We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Guest House Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arena Guest House Roma
Ranked #157 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just returned from a 3 day break in rome. Stayed at this lovely hotel which was a perfect location for our sight seeing. The facilities were basic but all you needed. The staff were more than helpful and gave us lot of good advice on avoiding queues, which buses to catch and what places to see. excellent value for those on a budget

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    98
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
173
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Arena House was perfect for our stay, Vincenzo, Barbara & Clare were so friendly & welcoming. The location is perfect, a quiet side road 2 minutes from the Coliseum, 5 minutes from the bus stop for the open-top tours, 1 minute from some lovely restaurants.

If you want to be in the centre of all the 'noise & action' in Rome, then don't stay here - but if you want a lovely charming quiet town house, with friendly and charming hosts, in a terrific location and comfortable rooms and best of all at a very reasonable price - then stay here - we will be coming back and recommending Arena House to friends and family - our expectations were exceeded :-)

The room had everything we needed and was plenty big enough. The small reception area had enough space for what it had to do!

Breakfast next door was 1 x coffee or tea, 1 x orange juice and 1 x bread roll or croissant - what more do you need!!

We were delighted with Arena House (room 6!!) and will be back.

I don't think I have ever stayed in such a nice guest house - don't expect a swanky hotel, at Arena House, it is like being discreetly invited to stay in someone's house, but they are very good at allowing you total privacy.

Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable and your restaurant recommendations were perfect :-)

Lindsay & Phil Boswell

Room Tip: Take Vincencos restaurant advice :-) In the evening, have a 2 minute stroll to see the Coliseum a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillFozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at Arena House with a friend for a week in February. Like most reviews already written, there are only good things to say about the place. Yes, the rooms may seem a little dated, don´t expect luxury. But, if you are looking for a great and caring staff, who make you feel at home and as one of the family, well, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is well situated and many famous sites are within walking distance. Buses that take you straight across Rome stop just down the road, Colosseo Metro stop is about a 5-minute walk away. And there are several nice restaurants and wine bars right around the corner from the hotel, Luzzi being a good, inexpensive place to eat.
We´d also like to mention the help and care the staff gave us when my fellow traveller took ill and needed to be rushed to hospital in the middle of the night. The staff got an ambulance there within 5 minutes and were supportive and concerned throughout it all. On being discharged from the hospital 5 days later , my friend returned to stay at the hotel and was taken care of as one of the family. We both feel like this is a second home. Thanks to all at the hotel for everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel left me a little conflicted - the rooms are comfortable, the location is pretty good, next door to the Colosseum and the Forum, and within walking distance of everything else (though some of the sites, particularly those in the NE part of the city, can be a bit of a hike). And the family who runs the hotel are incredibly, incredibly nice and speak enough English to communicate effectively with those of us who don't speak Italian. The breakfast at a nearby cafe is pretty decent, and relative to a lot of hotels in Rome, it is affordable.

That said, when we visited at least there was some magical trick to flushing the toilets that we could never quite figure out. I hate to criticize such an otherwise great hotel for one item like this, but it is a BIG item - it's really not something you want to worry about while on a major vacation.

So, if you are going to Rome with a big budget, I just can't recommend the place over some of its bigger and swankier competition where you are less likely to be hassled with something like this (but certainly won't get the same customer service). But if you are looking for a little more value-oriented hotel with a great staff, and are willing to be a little adventurous with the plumbing, definitely check this place out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceejay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our twin room and bathroom was simple, but very clean and had everything we needed.
Location: perfect, just 2 minutes walk from the Colosseum and bus stop for buses to Vatican or town, as well as nearby metro stop to Rome's Termini rail station. Several convenient & reasonably priced restaurants within a few minutes walk.
What really stood out for us was the kindness of the owners/staff at this family-run guest house and the time and trouble they took to give us information on places to visit, side entrances to avoid long queues, best places for good photos etc. They were so friendly and welcoming and made our short stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: This is not a luxury hotel, but is quiet and clean and brilliant value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaF912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

a simple room very close to the amphitheatre, close to bars,restaurants,supermarket e.t.c. metro 10 min walk. computer/internet in each room. shower table chair all you need. its not fancy its basic but everything worked. that main thing is the proprietors are lovely helpful people, a warm welcome and they care about their customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

+the location,near colosseo and roman forum, the quiet neighborhood and the very polite and helpful man behind reception desk-even thouch we arrived late at night.

-honestly i stil can not believe the great reviews. i am about to accept it was only our room,which was bad.it was on the ground floor,dark,small,so old, the bathroom was rediculous-you had to push the flashbutton quickly around 20 times to flow just a little bit-we are in 2014 for God's sake!the breakfast was poor and i please you guys save your money for another place.85E/night for this?No way.Fortunately,we had booked it only for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#469 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Monti
Bellezza al Colosseo
Bellezza al Colosseo
#128 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Monti
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
#70 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#420 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Monti
Li Rioni Bed & Breakfast
Li Rioni Bed & Breakfast
#322 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Guest House Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Guest House Roma

Property: Arena Guest House Roma
Address: Via Marco Aurelio 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Guest House Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and cheap bed and breakfast located in the historical center of Rome, 50 meters far from the Colosseum and Imperial forum, in the most interesting archaeological area but far from the city caos and traffic.The bed and breakfast is situated in a very quite area with every kind of services and a lot of tipical restaurants.We have different kinds of rooms: single ,double, triple and on request family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Arena Guest House Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Guest House Roma Colosseo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing