We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arena Guest House Colosseo
Ranked #206 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at Arena House with a friend for a week in February. Like most reviews already written, there are only good things to say about the place. Yes, the rooms may seem a little dated, don´t expect luxury. But, if you are looking for a great and caring staff, who make you feel at home and as one of the family, well, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is well situated and many famous sites are within walking distance. Buses that take you straight across Rome stop just down the road, Colosseo Metro stop is about a 5-minute walk away. And there are several nice restaurants and wine bars right around the corner from the hotel, Luzzi being a good, inexpensive place to eat.
We´d also like to mention the help and care the staff gave us when my fellow traveller took ill and needed to be rushed to hospital in the middle of the night. The staff got an ambulance there within 5 minutes and were supportive and concerned throughout it all. On being discharged from the hospital 5 days later , my friend returned to stay at the hotel and was taken care of as one of the family. We both feel like this is a second home. Thanks to all at the hotel for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Arena Guest House Colosseo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 404 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel left me a little conflicted - the rooms are comfortable, the location is pretty good, next door to the Colosseum and the Forum, and within walking distance of everything else (though some of the sites, particularly those in the NE part of the city, can be a bit of a hike). And the family who runs the hotel are incredibly, incredibly nice and speak enough English to communicate effectively with those of us who don't speak Italian. The breakfast at a nearby cafe is pretty decent, and relative to a lot of hotels in Rome, it is affordable.

That said, when we visited at least there was some magical trick to flushing the toilets that we could never quite figure out. I hate to criticize such an otherwise great hotel for one item like this, but it is a BIG item - it's really not something you want to worry about while on a major vacation.

So, if you are going to Rome with a big budget, I just can't recommend the place over some of its bigger and swankier competition where you are less likely to be hassled with something like this (but certainly won't get the same customer service). But if you are looking for a little more value-oriented hotel with a great staff, and are willing to be a little adventurous with the plumbing, definitely check this place out.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ceejay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our twin room and bathroom was simple, but very clean and had everything we needed.
Location: perfect, just 2 minutes walk from the Colosseum and bus stop for buses to Vatican or town, as well as nearby metro stop to Rome's Termini rail station. Several convenient & reasonably priced restaurants within a few minutes walk.
What really stood out for us was the kindness of the owners/staff at this family-run guest house and the time and trouble they took to give us information on places to visit, side entrances to avoid long queues, best places for good photos etc. They were so friendly and welcoming and made our short stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: This is not a luxury hotel, but is quiet and clean and brilliant value for money
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaF912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

a simple room very close to the amphitheatre, close to bars,restaurants,supermarket e.t.c. metro 10 min walk. computer/internet in each room. shower table chair all you need. its not fancy its basic but everything worked. that main thing is the proprietors are lovely helpful people, a warm welcome and they care about their customers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

+the location,near colosseo and roman forum, the quiet neighborhood and the very polite and helpful man behind reception desk-even thouch we arrived late at night.

-honestly i stil can not believe the great reviews. i am about to accept it was only our room,which was bad.it was on the ground floor,dark,small,so old, the bathroom was rediculous-you had to push the flashbutton quickly around 20 times to flow just a little bit-we are in 2014 for God's sake!the breakfast was poor and i please you guys save your money for another place.85E/night for this?No way.Fortunately,we had booked it only for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIA s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We would like to extend our gratitude to the kindness of Mr Vincent &the rest of the staff for being so hospitable,kind and so helpful to their guests.The warm welcome cant be forgotten.Hope to see u again someday..Godspeed..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I could not have been more satisfied with this hotel. The entire staff was amazing and made me feel right at home. Their advice, directions, and overall concern that my visit to Rome was nothing less than exceptional was so pleasant. I can't express enough the wonderful stay I had. I will certainly be back. Thank you all for helping create a memorable trip to Rome.
Ciao!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slapshot2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#562 of 1,267 in Rome
221 reviews
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#418 of 3,710 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Bellezza al Colosseo
Bellezza al Colosseo
#148 of 3,710 in Rome
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Guest House Maison Colosseo
Monti
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
#168 of 3,710 in Rome
263 reviews
Monti
Colosseum B
Colosseum B
#330 of 3,710 in Rome
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Guest House Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Guest House Colosseo

Address: Via Marco Aurelio 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $114 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Guest House Colosseo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and cheap bed and breakfast located in the historical center of Rome, 50 meters far from the Colosseum and Imperial forum, in the most interesting archaeological area but far from the city caos and traffic.The bed and breakfast is situated in a very quite area with every kind of services and a lot of tipical restaurants.We have different kinds of rooms: single ,double, triple and on request family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Guest House Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Guest House Roma Colosseo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing