We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, sweet room, generous hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #53 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Residenza Arco dei Tolomei for six nights on a recent (Jan 2014) pleasure visit to Rome. This B&B is located on a quiet street in the less touristy section of Trastavere. Our room was spacious, quiet, clean, and even had a little deck -- a lovely architectural view illuminated by the beautiful Roman light! What can I say other than we did not want to leave! It was a great experience, enhanced by Marco's (the proprietor/host) great knowledge of and enthusiasm for his city and his generous suggestions for sites/museums/restaurants off the well-worn tourist circuit. Delicious breakfasts and coffee every morning and great conversations with Marco about all manner of topics Rome-related and otherwise. Relaxing room and well within walking distance (if you are the walking type) of almost all of Rome's must-see heritage sites (Pantheon, Vatican City, Forum, Coliseum, etc, etc.) When we return to Rome, we will definitely look to book here first!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 993 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We are extremely picky when it comes to places to stay. So hopefully our review will have a resonance: Tastefully decorated rooms (authentic pieces! ), right in the real neighborhood of Trastevere (not the touristy part), just a stones throw away from one of the loveliest bridges in Rome that connects Trastevere to the Jewish neighborhood, centrally located. Marco and Gianna are the elegant Romans, well-knowledged, gracious, relaxed,...all the qualities which strike that balance of being the perfect hosts of a beautiful place. In Rome, one pays arm & a leg to get a decent lodging. But Arco die Tolomei is great value for price. We have finally found our 2nd home in Rome. No need to look further ! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonaMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Although this is long overdue... here you go. Our family of seven stayed at the Residenza for two nights prior to our med. cruise and one night after. It is lovely and a great location to tour Rome. We wanted to stay in a location that would give the boys (teens) a good sense of an italian neighborhood vs. a big hotel in the city. This was perfect and Marco and his wife made us feel welcome in every way! They were so gracious and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and the conversation was fun for the entire family as they shared information about the area and Rome. Marco was so helpful even prior to our trip toward arranging transportation from the airport and working iwth me to set a workable tour plan so we could maximize our time in the city. He helped us purchase train tickets to the port as we wanted the kids to have this experience vs. private transporation. At every turn they went out of their way to make sure we had it together given all the size of our group. The rooms were comfortable and the only downside was that our stay was in the midst of a heatwave and it was extremely warm everywhere you went.

Again, sincere thanks and appreciation to Marco and his family. This was a stay our entire family will always hold in our memories very fondly. Hope you are all well and sorry this took so long to complete!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cincymom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Walking through Trastevere makes you wonder, how life would feel inside of these historic buildings. You have the chance to experience that at Marco's. He is able to create an atmosphere of warmth, style and generosity, always happy to help and spend time if needed. We all just love it (parents + 12yr old son). The rooms talk of history and culture, every corner seems to have it's own story to tell. The Residenza Arco dei Tolomei is offering more than just accommodation, it's a Roman experience in itself. We can only highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My mother and father and I spent five nights in November at Arco dei Tolomei. This is a special place - full of character and the vibrancy of the Trastevere neighborhood. We loved being able to come home to beautiful Trastevere and the comfortable and clean Arco dei Tolomei after a long day exploring Rome. So many good restaurants are nearby and Marco is a gem. Amazing. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

marco is the best - he spends time to help guests figure out their plans, steers you toward less touristy places, and is generally delightful. the rooms are lovely and the roof deck is a great bonus. breakfasts were nice with homemade jams and cakes. great location too.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a little roof deck garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Spent two wonderful nights at Arco dei Tolomei to end 2013.
We had a lovely balconey overlooking the cobblestone street below where we watched the fireworks over Rome. Began each day with a nice breakfast and good company.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAdanReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#20 of 3,721 in Rome
816 reviews
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#128 of 3,721 in Rome
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Trastevere
Little rHome Suites
Little rHome Suites
#157 of 3,721 in Rome
215 reviews
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#196 of 3,721 in Rome
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $160 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing