We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #53 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in Rome and for the third time we stayed here because we can't imagine staying anywhere else. Each time we've had a different room and each one was lovely, quiet, clean and charming. As usual Marco and Gianna were gracious, welcoming and extremely helpful -- making suggestions, reservations and arranging our transportation. One of the best parts of the stay is meeting your fellow travelers at breakfast and sharing tips and stories with them. The Trastevere area is unique, lively and a great starting point for exploring vritually any part of Rome - and if you don't know where to start, just ask Marco! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    150
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
190
501
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Marco and Gianna made us feel right at home. The Residenza is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It is in the Trastevere neighborhood, very close to the Jewish Ghetto, which we had planned on visiting. Marco always had good advice on wonderful restaurants and unusual places to visit.
Breakfast each morning was lovely, especially enjoyed Marco's homemade preserves. Joseline and her husband took great care of everything! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameLaZonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Residenza Arco dei Tolomei was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there on 2 occasions and after spending a week there we would also highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Rome. It's a great location within easy walking distance of many of Rome's wonderful sights but still in a quiet neighbourhood. Marco was a wonderful host recommending and reserving restaurants for us and suggesting visiting places we might otherwise have missed such as Palazzo Colonna.

Room Tip: Taxi driver had difficulty finding from train station - he kept resetting his meter, saying some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at the Arco Dei Tolomei in September for a week. As a single female traveler this place was awesome. Very safe and great location. Everything was super clean wonderful breakfast to start the day and great recommendations from Marco. I had a great room with an amazing large balcony where I was able to relax and take in the atmosphere of being in a small town in Italy even though it was in the larger city of Rome. I loved the location. Close to great restaurants, shops and bars. It was so nice to walk around at night and have this feeling of being in a small village. Wonderful stay, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is in a vibrant part of Rome with restaurants and and bars near enough but not under your bedroom window. The Residenza itself is the very antithesis of bland chain hotels and the people who run it are an essential part of the distinctive experience. They are knowledgeable and erudite and such is their expertise you can dump your guide book.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Marco is an enthusiastic and caring proprietor of his property and provides ample recommendations for Rome's restaurants and sites. His guest house is tucked away so it takes a knowledgeable cab driver to find the location. But once there, you will appreciate the charm of the place and the location. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance and across the bridge you will find many of Rome's attractions easy to get to by bus or on foot. There is also a taxi stand a short walk away. Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in such a lovely pension?

Room Tip: the main entrance is up a flight and a half of stairs. The entrance is then split with stairs leadin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamagee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Guest House Arco dei Tolomei and it's proprietor Marco exceeded my expectations! I read a review of the B&B in the National Geographic Traveler magazine, our experience was just like how NG reviewed the guest house. It was in a great location, not super close to a metro station but within a decent walking distance for the Collosseum, and Marco was able to call a driver if you needed one, as well as offer suggestions for places to go or eat at, and even directions on a map of how to get there. We loved staying here and would stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room off the main floor overlooking the courtyard. It was very quiet even being off the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iampinkandorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#20 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Property: Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing