We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Breakfast; Decent Rooms; Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Ranked #547 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The hotel is located in the "ROME WITHIN ROME". The location is absolutely amazing. You can walk to all the important sightseeing locations or jump on public transportation 3-5 min from the hotel. The quadruple room with private bath is small, but clean. We got a room with an outside view. All the attendants are amazing! They help out in every form! Breakfast is brought to your room at the time you request... and it is AMAZING (especially the cappuccino)! You won't need to eat until dinner after you eat breakfast. Shower is a little small, but bathroom size is decent. There was a problem with the cable when we were there, so the TV didn't work. I definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabz323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2008

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. The staff were helpful and pleasant, the room was clean but there were problems. Firstly it is hugely overpriced for the facilities that it offers. Our room was very small and the shower which leaked, was tiny. There was no sign of any manager, just employees, and we felt that no-one really cared. The breakfast was truly awful and we didn't bother to go down for 3 of the 5 days. For that price we have stayed in a 4 star hotel with wonderful facilities and breakfasts. The area itself is lovely but the hotel is hardly more than a hostel and should be priced accordingly. Rome is a noisy city so be prepared for disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Just returned from the Domus Tiberina Hotel, the staff where very helpful and spoke very good english. Rooms where small but very clean the only fault that we found where the showers they where very small if you where a big framed person there is no way that you could fit in the shower. The breakfast was basic but nice. A nice place to stay very central, nice resturants very close by serving good food that was not expensive. Would stay in this hotel again but would ask for a room not on the ground floor as you could hear people coming in and out .

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

The room was pretty nasty. I expected a clean, basic room. I knew we were not staying at the Four Seasons. However, it was pretty dirty. I've attached a few pics of the carpet and stains. Everything had a stain on it., even the towels. After our first day of exploring Rome, we returned, took a shower (not too bad...plenty of hot water) and started to slip into bed. I pulled down the comforter and there were curly little hairs all over the blanket and pretty big stains. I wanted to sleep in my jeans the entire time. We requested a new blanket, but it wasn't much better.

The a/c works very well and the dark windows kept us asleep. There are several restaurants very close, as mentioned in some of the other reviews.

The night prior to leaving we talked to the guy in the lobby. We requested a taxi and confirmed it would only be 40 euros. (All the taxis are required to post the fee for the drive to the airports). He said it wouldn't be a problem and he would call them in the morning for us. Well, we walked down the stairs in the morning and walked into a big pot cloud from the same guy working the night before. He started to make the call and we hurried outside to escape the cloud of smoke. About 10 minutes later, a black van arrives. We didn't order a van. So, we asked how much it would be. 80 euros. We tried to talk to the guy in the lobby again, but he kinda just stared at us and didn't want to deal with it (He spoke perfect English so that wasn't the problem). We gave up and paid for the ride, but really just wanted a taxi.

I think I would be too embarrassed to recommend this hotel to a friend or co-worker. I guess if you are single and just need a bed, it MIGHT be okay. We wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrittaniK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We decided to book a last minute short break to Rome, once the flights were done we turned our attention to a place to stay, we initially need two double rooms at the same hotel and suffice to say at short notice this was easier said then done!

The Lonely Plant Rome Guide pointed us in the direction of this hotel; the original booking was made via the telephone with a really helpful young lady, who was very patient with me as I don't speak any Italian at all.

Just seven days prior to our stay we had to cancel one of the rooms and this was done with complete ease.

Prior to arriving we had checked out the previous reviews that trip advisor has for this hotel and had we not been a little desperate I am sure that they would have completely put us off and we would have booked elsewhere.

We arrived at the hotel to be met by a charming and very helpful receptionist, as we had arrived quite early in the day our room wasn't quite ready, so after getting a quick but really helpful overview of the area we left our bags and headed out into the eternal city.

On arriving back at the hotel we were given Room 23, we were both pleasantly surprised and somewhat relieved with what we found.

Our bathroom had a really big and very powerful shower, with constant hot water. The room was a little small with twin beds that were made up as a double, so the actual sleeping area was larger than a normal size double. The room was very clean and tidy, simply furnished but it had everything that we needed!

One morning we did try the television, we were not at all disappointed by the lack of English speaking channels as the city (and my company) were so fantastic that we never turned it on again!

The air con worked perfectly, and kept the room nicely chilled. The blackout shutters and double glazing made for a perfect night's sleep also.

The reception area was staffed around the clock and we found all the staff members to be perfectly helpful and approachable.

Breakfast was simple but ample and afforded us a quick getaway each morning to see more of the city.

All in all the hotel was perfect for our requirements, it is a quiet quarter of Trastevere. There are a few restaurants in the Square to the side of the hotel and once you have spent your whole day sightseeing and having a perfect time, eating somewhere relaxed, affordable with excellent food a stone's throw away is a splendid way to end your day. On saying all of that the hotel is just a short walk from the main Trastevere drag, and everything that the area has to offer.

Only having got back today, I might still be feeling fairly wonderful as my whole weekend was perfect.

Rome is just amazing and absolutely the best short break I have ever had in Europe, the hotel was in a excellent location and was everything we needed at a really reasonable price for a city like Rome and lastly my partner in crime (PIC) was completely splendid (you know who you are)!

Can't promise that my PIC will be available for your trip, but if you choose Rome and this hotel and you only have half the fun I had, and only get half the amount of wonderful memories you will still have had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Acompletefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2005

You might as well spend a little more money and stay in a decent place. The staff here is awful, confrontational and unhelpful. The rooms are basically like a youth hostel, the bathrooms smell, and the management doesn't care. Admittedly, the location is good, but it's not worth it. Same owners as Hotel Trastevere House, so don't be fooled. It's no better.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NoahIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2005

We have visited Rome five times in the past 7 years so have some feel for mid-range hotels in that city. In our opinion, a stay in Trastevere while in Rome is the one area of the city giving the tourist a taste of "old Rome" with streets of character, tons of excellent restaurants, lack of the maddening traffic and a sense of not being in huge metropolitan city. We just returned from a 5 night stay in Rome ( May 3-May 8) and stayed at the Domus Tiberna Hotel. We have some mixed feelings about the stay, but would consider staying there again. On the plus side: location. Just a five minute walk from the Tiber Island and the river. On the other side of the river is Bus 23 which will take you close to St. Peter's Basilica (stop on Via Conciliazone (sic), and also a later stop on the bus close to the Vatican Museums (Piazza Risorgiamento)--this is important to many tourists and keeps you away from the packed bus 64 with its pickpockets. If you need to visit the area around the Pantheon then take Tram 8 near the hotel. Now the hotel staff was quite friendly and spoke English. Everyone tried to assist with answers to our questions. Now to the other side of the coin: the rooms are so tiny and very hard to move around in. If you travel with a lot of luggage you will have problems reaching your bed; the bed linen is not changed on a daily basis so we had the same sheets for our entire stay; the breakfast is a bit ordinary: one cup of coffee to your order,a small plastic glass of juice, two rolls per person, a container of yogurt, little container of cheese spread. On our travel home date, the lady who presents the breakfast came in late to work so the front desk person had to make some quick coffee and give us our rolls (he was quite pleasant about it). Do not expecgt breakfast before 8:00 The showers are tiny,be careful if overweight as you may get stuck and need assistance. No english speaking channels on the TV, although this was only a concern late at night after returning from sightseeing. Now the cost was 140 euros per night for a double room. All in all,it was o.k.and a possibility for the future, but not something I would go out of my way to return to in the future. However if you desire to stay in Trastevere you may want to consider this place if this is your budget.

22  Thank whiteshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#508 of 1,271 in Rome
175 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#536 of 1,271 in Rome
181 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#469 of 1,271 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#289 of 1,271 in Rome
704 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus Tiberina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Tiberina

Address: Via in Piscinula 37, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $50 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Domus Tiberina 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Domus Tiberina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Tiberina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing