We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$537
$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
$248
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$452
$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$599
$533
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$500
$373
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$341
$329
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$2,018
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Hassler(Rome)
$1,564
$728
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
$202
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
72
9
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorpresidential suitewithin walking distanceamazing hotelthe main hotelvisit to romelocation is greatbalconybidetconciergemeatsluggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 82 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked a 'room with a view', thinking we'd enjoy our honeymoon in style! The room was beautiful and the bathroom had good facilities- if it was a little badly designed with things squashed together. However, we went to look out of the window for our view over the Spanish steps....and discovered that the window was covered in scaffolding.

The staff were friendly and helpful, booking tours and taxis for us.

The breakfast and afternoon buffet are fantastic!

We ordered room service one night, which wasn't great. However they were very honest about the fact that the food was pre-frozen, and all we really wanted was to eat something and avoid going out in the rain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alenarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the time you spent to review our View at the Spanish Steps.
We are happy to know that you've overall enjoyed your stay with us although the scaffolding were limiting a little bit the view from your room.
We sent a communication to all our Guest to inform about these works which have been scheduled by the municipal authority (not by us) as a matter of urgency. Unfortunately we had no power to stop them and we have received very limited information. Anyway, we have contacted all of our Guests and gave the option to move to alternative room accommodation in our othe SLH properties in Rome.
We thank you again for your feed back and we hope to welcoming you again to Rome in a very near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
The View at the Spanish Steps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. To call this location an annex is not fair 4 rooms with a private balcony on the top floor over looking The Spanish Steps could not be a better location. Breakfast is served from 06:30 till 10:00 buffet style such service is excellent, afternoon snacks on the terrace of the Inn at the Spanish Steps is just another service you never expect.

If you are a shopper this is the location for you directly above Prada need i say any more

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank DPR1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review! We are so proud to know that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to the View at the Spanish Steps in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent 3 nights at The View at the Spanish Steps in mid-July. My second visit. And there will be more!

Wha can you say abut the location? Open the windows and immerse yourself in the middle of one of Roma's legendary locales. What a better way to feel Roma than being at the Piazza di Spagna?

Rooms are well appointed. Comfortable beds, excellent air conditioning, well appointed baths, great and friendly service... Daily breakfast on your own balcony over looking Via Condotti. Doesn't get better than that. Evening cocktail in the main hotel 2 doors over.

Great place to use as a jumping off point to visit the eternal city. You can walk almost anywhere in the city from here. And when you get back every evening, you can unwind and be in the midst of the Steps from your balcony.

Room Tip: In the View, you MUST choose the corner suite! It has it all.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BM_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great review. We are happy and proud to know that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to the View at the Spanish Steps.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly , but that's the only positive expereince I had.

1- you can't reach the hotel by car, in case you are driving. It's restricted area.
2- the rooms are not well equipped. Look at the attach pictures !
3- The toilets are terrible , no hand towels , no place in shower to put the shampoo on ,, put it in the ground and bendover everytime.
4- water overflow everytime I take shower. (Look at the pictures).
5- the quality of the hotel entrance is very bad. They don't clean the ground.
6- they have no guard !! They will give you the outside key , And you are on your own!!
7- the noise outside is extremely terrible,, no way to sleep nicely in the night.
8- breakfast is included ? Yes but you have to pay for omelette !!
9- scaffold structure covers the view because the building is falling apart!!
10- they have one iron and iron table! Everytime we get it, they take it back in half an hour !
11- ....

Never again ,, never

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alghamdi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is very important to us and please be assured that we will use your comments to improve our service more and more.
We are sorry to know that your stay at the View did not match with your expectations, and we hope that you have enjoyed anyway your stay in the Eternal City.
I would love to have you again as our Guest in occasion of a return visit to Rome and I would be glad to follow personally an eventual future booking that you would make at our property.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The View at The Spanish Steps is just fantastic! What a view, what a location! The View at The Spanish Steps is part of the The Inn at The Spanish Steps, but have a separate location facing directly towards the Spanish Steps! The rooms are all located in the top floor with own roof terrace. The service at both the "View" and the "Inn" where very good. However we did get sent to the wrong room first. However we got the main suite overlooking the square and steps with a own balcony. A magic room..... must be one of the best views in Rome. Standing on the balcony made you feel like an emperor... We did have to change to the correct room. Smaller and no balcony, just as good view, and still a very, very excellent room. And it was of course the one we had paid for.. Overall a impressive small, romantic, special hotel with a very good location. We will love to visit again.....
on the negative side.... not much... two smaller issues
1.) Noise from square late at night if you want to go to sleep early. However no big problem.
2.) You must have help from the reception to get in to the View at The Spanish Steps at evenings and nights. No direct access even if you have the room key.

Love this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Magne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will choose our property again in the future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews