We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky Find”
Review of Margot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margot Guest House
Ranked #2,131 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lucky Find”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stumbled across this jewel. Simple clean rooms at a low price in an excellent location. AIR CONDITIONING!!!! We made this the central hub of our 2 week stay, and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The Margot Guest House is perfect for traveller who want to stay near the main station (Stazione Termini) with the possibility to arrive easily at the turistic places and the airports by the public transportation. The good price-performance ratio, the very kind and helpful owner makes the stay comfortable and pleasent. I'll come back.. :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Donario0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

The only great thing about the location is its 5 mins away from the termini station, the neighbourhood is not that great but the hotel seemed pretty safe. The hotel is on the 6th floor which sucks but there is a lift. The rooms are pretty small as was the bathroom but they were both clean. The walls are really thin so you can hear the people next door. The owner seemed nice but made a big deal about not being able to pay in cash which pissed me off since it didnt say on the website that she prefered cash and the hotel is non-smoking but the owner smokes in her room so the hallway still smells like smoke other than that it was a good stay. If you stay here go to a restaurant called Aquila Nera its like right across from the hotel, its really good the best I have had and its cheap too

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank justpeachy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We stayed there for 5 nights. It was the one available hotel for this period but we liked it a lot. The reception desk's lady is also the owner of the hotel(is just one floor - on the top of a building). There wasn't breakfast room and she was bringing us our breakfast in the room what was perfect because we prefer to have our food in the room:) It was a basic middle size room with small but good enough bathroom with dryer and cool shampoos;) I liked this hotel not only because of its location ( Next to Termini station) but also because the owner told us that is forbiden to make any noise after 9 PM!That was the first place we had only peace and good sleep!

  • Liked — The stuff
  • Disliked — The view from the hotel room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ToTravelIsToBreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We stayed in Margot guesthouse for three nights. The hostess is extremely friendly and helpful. She gave us as a gift a Colomba Pasquale, a typical italian cake served in Easter. We stayed in a double bedroom ensuite. The bathroom and the room were very clean, and comfortable. We had a good stay. Only disadvantages were:
1) dodgy surrounding and the smell in the staircase leading up to the guesthouse.
2) It was very noisy early in the morning because of the thin walls, and our neighbours woke up really early.

The advantages of it:
1) It is clean.
2) Breakfast is cheap, but you have to pay for it and ask for it a day before.
3) It is very close to Termini train station and to the other attractions in Rome.

I'd definitely consider going there again.

  • Liked — Its location and the friendliness of the owner.
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

This is a simple but pleasant little place. The rooms are small but clean and airy. The location is a bit dreary (near the railway station) but the friendly, helpful host is a real plus, and it's only a few blocks to a more attractive area for dining and sightseeing. We'd stay here again. Travellers with mobility problems should note that while the reception is on the sixth floor, the elevator only goes to the fifth.

  • Liked — friendly, helpful host
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank my_cat_misses_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

This is a basic pensione, clean and simple. Nothing flash, just a bed and ensuire bathroom, which is perfectly fine for those who like to dump their bags, and spend their days walking around Rome. Really close to the Termini - so great after you fly into the airport, catch the train to the termini, you can then walk to the hotel. I would stay here again - in fact, I'm booking a trip there soon!

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheMelbourneHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Giorgina
Giorgina
#720 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#289 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#257 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Cherubini
Cherubini
#736 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreina
Hotel Andreina
#690 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#247 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot Guest House

Property: Margot Guest House
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 76, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,131 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Hotel Class:1 star — Margot Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margot Guest House is a beautiful establishment situated between Termini train station and the charming church, Santa Maria Maggiore, a few minutes on foot from the impressive Coliseum, the mythic Trevi Fountain and public transport to the Vatican City, all true Roman gems.The establishment offers six large, comfortable rooms with a private bathroom, tv, wi-fi and air conditioning. Furthermore, the friendliness at Margot Guest House will make guests feel right at home. Staff will help you plan your day trips and answer any questions you may have; they will even recommend the most typical restaurants in Rome where you can try authentic Italian dishes such as Pizza or Spaghetti.Thanks to the central location, places such as the Coliseum, the Imperial Forum and the beautiful Trevi Fountain can be easily reached on foot. For trips a little further away, like the Vatican City, there is plenty of public transport. Termini train station is just a few metres from the Guest House. The world’s smallest state city is just a few minutes away.Beautiful sights wherever you look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Margot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margot Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing