We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectlyformed”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small but perfectlyformed”
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We arrived in sunny rome mid October 2006. After making use of the taxi pick up from the airport - which was possibly the most hassle free transfer we've experienced on city break and worth every euro.

Checked into the hotel located on the first floor of an apartment block, beautiful entrance hall and antique lift. The hotel itself is very welcoming, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished.

Our room was a good size, with a spotlessly clean bathroom and the most amazing view of a roman face peering in from the wall opposite. The shutters meant we had cool and dark sleep and the double glazing provided a brilliant soundproofing from the nearby main road. The bathroom layout was interesting with a bidet directly opposite the toilet which proved to be an obsticle on entering and exiting the shower.

The hotel itself is situated within walking distance of everything in central Rome. It took us approximately one hour to walk to the Vatican and about 15 minutes to the Trevi Fountain. This really was the best way to see the city as you are greeted by the most amazing sights round every corner. We would recommend that you get up early and attempt to do the main sights first thing, as the crowds become vast the later in the day you leave it. We walked straight into the Colosseum and practically had it to ourselves. You also get to see a different side to the streets of Rome without all the tourists thronging.

Breakfast was more than adequate with pastries, fruit, cold meats and bread to fill yourelf up on if still hungry after the previous nights dinner. It started at approx 7.30 and although previous reviews have commented that the small breakfast room was too small to hold all guests, we did not find this a problem at all - except if you choose to eat at the same time as everyone else.

There are plenty of restaurants near the hotel, all the recommendations made by Marco at the hotel were great, although we would recommend booking for Friday and Sat nights. A taxi into the Piazza Navona area doesn't cost more than 6/7 euros if you want a bit more variety. Whilst the via Veneto has some beautiful bars/ restaurants why are very expensive but good for just watching the world go by.

In all we had high hopes for the Hotel Golden and were not disappointed. Whilst it does not have the facilities (eg. swimming pool, bar, gym) of bigger hotels, it is small touches like the minibar, dressing gown and absolute cleanliness of the place that made this the ideal base for exploring what is possibly the most beatiful city in the world.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Roma Pass offers access to many places of interest. 18euros gets access to 2 sites free, and pretty much half prices to many more, also includes bus transport for three days
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HappysuzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    542
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
832
1,166
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Golden based on other traveler reviews. Overall, we liked the hotel and would recommend it to others if they were not concerned with location. We felt the location wasn't great. The website says, "steps away" from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. To me, "steps away" means within two to three blocks. It does not mean a 10 minute brisk walk.

My husband and I are walkers ... we walk everywhere. So normally, walking wouldn't be a problem. But this was a 10 minute walk downhill ... which meant we were walking 10 minutes UP a very steep hill when we wanted to go home. This was fine on the first day, but it got tiresome on days two, three and four.

The service was wonderful and the rooms were very nice. So, if you are not concerned about location, then stay here. Personally, I will spend more $$ next time to secure a room closer to all the action.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GritaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We recently finished our 3 and a half week European holiday with our 3 children at the Hotel Golden for 3 nights. I hate to disagree with previous reporters but I can honestly say we did not find Marco to be quite as friendly as expected. Maybe we got off on the wrong foot as we arrived in our rental car and couldn't find a park, had to unload 3 children (1 in wheelchair) plus baggage and then find find our way to the car rental place to drop it off. My husband had to double park and we couldn't get through to the car rental place so we asked Marco to help us get in touch with the car rental place as we had no luck on our mobile. He really made no effort to help and was almost dismissive of us, basically shrugging his shoulders and turning away. I would never say he was unfriendly or impolite but definitely not helpful basically just nodded the obligatory nod as he gave us our keys every day.

The rooms, however were lovely. We had a superior twin and a superior triple and they were so cool and spotlessly clean and quiet. The bathrooms were big enough and plenty of hot water.

The hotel is in a great spot with plenty of sites nearby to walk to and the cafe on the corner next door did the best coffees we had in our whole time in Italy plus their tiramisu was out of this world!

Breakfast at the hotel was adequate, nothing fancy but all you'd need to give you a good start to the day.

I scoured Trip Advisor reviews for all the hotels we stayed in through Europe and each one exceeded our expectations with cleanliness and friendliness. We did feel a bit sad that our last place on our holiday was soured a bit by the indifference of Marco, but, maybe he was just having a bad day or we were, who knows!!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hospitality
  • Tips/Secrets — Great coffee and tiramisu at the corner cafe next door!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Search
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch U.K
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

We stopped at the Hotel Golden from October 9-13th 2006. We booked it after reading so many recommendations on the trip advisor web pages and we were not let down. The hotel is in a very good position just round the corner from via veneto and a short walk to the spanish steps and trevi fountain. In fact we walked everywhere even the vatican and colloseum are only a 25-30 minute easy walk with plenty to admire on the way!
The hotel is fairly small but is in immaculate condition with everything you need. Our room (110) was a large double with 6ft bed/ TV/ air con/ bath robes/ safe/ hair dryer and mini bar- which was very reasonably priced. Would recommend anyone to stay here, Marco and his family will look after you well! (Try the chocolate croissants at breakfast!!!) The immediate surrounding area is one of the nicer parts of Rome, with expensive looking restaurants and bars. Ask Marco for ideas on where to eat!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — chocolate croissants for breakfast
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ericac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

5 ladies stayed at the hotel in october and thoroughly enjoyed it. Once we found our bearings it was in a good location for the Spanish Steps and the designer shops in that area and also straight down the road into the main tourist area. Trevi fountain about 10 mins stroll. A walk to the Vatican took about 20-30mins and that was with the shop browsing as well. Marco and reception very helpful giving instructions and maps etc however if you do get lost, ask for the American Embassy, everyone seemed to know where that was. If you dont want to wander back into town after a busy day there are some good restaurants close to hand. All in all a good little hotel, only down side, there are no facilities to make a coffee or tea in the room, but there is a cafe underneath the hotel if you need one.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no tea/coffee making facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — take a travel kettle
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jillyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

At first sight, you wonder what you got yourself into since it is a second floor hotel. But wait. It is just charming and Marco is a gem who's English is pretty good! The location is superb near Villa Borghese and Via Veneto. It is only two star but everything you need is there if you don't require all the swimming pool.Patio/Spa extras.

  • Liked — Value for price
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DiTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

I chose this hotel after reading all the great reviews.
We spent the first night of our trip in another hotel so I do have something to compare it to.
I was not dissapointed, Marco was very helpful and his restuarant recommendations good.
Our room was a good size (112) unfortuantely it was not in the ideal location, opposite the breakfast room which at nigth turns into the staff room. The bathroom was nice and shower lovely.
There was only 1 night which I didnt enjoy and that was because we went to bed early because it was pouring with rain that day, the staff room was abit noisy and someone in the room next door was using their hair dryer (to dry clothes) and it sounded like a hoover!
The location was very good, unfortunatley they were doing alot of roadworks on the via veneto road while we were there but this can easily be avoided by taking a different route.
We found 'Ciampini' restuarant (left at the top of the Spanish steps) VERY nice. I can highly recommend it, we ate their twice, on my 30th birthday night and also our last night. The majority is open air but fairly enclosed. I recommend taking a look before going if you are not sure about how cold it will be (or take a sweater!) but you wont be dissapointed with the food.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,130 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#124 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing