We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon Stay!”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Honeymoon Stay!”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 day for our honeymoon. Our room was a good size and very clean. The staff are very friendly as well and informative. They helped us plan out our site seeing for our whole stay when we first go there which was a great help especially when you are on your honeymoon and do not want to have to worry about anything. This hotel is in a very trendy and upscale neighbourhood, It is also close to a beautiful park. You can walk to all the sites in about 15-20 mins max. which is what we did and found it an excellent way to see everything in Rome. We loved our stay and would definitly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,005
    541
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
832
1,164
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Clean spacious room. Friendly service from all at this family run business.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarzMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My fiance and I have just returned from staying at this wonderful hotel for a week and we did not want to return home. It is situated just off Via Veneto, within easy walking distance of the Villa Borghese, Spanish Steps and the Trevi fountain. The family who own this hotel are so helpful and friendly! They gave us many tips on how to make the most of our holiday. The room and bathroom were both of a good size, unlike a lot of European hotels. We highly recommend this hotel and thank Giuseppe and his family very much for helping us to have a wonderful holiday! Grazi mille!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergirl267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Rome, the Eternal City, is like New York - it never sleeps. Finding a quiet haven in Rome is miraculous. From a previous visit we knew the Villa Borghese area could be relatively peaceful. Based largely on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose to stay in April at the Hotel Golden. This is not a place to see-and-be-seen, nor a high-style boutique hotel sporting the latest trendy decor. But this is the place to stay with the Roman family you never knew you had!

The hotel occupies a residential building on a quiet street less than a block from Villa Borghese Park – a godsend for families with children because there is plenty of room to run around in the park. We arrived via the car service hired through the hotel – an easy, stress-free option. The small reception area and tiny breakfast room are on the 2nd floor – there is no lobby. We were upgraded to the family suite, and while two of the extra bedrooms remained locked (and unseen), the space we had available was enormous, particularly by European standards - a large, high-ceilinged bedroom (king bed + twin day bed), a dining room, bathroom and large vestibule. We were wallowing in space!

It’s difficult to overstate the care with which the family caters to their guests. We overslept the first morning, missing the open hours in the breakfast room. Without asking, Mama whipped up coffee and breakfast for us. On another day, when we planned to dine elsewhere for breakfast, they held the kitchen open until we appeared because they thought we’d overslept again. Such attention is unheard of in a typical hotel! Being in the family suite on the 3rd floor required a family member to escort us to unlock the outer door, so someone was always on hand with a smile and concern that our day was a happy one. Kudos to the Loria family for a charming, well-run inn! We absolutely recommend the Hotel Golden to anyone looking to be treasured by family in Rome.
My photos are on my blog at: http://exuberanthome.com/travel-tuesday-the-hotel-golden-in-rome

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindySanti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had only 3 days in Rome as part of a longer trip and the Hotel Golden was a great find. Upon arrival, it seemed we weren't in the best location, you had to ring a bell to be let in, but my fears immediately disappeared upon entry. It is almost right on Via Venato, the "rodeo drive" of Rome, a is walkable to Borghese Galleries, Trevi Fountain. We did take a taxi to the collessum as that was a bit farther and the weather was hot. The family is absolutely wonderful in helping you maximize your time and plenty of suggestions for local restaurants, etc. The room was lovely and such a great value. We arrived by train and their tips on what to pay the taxis to the hotels that they included in our confirmation saved us about 15 euros! In the evenings, we had cocktails along via venato and watched the people walk by; then, 3 minutes walk to the hotel for the evening. Felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issylh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband, teen son and I stayed at the Hotel Golden prior to a cruise. The hotel is located behind the Marriott Gran Flora and is close to Villa Borghese. We were made to feel welcome and the family showed genuine interest in making sure that all of our travel needs were met. Breakfast was delightful. The room was clean and fine for 3 of us for sleeping, however there was not alot of space for relaxing. It was great for what we wanted, which was a secure, clean, quiet hotel in a lovely area of Rome. Had we stayed longer, it might have been nice to have an area in which to sit such as a Lobby. The Family really is great and has pride in their business and they provide great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Loria family runs a quality hotel. Giuseppe and all provide a clean, quiet, and comfortable stay near the Villa Borghese. The rooms, though on the small side, are clean and well maintained. If you need recommendations for restaurants, the staff does not steer you wrong. We ate well and affordably based upon their recommendations. Recommendations on transportation and anything we asked were answered politely and thoroughly. This is a quiet gem of a hotel. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairacres2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,615 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,128 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#121 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing