We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for first trip to Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent choice for first trip to Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Golden for any travelers going to Rome, whether it be your first trip or a return trip.

Upon walking into the hotel, you are greeted as if you are family. The hotel staff speaks excellent English and will help you in any way that they can. At check-in, we received a detailed map and Marco did an excellent job highlighting areas of interest, areas to avoid, and the best transportation options available to get to various sites.

In addition to excellent hospitality, the rooms are fantastic! We stayed in a junior suite, which was huge and had very tall ceilings (12-14 ft!). The hotel was very quiet and comfortable for our 3 night stay. The bathroom was wonderful, including a fully adjustable showerhead for tall people.

I highly highly recommend staying at Hotel Golden and would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    532
    55
    20
    7
See reviews for
814
1,134
152
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The Golden hotel made our stay at Rome a perfect one. The place is clean, the room was great, spacious and clean and the hospitality was the best we ever saw. Really! Giuseppe and the family are nice, welcoming, give great explanations and after we left Giuseppe even helped us get a refund for a football match that was cancelled and sent us the money abroad... Can't get any better than this.
Thank you so much Hotel Golden for the great experience, we'll definitely come back next time we're in Roma :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
..and wonderful guests!! our great hospitality as you describe it, is made possible because of wonderful guests like you.. because when we smile to pamper our guests and to make them know that we are here not just to help them but to make sure they have the most memorable stay, we receive the same appreciate smile back.. enjoying our guests company and sharing with them all our knowledge of the city is what makes the Hotel Golden such a special home in Rome.

our guests are so important to us that any need of them (within our possibilities) become ours.. like in your case, as soon as I had the time I went personally all the way to the Olimpic stadium to get the refund of the soccer game that was changed to a different date and you could not attend it.. and I did it because you, as all our guests are important and deserve our time and our attention.. as many other times we deal with the airport to make sure any lost luggage is brought back as soon as possible by the airplane courrier, as we make sure to take care of all arrangements need for transportation, for logistic, for tours, for private guides, for tickets to attend sport, concerts, music, opera, and all the beuties of Rome

Rome is an open museum.. Rome is such a grest city as each one of our guests.. we miss you all and look so forward to having you back.

Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We recommend this family-run hotel unreservedly. Our family of 5 was made extremely welcome by the wonderful Loria family, who were very kind and helpful, recommending places to visit and eat at, and how to travel there. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was perfect for walking or taking the bus or metro to the best landmarks of the city & the breakfast was varied and delicious .We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

From the time of our booking our reservation, to arriving at the hotel, and throughout our 3 day stay, our experience with everyone( the whole family!) at Hotel Golden was a pleasure! It was like a home away from home! It was a perfect location. So many key sites within walking distance as well as being close to bus and underground transportation. Our room was a delight: clean, well maintained and comfortable. The breakfast, excellent. It included everything and more than anyone could wish for and very tasty. And the best part: the Loria family. Each one made our stay enjoyable! The advice, assistance, and directions were not only helpful, but accurate and made our excursions doable and fun. We could not have asked for anything more, have already told our friends where the must stay when in Rome and will look forward to going back ourselves. Truly a golden oasis in the midst of bustling Rome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Highest of recommendations for this family owned hotel. Beautiful traditional Italian decor, tall ceilings, shuttered windows, with all the modern room amenities expected today. We were comfortable here overall - refrigerator in room, individualized temperature controls. Breakfast is wonderful, family prepared, nice assortment from which to choose. Family helpful to us in planning our individual touring while in Rome. Prompt with seeing to our transportation needs - especially getting from Civitavecchia to Rome! Thank you Giussepe for all your help!! We look forward to returning to Hotel Golden soon.

Room Tip: 2nd floor hotel - we like the built-in safety precautions of that arrangement. There are some stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews and was not disappointed. The family were extremely courteous and the rooms were spotless, with multiple, clean towels daily. Breakfast far exceeded our expectations and the help and advice which we were given in relation to our excursions and restaurant requirements was invaluable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We felt comfortable, safe and welcomed throughout our stay thanks to the Loria family at Hotel Golden. We had an unforgettable time in Rome. This was largely due to their generous and accurate assistance. We appreciated Rome's incredible history, cultural atmosphere, food and current political struggles. We highly recommend hotel Golden for those that appreciate the warm gestures, accurate guidance and family vibe. A big thank you to the Loria family for their passion for Rome and the care they take in supporting Tourists. We enjoyed our European adventure and had a wonderful time everywhere, but it is rare to find such care and detail and we thank them immensely for this. We definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
we are the ones that can not thank you enough.. first of all because during all your stya here at the Hotel Golden Rome you made each one of us feel so special with your courtesy and with all those smiles you shared with our parents and each one of our family members.

secondly, our thanks for having found the words to perfectly describe Rome, our property and our family.. we want to have you back as we want to have back all our guests, each one of our guests.

the Hotel Golden of Rome is the oassis of peace as you describe it because of the wonderful persons that come to visit us each day.

grazie!!

Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#15 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#74 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing