We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, very friendly family-run hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from an 11-day Italy tour with our two teenagers, and our stay at Hotel Golden in Rome was the best of the lot. It's located in a quiet neighborhood adjacent to the Villa Borghese and within easy walking distance (under 10 min.) to Spanish Steps and Trevino Fountain. A taxi stand is around the corner on Via Veneto. Marco, Giuseppe and Maria (3 siblings) run the hotel with their parents, and they were the warmest and most welcoming hosts we had all week. The room was plenty large for the 4 of us, and was modern and clean. The bathroom was large and beautifully tiled with a wonderful shower. The A/C worked wonderfully and there is free WiFi. A homemade breakfast is included which, to my childrens' delight, included omelet slices and some bacon! And the rate per night was remarkable given all of the above. I researched hotels for hours and picked this one based on other TA reviews, so glad we did. If we return to Rome, we will definitely stay there again, it was just perfect for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebArc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location. I was able to walk everywhere from there. The family that run it are super helpful. I had a very comfortable room (101) though I prefer to have a duvet instead of one bed sheet as cover but I made do by sleeping without the air-conditioning on and that was comfortable.

There’s a lot to choose from at breakfast and the croissant/breads are fresh so eat up!

I was only in Rome for a day and a half and I would definitely recommend this to all travelers looking for a place to stay that’s affordable and great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina_AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Golden four nights. We had booked a simple double room, but we were upgraded free of charge. Our room and bathroom were enormous and very well decorated! It was also air-conditioned and had a frigobar. Upon arrival, Giuseppe gave us a map, drew invaluable tips of how to get everywhere in town (most places are within walking distance, ~30 minutes or so), and recommended some restaurants close by and in Travestere. San Marco, just around the corner, was one of them --- so good that we went there twice. Not only was this the best hotel in our trip, but it was one of the best hotels we have ever been to!

Just a word of advice for anyone traveling there right now: there were some road works being done around the building, so the entrance seemed to be shut down when we arrived. (We almost panicked.) But it is not closed down! Just use the intercom and the hotel staff will buzz you in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a family room. Lovely room and very large bathroom. Everything spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, freshly cooked and lots of choice. Location is ideal as within walking distance of all sights of Rome. Family run hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Guiseppe. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved our three days in Rome at Hotel Golden. This is a family property with a capital F. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was very nice, with many choices, but the best part was the wonderful, personal service by Marco and Giuseppe at the desk. There was no advice they couldn't handle, no request too small. If I could give it a "6" for service, I would. We liked the location, quiet and close to the bus routes. We would be thrilled to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris32137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I found this hotel while doing massive amounts of research online, trying to find just the right place to stay in Italy. I finally decided on the Hotel Golden, based on the online reviews posted by other travellers. What a wonderful place to stay. Giuseppe, Marco, and the rest of the family went out of their way to make us feel welcome, even before we arrived (they sent us lovely emails saying they were looking forward to meeting us, and arranging transportation for us from the airport to the hotel). Marco helped us take all our suitcases (we travel with a lot of luggage) upstairs, using a quaint old elevator (as the hotel itself is one floor up from ground level). Our room had just been refurbished and it was delightful. We had a large bed for me and my husband, and a lovely day bed for our 13-year old daughter.. The bathroom was large, by Rome standards, and very functional. Despite being in a fairly busy area, the room was very quiet.
Breakfast was provided by the hotel - again with family members stocking the buffet and cooking the food. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfast room is quite small, but we did not mind - it added to the feeling of being "at home".
One feature we appreciated was the fact that they lock the main door to the hotel at night. You have to use an intercom to gain admittance. When I asked about a safe deposit box for my valuables, I was told that it was not necessary as all the staff are family. We felt very safe and protected, as a result.
The hotel is in a great location - about 10 min walk to Spanish Steps and a couple of blocks from the Via Veneto, and public transportation (we walked or took buses everywhere). Three restaurants in the area are worth mentioning. The first two were recommended by Marco.. They were San Marco (which we liked so much we went back again) and another restaurant called "Trattoria il ?" (I can't remember the full name, but Marco can tell you). The third restaurant was one we had already dined in on a previous trip. It is called La Bruschetta and is also very nice.
This was the second time we have visited Rome. The first time, we stayed in the Hotel Victoria (which turned out to be right across the street from the Hotel Golden). I have to say, although the Hotel Victoria is lovely and quite posh, I will always stay at the Hotel Golden on future trips. It's that nice.

Room Tip: There are only a few and I'm sure they are all as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjsctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay the Hotel Golden in Rome, Italy this past June. The family-run place was perfect for our family. We were traveling with two children, ages 7 and 9. Our first night at the hotel was our first night of vacation and our 7-year-old was suffering/enjoying jetlag. She was roaming the halls, eating up the small candies at the reception. The overnight staff person thought this was charming, not annoying - much to our relief! We had emailed ahead for an extra cot which was there on arrival and the room was spotless and comfortable. Our room was right off the entrance but there was no noise. The breakfast was made by the mother of the family - it was as if my own mother had made the food and her coffee was excellent! We all loved the homey feel. The location was perfect for us - we walked to the park and took the subway to the sights. One of the sons suggested we rent a car from the agency around the corner which saved us the hassle and expense of taking a taxi to the place we originally reserved with. These kinds of time-saving tips were so valuable to us. But they outperformed our expectations when they emailed us a few days after we left to tell us that they had found our son's kindle. They wanted to know if they should mail it ahead to our destination or hold onto it. In the end, they mailed it to our home in the States. We had a wonderful and memorable stay at the Golden. I would go back again - and hope we get the chance to!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaKoBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,268 in Rome
6,851 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,268 in Rome
4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,268 in Rome
1,372 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,268 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing