.

The staff were welcoming and friendly. There weren't any problems checking in or getting to our room. The B&B appears to be in a building shared by another hotel/B&B and some private residences. Our room was in a hallway with several other suites and these were segregated from the rest of the building by a door with a lock.

The bed was very firm and there was no individual A/C control in our room. It was a hot, humid, July day and it would have been nice to lower the temperature a bit to make it more comfortable for sleeping. The bathroom was clean & modern but small (6' x 4'). There was a small TV but it was mounted above the clothes closet, close the ceiling, and hard to see. The room reminded me of a college dorm room, spartan but clean. We were able to hear the guests in the surrounding rooms, not sure if they were loud or the walls thin. The room also had a small dorm-type refrigerator. Internet access is available in the lobby from early morning until midnight.

The breakfast was ok, I would have preferred fresh fruit and some fruit juices. Lots of buns/rolls/bread and some meat & cheese. The coffee machine was great and made a nice cappuccino.

As mentioned by others, it would have been good to pay by CC but the policy is clearly outlined on the website. Communication with the owners was prompt and easy.

This B&B wasn't like a typical US bed and breakfast but it was clean, the price was good, and it was conveniently located to the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPGII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maryelen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 422 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is close (3 blocks) from train station. Easy to find. Fairly good neighborhood. Easy to get to busses and metro stop. Spacious room. Breakfast is so-so. Lots of different breads and pastries but not much fruit. Good rate and value.

Staff very pleasant and do fairly well with English.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor. We were on main floor with a view of stairwell.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed twice at Hotel Maryelen on our recent holiday through Europe, both times with a top floor room - one fronting the street and the other looking into the courtyard. Both rooms were reasonably quiet (the one fronting the street a little noisier but still OK), a very good size and both with TV, a/c & hairdryers, although ensuites in both were quite small.
Free wi-fi in the lobby was good and there were lounges.
The big pluses were the hotel security, the lift and the family atmosphere where there was absolutely nothing that was too much trouble. We even stored a bag there for a week until we returned on our second visit. And its location.Termini station was 3-4 mins walk and there was a laundromat immediately opposite the hotel. There was a good Italian restaurant a few doors down and a good supermarket a short walk away. We also walked to the Colosseum which was about 20mins. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KH138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay, June 17-21, 2012, at Hotel Maryelen. So close to Roma Termini - which was one of my reason's for choosing the hotel. But, we were very pleased with the location, the street was nice and full of restaurants and we felt very safe, there. Our room was a good size and we had a lovely view of the courtyard. We had a nice large bathroom, ensuite. Breakfast was a large selection and we enjoyed that, too! We were able to walk to the Roman Colliseum, with no problem; we actually walked everywhere from this hotel. The only time we used the Metro was when we were going to the Vatican; being so close to Termini and the Metro station was wonderful!! Great, safe, clean place with very friendly and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaAurora66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Parking was along the street, but seemed plentiful. Don't forget to pay the meters. Three blocks from Termini train station. Very quiet street, A/C, Wonderfully pleasant staff. Typical Italian breakfast. Still an incredible bargain considering Rome's extravagant prices on hotels. Would stay there tomorrow if I had the opportunity. Four things about hotels in Italy that are a must. Quiet, comfortable, clean, and location. It was all of the above. Very safe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel Maryelen is located minutes from Termini Station providing easy access to the Coliseum, historic Rome, The Vatican and many other sites. The room was basic but very clean. The street was quieter than many Rome streets. The welcome desk staff were extremely courteous, helpful and always accessible. Breakfast was provided to get you started on your day. Free wifi in the lobby was also available.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRTinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Maryelen was clean and convenient to the train station. Staff was very friendly. The down sides were there was no wifi in the room - you had to go down to the lobby. The second was the breakfast. While there was plenty of sweets, there wasn't really much in the way of breakfast. No granola (only kids type cereal) and no fruit. Other than that we were very pleased with the hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#453 of 1,267 in Rome
762 reviews
Esquilino
Principe Eugenio
Principe Eugenio
#506 of 1,267 in Rome
296 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#284 of 1,267 in Rome
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#139 of 1,267 in Rome
847 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#387 of 1,267 in Rome
806 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Maryelen 2
Hotel Maryelen 2
#263 of 1,131 in Rome
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #899 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing