We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel near Via Veneto”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I chose this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews - it was about no.5 in Rome at the time. It has a good location in a side street near the top of the Via Veneto, so is convenient for the Borghese and Barberini art galleries. The historic centre of Rome is a pleasant 20-25 mins walk.

The feeling is more of a B&B (bed and breakfast) than a hotel. There is no lobby on the street - the entrance to the tiny reception area is on the first floor of an ordinary residential building. No bar or residents lounge. I had a rather basic room, sparsely furnished but comfortable. The bathroom was poorly designed - the toilet was so close to the shower cubicle that it was impossible to sit comfortably, and in any case the toilet seat was loose.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, set me up well for the day. On one occasion it was substituted by a tray delivered to my room, which was less good.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby, although they seemed to be quite expensive and with snooty waiters. Better in many ways to stroll down to the Pantheon/Piazza Navona area in the evening for a better choice and friendlier welcome. There's a supermarket very close in the Via Toscana (turn right on leaving the hotel, then left, then right).

Other reviews testify to the friendliness of the family running the hotel and the advice they can provide to guests. Certainly the hotel would be a good choice for travellers who need help navigating the city or finding somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,621 - 1,627 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

A wonderful hotel situated in a quite district near Villa Borghese. Good location, 7-minute walk from the nearest metro station, about 20-30-minute walk till all main sites. The room was cosy and neat with two wide windows, huge bathroom and nice view. Although it was cold outside it was warm in the room, air conditioning was available, yet it was a little bit damp in the room and there was marble floor which could do with a rug.
I'd like to mention separately a wonderful family that runs the hotel and that made our stay with them homely and comfortable. When we arrived we were informed about all major sites, adviced on restaurants and afterwards we were supported in every possible way, the mother of the family cooked delicious breakfasts. In one word it was as if we were visiting our friends. Million thanks to our hosts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosabelverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My clients, stayed at Hotel Golden and could not have been happier. They emailed me during their travels north from Rome to share how much they LOVED Hotel Golden and how wonderful the owners were and that they were made to feel like family. There are so many hotels in Rome but when you can find one that goes beyond just a place to sleep, then that is where I will put my clients. Italy is about her people and to experience that personal touch is a gift. It makes the trip a lifetime memory. Giuseppe and Family were very responsive to my inquiries and reservations and as a Travel consultant that is an essential.
Linda Vogan
T'Amo Italia

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed 2 nights and it was great!!! They're really helpful. If you need something they're very happy to help you. Location is so good, you can walk or take a bus. I've also took taxi from airport to hotel and then back and they were wonderful as well. Also they helped me to find tourist bus.
Hotel is very clean. In the room you have TV, also it's very warm if you're traveling in winter.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ripok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights during New Years. Conveniently located, decent breakfast, and great service (car service, restaurant recommendations). Took the car service back to the airport which was reasonably priced. Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smallwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just spent 16 days at Hotel Golden and we were not dissappointed!! This was our 2nd time staying at this Hotel and the excellent customer service, clean and confortable rooms and delicious free breakfast were just some of the reasons we came back! From the moment we walked in we knew we were in for a great stay. The family owned hotel has the most caring ,helpful and happy owners ready to direct you to the city's great attractions. They helped us with a tour to the Vatican , suggested Restaurants to eat at and welcomed us back for a great relaxing rest at our Hotel room.My kids and I enjoyed breakfast so much every morning was easy to get started with a smile on our faces! The hotel has such great location that we could walk almost everywhere, and if a taxi was needed a phone call and 2 minutes later it was already waiting downstairs. We had a wonderful time and believe me we got more than our moneys' worth ! Its so nice to have a smiling person say "Buon giorno" and be so thorough in explaining the city's ways and most important things to do . We would come back in a flash!! We thank the Loria family for making sure our stay was delighful and really true to the Christmas spirit! Well done see you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped depending on your family size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MariaPulvirenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of five including three teenagers spent three nights here in a family room on the second floor . The rooms were spacious, clean and modern . The family who runs it are very friendly and helpful. One of the brothers Giuseppe was particularly helpful in recommending a lovely restaurant for my daughter's birthday . The area where the hotel is located is particularly nice with the Villa Borghese gardens nearby . They were lovely for early morning jogging . The hotel is also near the Via Veneto. It was easy to walk to most places we wanted to go to .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emilyr197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,395 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#12 of 1,271 in Rome
432 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#52 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $78 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing