We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, pleasant, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #586 of 3,751 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean, pleasant, convenient”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

If you're looking for a clean, calm, and affordable hotel near Termini, Hotel Maryelen should be at the top of your list.

The touristy hubbub surrounding the station fades away as you approach the hotel, where you'll be greeted by the warm and welcoming staff. Our room was spotless, with a modern and functional bathroom, comfortable bed, and a small balcony overlooking a peaceful courtyard. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was large and varied, with something for every taste.

The only drawback to Hotel Maryelen is that the wireless internet was available only in the lobby. I imagine that it's only a matter of time until they have wifi access in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel13478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    168
    53
    23
    14
See reviews for
61
210
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I found this hotel completely by chance, as nobody answered me at the nearby B&B I booked through the internet and had to wonder around Rome in the middle of the night looking for a place to stay. After not being successful with three other hotels I stumbled onto the Maryelen and took a room for noe night (even though I needed to stay four nights in Rome).
The room surprised me - it was a flat converted to several hotel rooms, but mine was with a private, albeit small, bathroom.
The room itself was spacious and clean, the bead was great, and as I was traveling alone, was more than enough for me.
The morning brought about the joy of opening with sound-proof windows and hearing bells ring and the view of a waking street, all with an old European charm.
Breakfast was standard, and Loredana and her family are truly helpful - I got cold milk for my cornflakes, a cappuccino and other treats.
Seeing that the hotel was OK, I decided to stay there for three more nights and was happy with my choice. Five minutes walk form the Termini, lots of shops and restaurants around, clean rooms, great A/C and only for 70 euros a night - sounds good to me.
Several pitfalls:
1. No telephone in the room
2. Bathroom was cramped - I had to sit on the toilet at an angle in order not to bump my knees into the wall.
3. Shower does not have a hose, so you have to stand at one spot all the time
4. Hotel does not accept credit cards, so have cash ready.

All in all, a more than reasonable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Greenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Since we live in Naples for the time being we have plenty of people that visit us and fly into Rome and want to see the sites. It's always hard to find an affordable hotel near the metro and attractions. I've really been burned in the past by hotels saying they are close to this and that and really aren't and that are just really shady so when my friend told me about this one we were kind of worried but it all worked out. We really needed a place to park our vehicle since we were going to go to Florence afterwards and would have two more friends joining us and their luggage. Since this hotel is located so close to Termini we parked our car at a garage nearby and walked literally 5 minutes to the hotel. Loredana was so nice and catered to our every need. Our friends got there first and they offered them a coffee even though breakfast was over. She gave us a great map and our rooms were small but very clean and nice. It was December so it was cold but our room had plenty of heat. The breakfast was a typical Italian type breakfast but all done in a nice and neat manner. Internet in the lobby was just fine for us and it actually picked up in the breakfast room as well since we made our Skype calls there with quietness. Our rooms weren't ready when we got there but she took great care of luggage until it was. All in all a great hotel for the money and close to the metro and the Coliseum is walkable as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zafera82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois 60044
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have stayed with Loredana and her family at this wonderful little spot close to Termini Station 4 times now. We loved seeing the new lobby and all of the changes Loredana and her sister Giovy have made since we were last here. She has a great wireless setup right in the lobby, and there is a great restaurant Ceci (new since we were last here two years ago) right across the street that Loredana directed us to. The food was delicious and very reasonable, and the waiters were so friendly.

Loredana stored our bags the morning we checked out as we had tickets to go to the Necropoli tour at the Vatican and were not leaving for the airport until about 3:00. Everyone is so warm and helpful, and we will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: This is a small hotel, all of the rooms are similar ---- clean, quiet, and with plenty of hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meatthebluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistler
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Had a wonderful time at this family run hotel .Every member of this close family goes out of there way to make sure you have the best time in the city that they are so proud of ,and what a great location to start every day from. the breakfast was the best.the rooms were so clean and had everything you would need. the view out on to the street at night was the best way to end each day with a bottle of vino.I will stay no other place.

Room Tip: street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

When we booked this B&B online (after a recommendation from friends), we got an email right away welcoming us and letting us know the address had changed (2 doors down, I believe it is 87 vs 85). It is a family business and as such, everyone who works there has personal interest in making sure you are a happy customer. Their English is impeccable and they can give you directions, recommendations for things to do and where to eat.
The room itself was quite spacious (even for Europe standards) with a TV mounted on the wall, a fridge (with drinks for purchase) and a safe (free to use). The bathroom is on the small side but more than enough room for us. As well, it was quite new and the cleanest that I saw throughout France and Italy. There is a hairdryer there for your use as well. The room we stayed in had large window/doors that opened to a small 'balcony' (more Juliette style). The air conditioner worked very well :) :) The elevator was very tiny (only fits 3 ppl) so if you have a LOT of luggage you might have to make a few trips.

There is free internet but it is only downstairs- not in the rooms, however there are a few couches that you can sit on to use your laptop (and 2 small desks as well).
The breakfast included was very good and varied with cereal, yogurt, pastries, and savoury treats, with yummy coffee (you can order cappucinos etc from the bar). I believe it was from 7 ish til about 9:45am.
The location of the hotel is also quite good. It is only a few blocks from the train station (and Metro and big bus loop)and about 10-20 min walk to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain etc. We walked everywhere except to the Vatican although it could be done. There are many outdoor cafes right around the hotel as well as a small grocery store and Tabacheria (sp?) right around the corner.
You can store your bags at the hotel on the day you are leaving as well.
All in all, I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Rome. The staff was very good and attentive and the rooms are clean and spacious.
Happy Travelling!!

Room Tip: They only take cash so make sure you keep some aside :) As well, there is a charge per night per per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Maryelen and Giovy hotel in Rome. We had a very warm reception on arrival. The hotel is very nice and very good value for money and you get a fantastic selection of cakes for breakfast! The location is great too as it's about 20 min walk to the Coliseum and close to Termini station.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightsouthernstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#293 of 1,291 in Rome
252 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#525 of 1,291 in Rome
386 reviews
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#374 of 1,291 in Rome
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#226 of 1,291 in Rome
379 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Maryelen 2
Hotel Maryelen 2
#322 of 1,087 in Rome
12 reviews
Esquilino
La Casa di Amy
La Casa di Amy
#206 of 3,751 in Rome
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Property: Hotel Maryelen
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 3,751 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing