We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give more than 5 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #45 of 3,659 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wish I could give more than 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place ranks highest of anywhere I have ever stayed. That might say it all :)

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Europe before, and neither of us speak any Italian. So we arrived in Rome and navigated our way to a cab to this address. Arriving here was our first experience of anything in Rome (other than some traffic of course).

We were met with the BEST hospitality anyone could hope for. Marco will give you a map of Rome, help you find your destinations, give you advice about how to get there and timing concerns. Literally everything you could need.
The rooms are lovely and clean. Our room had a wonderful little balcony terrace that we had breakfast on one morning (there is breakfast served each morning in the lovely dining room, but one morning we had to leave very early for a tour of Pompeii so we arranged our own food for breakfast). It was just delightful.
Speaking of breakfast, the food is great, some of it homemade, and its a great time to meet fellow travelers.

The place is quiet and the neighborhood is beautiful and charming.

The location of Arco dei Tolomei cannot be beat. It is just over the river into Trastevere, which makes it ideal for exploring a large portion of the city on foot, but feels like a little retreat away from the bustle of downtown Rome.

When I think back to staying here I have a little pang of homesickness :)
If we get the chance to come back to Rome, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    148
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
185
495
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were going to go to Florence and decided to extend our time in Rome instead. Luckily we were able to stay here two nights and wished it had been longer. Great location and fantastic hosts!
Comfortable bed and really good breakfast served with interesting conversation and lots of suggestions for places to see and restaurants to enjoy. Marco goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and well taken care of. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertanelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here four nights in November, and we were so pleased we'd chosen the Arco dei Tolomei. Marco is a wonderfully helpful and friendly host and Jocelyn gave us a charming welcome. Couldn't fault a thing: the bedroom was great, nicely decorated, the terrace was an unexpected bonus and the location was great- a quiet, charming part of Trastevere but within easy walking distance of all the sights in the Centro Storico. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had some great days at this lovely Recidence in a great location! Our room - with view - had a little terrace overlooking the rooftops of Trastevere which is a relaxed area with plenty of restaurants in small narrow streets. It's a place with soul!!! Always friendly smiling Josline & so Marco - of course - who seems to be dedicated to every single guest. We really appreciated his recommendations & enjoyed small talking with him and other guests arround breakfast table (large breakfast menue).
We don't know when coming back to Rome - but at least we know where to stay!

Anders & Karin/Stockholm

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

It took me ages and lots of internet research before finally choosing Arco dei Tolomei. I am so glad that I did. Marco arranged a driver to pick us up and we were there before we knew it. It's in a quiet location but still in a central location for Trastevere which is one of my favouirte parts of Rome. The residence is beautiful, I don't think the photos on here capture the elegance and calmness. The room was beautiful with a little balcony overlooking some Roman rooftops and breakfast was great (home-made blackberry jam being my favourite) and home-made cake. My kind of breakfast!! Marco and his staff are very helpful and gracious hosts, even when we had to wake him up because of a slightly merry key issue!!! I would definitely stay here again, it made our girly weekend away a special one to remember

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fantastic B&B loved the communal breakfast in the dining room and recommendations by Marco and the other guests. And so glad we stayed in Trastevere, you feel as soon as you have crossed the river you can relax and enjoy the many excellent restaurants, amazing bakeries and pretty cobbled streets. Will stay again as we have more sights to see...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I will never forget our stay at Residenza Arco dei Tolomei.
We loved the quiet Rome location.
We loved our beautiful breakfasts with the other guests, where we could share and compare sightseeing tips.
Marco - the owner- is so insightful- he helped us construct a GREAT off the beaten track view of Rome.
Marco's knowledgable sightseeing & restraunt suggestions were the real highlight.
THANK YOU Marco

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackdog918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Residenza Santa Maria
Residenza Santa Maria
#32 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#491 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#27 of 3,659 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Property: Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 3,659 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing