We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and found that we truly enjoyed Hotel Golden’s location in Rome. The hotel’s location, near the upscale Via Veneto, is a nice, calm oasis away from the touristy crush of Rome. We found the nearby buses (less than 5 minute walk) and Metro stop (less than 10 minute walk in an underground tunnel) useful to get to the major sites when we didn’t feel like walking.

We stayed in the King Superior and, based on other reviews, I asked if I could be placed in a quiet room away from the front desk. I am a light sleeper so this is important to me. While there was no noise from the street, I could occasionally hear conversations and the television near the front desk, but never after 11:00 P.M. or before 7:00 A.M. The room and bathroom was spacious, clean and comfortable. (When we travel, we don’t spend a lot of time in our room except to relax a little and to sleep so we don’t need a suite or additional sitting areas.)

Marco and Giuseppe were very helpful prior to my arrival, answering questions, securing reservations, etc. They check their email often and respond quickly and courteously. Once we arrived, they were happy to give directions and assist us with transportation issues. Giuseppe informed us that there is a travel agent in the same building who, for no additional charge, was able to book our Eurostar train reservations to get to Florence and Venice. I highly recommend this service, to avoid confusion at the train station and to help better plan any train travel since you know in advance the date, time and seat reservations.

Another gentleman also worked at the front desk and speaks little English. We speak very little Italian, so we learned quickly to get all of our questions answered by Marco or Giuseppe when we saw them at the front desk. This is not a complaint, but just a suggestion to other English speaking travelers.

The size of the breakfast room was not a problem for us and we only had to wait 5 minutes on one day before we could be seated.

We enjoyed the extra security feature of leaving our key at the front desk and getting “buzzed” in upon our return.

I give this hotel 5 stars for value because I did A LOT of searching for hotels before making this reservation and felt I could not find another hotel in the same class in a superior location for the same rate or better. To Americans, nothing is a good value in Italy right now, with the weak dollar, but this is not something to penalize the hotel for in terms of value rating.

There was one issue that disappointed me. We arranged, with our reservation, for the car service at 40 Euros to pick us up at the airport. I emailed my flight information to them and asked if they would monitor my arrival online, since I may not be able to call them to report a delay, and they agreed to do this. Long story short, my flight did not arrive at 9:00 A.M. as planned and our arrival was changed to 6:45 P.M. I called the hotel from Amsterdam that morning to let them know of the change in plans. A woman, who does not speak English, answered the phone. I do not speak Italian so I was unable to communicate with her. So I paid 5 Euros for a 10 minute internet connection in the airport and emailed the hotel with the information, asking them to monitor my new arrival time. I then was off to take another flight to Paris to get to Rome. Like I said, long story. Our flight landed in Rome right around 7:00 P.M. and we found our driver about 5 minutes later. The service was wonderful and exactly what we needed after a long trip, with many complications, to get there. When we got to the hotel, we paid our driver the previously agreed upon (and verified by email) 40 Euros, but he insisted we owed him 55. We walked into the hotel together because he wanted the hotel staff to explain the cost to us. Giuseppe told us that the fee is 55 Euros because we landed after 7:00 P.M. He then said “What time did you land again? Was it before or after 7:00 P.M.? If you had to get your bags and you did not reach the driver until after 7:00, then you have to pay 55.” I informed him that no one told me of this and if they had, I would have just taken the train in. 40 Euros for the service is reasonable. 55 with the current exchange rate would have changed our minds. He stated that Marco emailed me with this information, but I told him I did not have access to email during that time since I was flying. He shrugged and said “I’m sorry but this is the arrangement we have with the driver” and that was it. I am a business owner and understand that occasional mistakes or lack of communication may happen from time to time. I also know that a sincere and appropriate apology goes a long way to smooth over any problems. An extra bottle of Prosecco or something similar would have cost them little and would have been a nice gesture to show regret over the situation and appreciation for our business. But based on the response to the problem, we assume there was no regret. This was my only disappointment with our stay and I found it surprising, based on our other interactions with the hotel owners. This is also the main reason I am giving a 4 star rating.

Would I consider staying here again? Yes. Would I ask about any issues that might change what I’ve agreed to pay? Yes.

Overall a nice hotel with a good location and value.

  • Liked — location, value
  • Disliked — problem with car service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    542
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
832
1,166
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed here at Hotel Golden for four nights on our first trip to Italy. The room was immaculate and very spacious. We had the King Superior room. The bathroom was also very large by European standards and even had two bathrobes which were a nice touch. We loved the location--a very quiet little neighborhood just off the Via Veneto. Walking this neighborhood at night is a dream. We ate two dinners at the little restaurant across the street, Le Bruschetta. Excellent, excellent. I especially loved our view, which looked out onto the charming street below. Marco was a fantastic host, answering all our questions and even calling our hotel in Venice for us to arrange airport transportation there. After a long day of sightseeing in Rome, we also looked forward to coming "home" to our little hotel.

  • Liked — location and quality of rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tupelohoney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Golden for the last night of our trip to Italy. Our room was a "small double" - it really was quite small. The bed was a little too firm for our liking. Breakfast was not served until 7:30 AM, so we didn't really have time to eat much before we had to leave for the airport.
Marco was very helpful and courteous, and he suggested an excellent restaurant in the area. The Golden may be a two star hotel, but it is certainly located in a five star neighborhood. The Via Veneto area is very pleasant and convenient to other areas of Rome.
In spite of minor shortcomings, the Hotel Golden represents an outstanding value for the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bed firmness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dickensdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2008

What a great hotel! We chose this one for the price and especially for the great reviews I read on Trip advisor. We want to be one more of those positive reviews. What we loved about the hotel was its location near some very nice places. It was close to great (and cheap) restuarants - ask the hotel they recommend these. It is also close to the metro and hop-on-hop-off stop. We both felt very safe here

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cupboards
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MandS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Company of three (my sister, our friend and myself) stayed at the Golden Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is immaculately clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful at all times. Breakfast was very decent. if you need to arrange airport pick up, you can contact the hotel via e-mail and they will gladly do it for you.The location is absolutely perfect (walking distance to all major sightseeing sites of Rome): Villa Borgese - 2 min walk, Spanish Steps - 10 min walk, Fontana De Trevi - 10-15 min walk, Pantheon - 15 min, Colliseum and Forum - 20-25 min. Barberini subway station is just 10 min away. Although check in time is 3.00 PM, they let us in at 11.00 AM. Our plane was at 8.00 pm. So we checked out in the morning and left our luggage in the hotel till 4.00 pm at no charge. Also it was very nice to get a bottle of italian champagne as a welcoming gift upon arrival. If we ever will have a chance to return, we wil stay there because it is reasonably priced, comfotable, and perfectly located. Special thanks to Marco, Maria and Giusseppe from Svetlana, Alla, and Elena!!!

  • Liked — location and helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sveta2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Wonderful value for money, friendly and helpful staff. Location is perfect for newtimers in Rome. If you ever go for a weekend visit - choose them :)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We were looking for a mid-range hotel in a fairly central location for our trip to Rome. We chose the Golden Hotel after reading all the fantastic online reviews. And now I get to add mine!!
The location of the hotel, just off Via Veneto, is so handy to everything. We only took the metro once, to get to the Termini, but other than that we walked everywhere; it's really well located.
The rooms are very clean, warm and comfortable (oh that king bed!) and the charming character of the hotel is extremely welcoming. The family who run the hotel are so incredibly helpful, and answered all our questions, and made recommendations to suit our preferences. (All were spot on). There was always someone on the desk to let us in, any time of the day or night. I am used to European hotels having its odd quirks which you learn to tolerate, but any quirks here (like the bowls of sweets everywhere) were simply a joy. Coming back to the hotel after a day in Rome was always pleasant; it was a safe, comfortable little Italian home away from home. Please believe me when I say I tried to think of some negative points to try and even up this review, but I couldn't think of one. When we return to Rome we'll come back to the Golden Hotel.

  • Liked — The comfortable, secure rooms and the location.
  • Disliked — Honestly? Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,130 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#124 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing