We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we had in Europe”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Rome was our last stop on our European tour 2013. As far as our hotels, we saved the best for last. This hotel is owned and operated by a very nice family that works very hard to make your stay in Rome pleasant. It is located in a great area of Rome--very safe and quiet residential neighborhood but close to the Via Venetto--a major shopping and restaurant throughfare in Rome. It's also just a short walk from the Spanish Steps and the Piazza del Poppolo. I believe there's a termini (rail) station nearby as well, but we never used it, because Rome is a great city to explore on foot. The hotel staff are fantastic. They really know the city and will make sure that you know all about Rome and how to best get to the places you want to visit. They also provided us with some great restaurant tips (San Marcos is just down the street and my personal favorite, La Locanda, is only a short jaunt away on via flavia). The hotel itself is beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. Our room included a spacious bathroom and shower (with very hot water), daily clean towels, and internal temperature control. Best of all, they make you breakfast every morning, and I don't mean the croissant and coffee breakfast that you'll get anywhere else in Europe. They make you fresh omelettes, french toast, deli meats, breads, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, juice, and even ice water. We could not have asked for better accommodations, regardless of price. You can pay a whole lot more in Rome and still not get a more pleasant stay. I will 100% come back to Hotel Golden when I'm next in Rome!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Golden at the end of October.

Location: close to Via Venetto, residential area, with some restaurants close by. 10 minutes from metro station. The hotel is located within the first floor of a residential building.

Room: we stayed in on of the Double Superior Rooms, containing a large bed with comfortable mattress & pillows, 2 arm chairs, TV, minibar and ensuite shower room with a variety of toiletries. Shower room and bedroom was extremely clean. Unfortunately 3 out of the 4 mornings we were woken up at 6:30am by traders (?) talking outside.

Breakfast: Served in a small room close to reception so at times very crowded. Good variety of breads, cakes, cold cuts (salami & cheese), eggs (on our visits these were not hot enough), juice, tea and filter coffee from a thermal flask. We had to request hot water to make tea as the thermal flask could not hold the temperature of the water high enough.

Customer service: very friendly and polite, they provided us with maps, guide books, umbrellas, and were very efficient at check in and check out.

This is a 2 star hotel with excellent customer service. However those looking for a hotel with space outside their room will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a clean, well-run hotel that is conveniently located. The family that runs it is friendly and helpful. Giuseppe, the son, was wonderful and went out of his way to be of assistance to us. His restaurant recommendations and his travel advice were excellent. His sister (Maria Theresa, if I recall correctly) greeted us upon arrival and immediately highlighted a number of key routes on a street map provided by the hotel. Their mother provided a simple carry-along breakfast for us on our last morning, because we were leaving before the dining room even opened. All in all, we had a lovely experience and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was small but adequate for our needs. If you need a larger space, you should request it at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have been to Rome before but after discovering the Hotel Golden I would never stay anywhere else!! They were so helpful in the hotel, the breakfast was great and the area where the hotel is just perfect to explore room. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world but I can honestly say this is one of my favourite hotels, if you get a chance then stay here xxx

thank u for making our stay amazing x and cannot see why anyone would have complaints re this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, yet everything you wanted to see was within walking distance. Our room was nice and quiet. Everything was very clean. The Loria family that runs this hotel is very helpful and knows the ins and outs of Rome. Breakfast was wonderful, too. It was a great way to start the day off right. Thank you Loria family for helping to make our stay in Rome a memorable on. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay , it was in a perfect location to visit Rome. The hotel was very clean and breakfast was very well presented and varied. We will return and will also recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Golden for three nights in mid-November and we stayed in the Family Suite. It was perfect for myself, my husband, our 20 month old and our 5 month old. There were two bedrooms with a king size bed in each and a central area with a dining table. The bathroom was spacious and the shower had changing colorful lights that my son loved. The hotel staff was very accommodating and had milk for my son when we ran out and the breakfast was delicious. The location was close to a supermarket and restaurants. There was also a wine / champagne store, Peluso's, that you can sit at and enjoy your purchase. There is a metro stop nearby, but we love to walk and found that the main attractions (Spanish Steps, etc.) were within a 20 minute walk. Also, there is a huge park across the street for the kids to play. Oh, and the hotel set up a pick up for us and it was 50 euro including the tip, which was well worth it for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Nozio Netplan srl so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing