We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad expereince !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel
Ranked #601 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly , but that's the only positive expereince I had.

1- you can't reach the hotel by car, in case you are driving. It's restricted area.
2- the rooms are not well equipped. Look at the attach pictures !
3- The toilets are terrible , no hand towels , no place in shower to put the shampoo on ,, put it in the ground and bendover everytime.
4- water overflow everytime I take shower. (Look at the pictures).
5- the quality of the hotel entrance is very bad. They don't clean the ground.
6- they have no guard !! They will give you the outside key , And you are on your own!!
7- the noise outside is extremely terrible,, no way to sleep nicely in the night.
8- breakfast is included ? Yes but you have to pay for omelette !!
9- scaffold structure covers the view because the building is falling apart!!
10- they have one iron and iron table! Everytime we get it, they take it back in half an hour !
11- ....

Never again ,, never

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alghamdi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is very important to us and please be assured that we will use your comments to improve our service more and more.
We are sorry to know that your stay at the View did not match with your expectations, and we hope that you have enjoyed anyway your stay in the Eternal City.
I would love to have you again as our Guest in occasion of a return visit to Rome and I would be glad to follow personally an eventual future booking that you would make at our property.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The View at The Spanish Steps is just fantastic! What a view, what a location! The View at The Spanish Steps is part of the The Inn at The Spanish Steps, but have a separate location facing directly towards the Spanish Steps! The rooms are all located in the top floor with own roof terrace. The service at both the "View" and the "Inn" where very good. However we did get sent to the wrong room first. However we got the main suite overlooking the square and steps with a own balcony. A magic room..... must be one of the best views in Rome. Standing on the balcony made you feel like an emperor... We did have to change to the correct room. Smaller and no balcony, just as good view, and still a very, very excellent room. And it was of course the one we had paid for.. Overall a impressive small, romantic, special hotel with a very good location. We will love to visit again.....
on the negative side.... not much... two smaller issues
1.) Noise from square late at night if you want to go to sleep early. However no big problem.
2.) You must have help from the reception to get in to the View at The Spanish Steps at evenings and nights. No direct access even if you have the room key.

Love this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Magne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will choose our property again in the future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The view from our room was just Amazing. If you are looking for a room with the view this is the perfect place to be.Great location with a high quality service. Booking the presidential suite we received complimentary transfers to amd from the airport and am early check in included in the room rate. We will surely come back amd suggest it to ll our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for having shared your positive experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again to the View at the Spanish Steps in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What beautiful location! Our room overlooked the Spanish Steps. Daily breakfast on the terrace. Daily refreshments waiting in our room. The service was spectacular and the rooms were phenomenal! It is within walking distance to most attractions. There are tons of outdoor cafes to stop for a cappuccino or pizza. The shopping is out of this world. This venue offers access to everything!

Room Tip: Ask for the View, not the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. This is what we love to hear from our Guests and what we work for.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to The View at the Spanish Steps, we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. Unassuming when you first arrive by taxi and rather cramped whilst you wait to check in at the main reception at the Inn on the Spanish Steps, it is worth the wait. The View at the Spanish Steps is amazing. Rooms were an excellent size for a city hotel, the service was first class and breakfast on the balcony was an added luxury. We walked to all of the sites, so didn't use public transport We would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank explorer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the staff I wish to thank you for your nice words and for having shared on TripAdvisor community your excellent experience at our View at the Spanish Steps.
Please consider me at your complete disposal for any future request you may have: I would be delighted to take care of your reservation.
With my warmes regards.
Flavia Latini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

On a recent trip to Rome, my mother, sister and I had the absolute honour of staying at this establishment. As soon as we arrived, I knew we made the right choice booking here. We were able to walk to most of the attractions in Rome, or walk 2 seconds to the metro station! There is wonderful shopping all around you and many dinning choices. Karina at the front desk was so welcoming. Although our room wasn’t ready, she sent us up to have breakfast and a nice hot beverage!
A buffet breakfast is included in the price and is stocked with cereal, fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, yogurt, meats, delicious croissants and more. You have a choice of eating on a private terrace or in the cozy living room. In addition, if you stay more than three nights they offer you a free shuttle to the airport (one-way)! It was a welcome bonus. The hotel has wi fi, which you can access for a nominal fee (they gave it to us for free).
The hotel has two establishments next to each other, the Inn at the Spanish Steps and the View at the Spanish Steps. We stayed at the View, which is a few buildings down (on the top floor) from the main reception at the Inn o. When they say that you have a view of the Spanish Steps, they aren’t lying. It was a wonderful way to wake up in the morning.
This hotel goes out of its way to make you feel comfortable. For example we were celebrating my mom’s birthday while in Rome, and boy did they spoil us. Each day (three days), a basket of fresh fruits, wine and snacks. We wanted to check in online for our flight and we weren’t able to do so on our ipads, they hotel brought us a lap top for us to use. Brilliant hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RandB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having posted your nice review on TripAdvisor. This is what we love to hear from our Guests and what we all work for!
We look forward to welcoming you again to our View at the Spanish Steps and we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
flavia.latini@thegoodnightcompany.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This a wonderful place to stay when in Rome. You wake up and look out the window and are staring right at the Spanish Steps (without the masses who come later on)! Service was extremely personal, Karina and Giordana were great, very helpful and informative. Iveta was also very personal and generous at breakfast.
Breakfast is served on a private terrace right above the Via Condotti - you feel as if you are living in your own home but right smack in the middle of Rome! If you are a stickler for perfect showers (ours sometimes didn't really warm up) or other such things you might feel a little irritated, but if you want to really have a true Roman experience this is the place to go. We'd definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your nice comment about the View at the Spanish Steps!
We are glad to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we remain at your complete disposal for any future request you may have.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
flavia.latini@thegoodnightcompany.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Parioli
The H'All Tailor Suite
The H'All Tailor Suite
#302 of 1,271 in Rome
56 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Suites
Piazza di Spagna Suites
#602 of 1,271 in Rome
261 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,271 in Rome
771 reviews
Campo Marzio
GKK Exclusive Private Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Via Dei Condotti 91, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#287 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $379 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The View" commands a premier position, next door to The Inn at Spanish Steps, located on the fabled Via Condotti. Nested on the top floor of a XVIII century building, offers a breathtaking view of the Spanish Steps. "It is like being in a postcard." "The view" compromises 3 Rooms with view, a one bedded suite with two little balconies, a two bedded Suite with two little balconies, one penthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The View At The Spanish Steps - Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View At The Spanish Steps Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing