We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the effort”
Review of Villa Maria Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maria Regina
Ranked #638 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 23, 2006

The room size was unbelievable small. The double bed had just enough space left to get around into the bed. There was not enough room to open our suitcases and leave them open at night. the phone was unusable, there were no instructions as how to use. The property doesn't qualify for the three stars that it displays. The location is not close to the Vatican as advertized. The price was too much for what they had to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sosider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 356 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2006

Prior to our arrival we called for directions, only to be told they were overbooked and we'd be staying at another hotel for the first night. Villa Maria did pick up our luggage and upgraded the room when we got there. The bus route outside the hotel doesn't go directly to any of the sights. You must transfer to a tram, metro or another bus. The website said "close to the Vatican". It took nearly 45 minutes and two buses to get there. Breakfast was not impressive compared to the other hotels we stayed at. We learned dinner was only served when a group was staying at the hotel. After being told dinner was being served one night, we found it wasn't when we went to eat. I inquired about delivery from somewhere else, since the hotel is located in a quiet, residential area. Not possible. The staff made no effort to try and help us get dinner. However, the biggest complaint we had was the hot water. Or, should I say lack of in the morning. The room was clean. There's a nice terrace on the upper level. But, unless you're with a tour group, I would stay elsewhere. The staff could also do better. I would rather have paid more Euros, and stayed closer to the center of the city. It was too much of a hassle to return to the hotel, and go back into the city.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lb5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
england
12
Reviewed March 22, 2006

we arrived at the airport at 5pm only to find out that there were no buses to the hotel we had to catch a taxi paying 50 euro to get us to the hotel which took almost a hour to get there, on arriving at the hotel we were hungry, only to be told that there were no resturant faciltes available, we had to walk for 1/2 hour to find somewhere, the hotel was full of young student running around and playing music loudly most the night, complainted to the desk. It is a long way from the centre, had to catch a bus then the metro, taking over 1 hours, renovation work being done, not very helpful staff, would not recommond this hotel,

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor. I regret to hear you were not satisfied with your stay.
I want to apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
29
Reviewed March 22, 2006

No problems at all. Helpful staff, nice beds and food.
Its miles from the centre of town...you have to get two buses to the centre or one bus and a tram to the Piaza del Popolo.
If you enjoy walking then by all means this is for you. A nice up and coming area with alot of wine bars and some nice resaurants about a mile from the hotel and a decent market on saturdays!

Round the corner from that is a swimming baths and the Olympic Stadium.
Be warned...if you have an early morning flight home this hotel is on the total opposite side of the city from both airports!

Stayed: October 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
11
Reviewed March 7, 2006

I booked this hotel because of the "Close to the Vatican" hook and we wanted to be "close". The map wasn't helpful, not clear about location. Thought "close" implied within walking distance, it's NOT. It's MILES from the Vatican. Felt that was deceptive marketing. It's really far from the historic Roman sites we wanted to see. It was cheap but more than made up the difference in cabfare/busfare (took more time) than if we'd booked something more central @ a higher rate.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2005

The hotel is in a quiet residential area in the north of Rome, and is now being run commercially having previously been operated by a religious order. We had a good size room, a large and well presented bathroom, and everything was run to a high standard. The buffet breakfast was good (no evening meals when we were there). Some facilities are still being developed. The location is rather awkward, however, requiring at least one change of bus to get to any of the tourist sites and a journey varying between half an hour and an hour depending on the destination (the bus service is frequent during the week but there are fewer buses at the weekend). There are no restaurants or shops within easy walking distance, and as a result we would go out just once for the day, returning after our evening meal. Possibly as a result of the location, prices were very reasonable for the standard provided.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Piero I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Farnesina Hotel
#1,051 of 1,273 in Rome
187 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#448 of 1,273 in Rome
1,347 reviews
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#766 of 1,273 in Rome
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton by Hilton Rome East
#604 of 1,273 in Rome
11 reviews
River Chateau Hotel
#328 of 1,273 in Rome
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Regina

Address: Via della Camilluccia 687, 00135 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#299 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Maria Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maria Regina Hotel Rome
Hotel Maria Regina
Maria Regina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing