We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the heart of Rome”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Loved our stay at the Hotel Golden. This is a family run boutique hotel in the heart of Rome. The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. They gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants, excellent directions for getting around the city, and even made reservations at museums. The breakfast is wonderful! We will definitely stay at the Hotel Golden when we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Golden for the second time at the end of October. We had previously stayed for two nights in early June, on a pre-cruise visit with several other couples. Again, we found this hotel to be a great value. The rooms were clean, provided space for hanging clothes and suitcases, hair dryers, excellent temperature control, comfortable bedding and in-room safes. A very good, full breakfast buffet is included in the rate. The location is close to the Spanish Steps, Borghese Gardens and Piazza Barberini. Giuseppe and family were extremely helpful in arranging airport and port transfers, providing maps and routes for sightseeing, assisting with luggage, and in general answering all of our questions.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxeysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

In the past we have been disappointed with reasonably-priced 3-stars in Rome & Paris when we found a room so tiny you trip over your luggage, a grimy window opening on a pigeon-populated airshaft, a shower either too small to turn around in and/or keep the water from spraying all over the floor, or worse yet, no shower at all--just tub.
You won't find any of those problems at this clean, friendly, family run hotel.
Our room was plenty large, with adequate space for luggage, a big armoire, and even several chairs! The two large, clean windows had modern insulated glass and opened on a cross-street view of a giant bust embedded in the ancient city wall. The extra large bathroom had a perfectly decent shower with great water pressure, and a large-aproned sink as well as a table and chair, providing plenty of those typically-rare horizontal surfaces.
The Golden is a reasonably-priced hotel surrounded by the most expensive hotels in Rome. It is family owned and run, and it shows in the clear attention that is paid in providing you with a clean, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelIsPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Golden for 5 nights and had a wonderful time there. This family-run hotel is friendly, cozy, and clean. Marco and Giuseppe were very helpful with giving me information about transportation options and nearby restaurants. They can also help with making a reservation for the Villa Borghese museum. They have a pretty good variety for breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Great place to stay, being so close to all the major sites in Rome. Very friendly family run hotel. Delighted with our choice and have no reservations in recommending it to any others who want to stay in Rome

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelharriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My wife and I recently(Sept of 2010) stayed at The Hotel Golden(Rome) for 3 nights prior to our cruise.
We had been referred there by friends.
We feel it would be difficult to find a better value than this gem of a place.
The family owners are simply wonderful in all aspects.
The location is excellent( a few minutes walk
from the spanish steps)-the service and friendliness of the staff very accomodating.
It is more like a bed and breakfast rather than a large hotel.
The facilities are sparkling clean and modern.
By the way, the standard Taxi fee from the airport to Rome central is 40 Euros-they will arrange for a driver to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. "It is well worth it."
Best-location and service. Least -none,(breakfast was very good, not elaborate or lavish)
LK from Florida

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froggie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This family run inexpensive hotel, located in the "expensive" district of Rome, just outside the Villa Borghese, is the way all hotels should be run. The sibling staff of Marco, Guiseppe & Maria Theresa are fluent in English & warm and welcoming. Marco even helped me with my Italian! Momma & Papa are there too with Momma overseeing the fantastic array of breakfast foods in the morning buffet. Being greeted all day with a warm Buon giorno, it was very difficult saying Arrivederci to this wonderful family. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Roma.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishPrincess57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,268 in Rome
6,851 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,268 in Rome
4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,268 in Rome
1,372 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,268 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing