We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Shows in a Great Building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MACRO - Museo d'Arte Contemporanea

MACRO - Museo d'Arte Contemporanea
Book In Advance
More Info
$215.34*
and up
Airport Transfer Arrivals Plus Tour of Rome
Ranked #318 of 1,457 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: MACRO - Rome’s Museum of Contemporary Art - is a museum complex that encompasses two sites: the old Peroni (beer) factory, and the two buildings that once comprised the old slaughterhouse in Testaccio.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Shows in a Great Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The building itself is worth a visit, cleverly reusing old industrial property in a very creative way. The 2 temporary exhibitions we saw were outstanding and it was a joy to explore the complex, from the atrium to the rooftop "piazza".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJCGrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    82
    49
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
556 reviews
368 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“MACRO is a fun and energetic addition to Rome's art scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are big fans of the MACRO museum. Housed in what was once a Peroni beer plant, the museum also has an interesting modern wing. The complex is soaring at times yet somehow manages an intimacy and playfulness (like walking a catwalk over some of the exhibits). We found several interesting exhibits while we were there, as well as a terrific cafe/bar and rooftop area. And the bathrooms are fabulous! Note it's somewhat pricy for the tickets: check to see what exhibits are open before going.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpanishStepsApt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why not visit a modern art museum in a classical city like Rome?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The buildings of both MACRO and Maxxi are exceptional architectural artworks themselves. Everybody always visits the ancient ruins and old churches in Rome, but these musea are absolutely worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babbeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Only 2, yes two, temporary exhibitions were on when we visited. There is an argument I should have done more research before going but there wasn't a hint of a warning from the lady at the ticket desk (speaking of whom was incredibly rude and unhelpful).
The price of 12 euros is therefore daylight robbery (its dearer than the Borghese Gallery!). As others have mentioned, I would pay 2-3 Euro MAX to see what we saw.
Given also that the museum is quite far out compared to the other attractions, please dont waste your time like we did trekking out to this empty trap. I'm a huge fan of modern art and was left reeling in disappointment.

Helpful?
2 Thank FLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Don't miss the weird gift shop.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Twelve euro is a bit steep for some neon signs and some videos which are probably on YouTube anyway. Having said that I didn't hate the place I just think it should be about three euro or maybe even free. We gave our tickets afterwards to people outside and just hope they got in free with them. Make sure you have a look at the shop where you can buy some used bottle corks for nine euro. Also check out the derelict building and statues just across the road. The contrast is quite amazing.

Helpful?
Thank JSprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MACRO - Museo d'Arte Contemporanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing