We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Golden - Great find!”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Golden for 2 nights. The room was large and very clean. The decor was charming and the family that owns this hotel is very attentive. Not only is this hotel in a great location, but we felt very safe in this area as well as in the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 2,832 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here as a family for 3 nights in June. Giuseppe and Marco gave us very good tips about what to do during our stay and especially where to eat! The hotel was clean and our family room was ample space even with a teenager. What impressed us most was how welcoming and friendly the family were. We would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Golden for 6 nights in May, and I returned alone after some solo traveling at the beginning of June, for 2 nights. This is a remarkable place, run by the nicest family I met on my travels. Every time I walked in the door, I was welcomed warmly, and after my solo travels for 2 weeks, I was greeted with "welcome home," and that is exactly how it felt. The breakfast was delicious every morning, and most importantly, the room was quiet every night; which was not my experience in other cities. I received excellent directions and suggestions of sites I might not have visited otherwise. I hope to stay here again. What a delightful experience - my favorite place to stay in 5 weeks of travel!

Room Tip: We started with a double room, I moved to a single room when I started my travels, and after returni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenheather3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife, myself and a friend stayed here in late May. We had booked on line and had a double and a single room. Both rooms were very good, welll appointed. clean and comfortable..

The general feel of this small, family run hotel is warm and friendly. We were given good advice about our stay and they recommended restaurants that were close to the hotel, these lived up to expectations and saved us time and trouble finding somewhere on a "pot luck" basis (especially valuable when arriving in a new City after tiring travel).

The only slight qualification is that the beakfast area is rather cramped, but this didn't detract and is a minor detail.

Overall an excellent stay in a small, well run, friendly hotel which is conveniently located. To be highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in May.

Giuseppe and Marco were amazing. They helped us with direction around the city, and even helped us with reservations at restaurants. The breakfast in the morning was an excellent start to the day, fresh fruits, pastries and coffee.

The hotel is located close to the Borghese Gardens, the Spanish steps,Trevi Fountain and metro were all within walkable distance.

This hotel had the best service of all the hotels we stayed in Italy.

Most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

While I was only in Rome on a very short trip, I really appreciated the service and warmth of this lovely hotel. The location was perfect and in a nice quiet location. The room was spacious with all the amenities needed. The breakfast was delicious with a good selection of choices. Most importantly was the personal service in terms of suggestions of places to go, directions and walking routes which were so helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhgreenacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Staff were pleasant and room was clean. Transportation was nearby within a two block walk. This area is in the more upscale part of Rome with plenty of restaurants.
Breakfast included cereal, eggs pastries, bread and what appeared to be canned fruit.
Walking distance to a wonderful park and zoo.
Staff were helpful and were great booking a taxi to the airport. Retrieved our luggage and walked us down to the taxi and provided all the information to the driver. the family could not be more accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cqc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#11 of 1,270 in Rome
427 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,270 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,270 in Rome
4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#36 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $68 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Nozio Netplan srl so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing