We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InTrastevere

InTrastevere
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
InTrastevere
Ranked #1,880 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for just one night before catching a plane home. It is in a good location, close to the train station that takes you directly to the airport, and less than a mile walk from the more "touristy" Trastevere area. We spent our last evening walking from the hotel to the Spanish steps and it was a very pleasant evening. The restaurants in this area are great and much more typcial for Italy, you won't always find an english translation on these menus! The room itelf was small, but we had 4 people with lots of luggage and we were fine. The room was clean, bathroom was clean and larger than other places we'd stayed at during our trip. The guy who let us in opened the gate immediately and was very friendly and helpful with any quetions we had about getting around the Trastevere area. The courtyard entrance to the hotel is located off of a well lit parking area across the street from the McDonalds. We came back to the hotel around 11pm and felt very safe walking around the streets near the hotel. It's not hard to get there from Termini if, like us, you are not coming from the airport. There is a bus from Termini station, or you can take the B metro line to the piramide stop and take the F1 train to Roma Trastavere stop and its a 5 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Dear all, from my point of view this tiny hotel is perfect for a city break! Even though an only 2* hotel its standards are pretty high! First of all, what I appreciated most is the cleanliness in the rooms. White perfect sheets, clean bathroom and carpets, comfortable bed, red curtains (pretty romantic), nice paintings on the walls...that's about all that comes into my mind.. Oh! And don't forget about the guy from reception, I'm sorry for not remembering his name now.. Imre.. if I'm not wrong..sorry if I am :) - he is a nice, smiling, good willing boy! There to help you with the information requested! So, if you don't pretend a luxury stay in the center of Rome, (though this one is located at about 15 - 20 minutes away from the center, by foot),and you want a low cost stay I recommend you with all my sincerity Intrastevere Guest House!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

I loved this place. I read some of the reviews and figured these were people who were really aching to stay in the heart of the tourist district but weren't sure about shelling out the money. I'm not one of these people. I'd rather be closer to where actual people live. ( i also hate the olive garden)

As for the room- it's a nice, clean room that reminded me of someone' s grandmother house, minus all the family photos. We were given keys (room, front door, other door and gate.at first i wasn't sure if i should feel secure with all the keys or alarmed with all the keys) and a map.

If you can speak to the son or speak Itlaian or spanish to the owner, you will have a great time here. The owner really wanted to make sure we had a good time. At the end of one night, he saw us and waved us in to the Shiva Bar, where he brought us drinks and we chatted in broken Spanish. THen he went next door and got the bakers to give us free, fresh bread straight from the oven. He also pointed us to the best pizza place in the area (wow, it was good).

Everything is walking distance from this hotel or you can take the tram (do not take the 64 bus as we've been told there's lots of pickpockets on it). We walked to all the major sites in Rome from our hotel and didn't have a problem. However, we are both healthy and without knee problems.


I loved Travestere, much more than the historic district. At night, there's lots of street side cafes and wine bars that open. Even some bead shops!

NO, if you are expecting the four seasons, you will be unhappy with this place but if you want a cool, friendly owner that will help you out and low key accomodations that are clean, then I highly recommend this place.

I loved it.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrieringwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

This B&B is quite different from what you would expect after visiting its website.
It is close to the Trastevere train station (connected directly with the airport of Rome-Fiumicino) but quite far away from the nice and lively "real" Trastevere area and far away from the center.
The building is old and ugly, although rooms are OK and the bathroom was very clean. Our room was in a first floor and right near a big road, so it was noisy and anything but romantic.
Price was OK for Rome, because this city is a quite expensive destination, but next time I would rather pay a little more and get a hotel in a nicer area.
In my opinion, customer would get less dissapointed if the owners just take the "luxury" out of the name and explain how the things actually are.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caschulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2007

InTrastevere B&B is a small hotel that is situated out of Rome by about 1/2 hour. It is quite hard to find from Trastevere Station the first time but ok after that. Some good restaurants around, the lady on front desk will point out some good ones. A fantastic pizzeria really close by. We arrived in a massive downpour and got saturated finding the place but they let us drip our way into the room before sorting out any of the details which was nice of them. Be warned that breakfast is literally what is on the menu, very very basic but since it is a cheap stay you don't expect much. The room was pretty small and dark with the curtains drawn (even in day) but the air conditioning was great. The bathroom was pretty small, the shower was tiny but if you are of average size it's fine.
Overall an ok experience but i wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

This "luxury B&B" is located in a multi-building apartment complex near the Trastevere railway station and at the south end of the Sunday Porta Portese market. To call it "InTrastevere" is technically accurate but not at all indicative of it being in the part of the Trastevere neighborhood where tourists want to stay. You have to buzz through a gate just to get into a courtyard, then buzz again to enter the building.

The staff here -- who were eastern European, not Italian -- were rude and condescending. While supposedly staffed 24 hours, we often would find no-one at the desk, and the bell was inoperable. So, we helped ourselves to the things we needed from the supply closet -- towels and toilet paper.

Oh the horrors! We were accused of "stealing" because the closet is marked private...though the door was open 24/7. The staff actually refused to give us clean towels daily, and didn't make the bed daily, either. Perhaps they could have spent their time hiring someone to clean the grime from the carpets, or to get the aircon to work properly.

This was hostel-quality accomodation at best. There was no storage space for luggage when I arrived early the first morning, and they did not even want to buzz me in. The beds were basic, the shower tiny, and while there was (apparently) free Internet access, even that was archaic (static IP address for those who care).

Luckily we found that it is only a two block walk from here to the tram line, so the 20-30 minute walk to Piazza Santa Maria Novella was more tolerable, one euro at a time. But that still doesn't make this a worthwhile place to stay -- certainly not at 110 Euros / night.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Paying 110 Euros /night for a dump
  • Tips/Secrets — check out locations carefully...while technically in the trastevere neighborhood, this place was away from the action big time.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2005

When I booked this B&B I was a little worried as I'd not read any reviews and this was my first time in Rome.

We booked 3 rooms and they were all fantastic. Very clean and the girl at reception was very helpful. The B&B is located close to the Trastevere station and is in a residential area. It took about 15 mins by bus or metro to get to the main tourist areas.

The taxi driver didn't know where it was so I suggest you print off the directions in Italian! We paid 50 euros per taxi (we had 2) from Ciampino airport,after trying to negociate in my very basic italian! but on our return we booked a 7 seater taxi with the hotel and only paid 60 euros.

Breakfast was served to the room and was very basic but filled a hole before lunch!

Bed & breakfast was only 100 euros per night based on 2 people sharing which is great value for money for Rome.

We were all very impressed considering how much we had paid and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#266 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Munira B&B
#1,127 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Lungotevere Suite
#80 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InTrastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InTrastevere

Property: InTrastevere
Address: Via Degli Stradivari 32, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,880 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — InTrastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InTrastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intrastevere Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing