We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location, helpful owners and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena Guest House Roma
Ranked #169 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good location, helpful owners and clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. It was in a great location and safe neighbourhood. The couple were very helpful and friendly. The room was typical of Italy very basic. The room was clean and had everything you needed. The Internet and fridge came in handy. Vincent and Barbra were very helpful and spoke good English. They showed us what bus's went where and good suggestions on where to eat. We would stay there again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attwoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    98
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
174
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay at Arena House was fantastic! My favorite part? Walking out of the hotel onto the street and immediately seeing the Colosseo! We arrived after a 14 hour train ride from Paris and were very tired and anxious to start exploring Rome. They immediately knew who we were, and they gave us a map of Roma along with the bus routes, Metro stops, sights to see, etc. Before we knew it, we were already checked in and ready to begin the Roman part of our trip. It was a very short walk to the Metro, but we found that walking was quicker than taking the train most places. Plus, getting "lost" in Roma usually meant stumbling upon another ruin, monument, fountain, pizza place, etc. It was worth the aching feet to find these treasures :)

The room was quite roomy, amazingly clean and the bed wasn't bad at all. We were able to leave the windows open as we slept. I had read things about the neighborhood not being the safest, but I never once felt that I was in danger or in a bad area. It might help that there is a police station right next door! haha We only ate at a restaurant near the Arena House once, it was called Palatino del Colosseo (I believe. It was only a block away) because most tour guides told us to stay away from the "gimmicky" places near monuments because they weren't as authentic as the little places you'd find in the alleyways. So we tried to stick to that mentality. However, when we did find a place nearby, we really enjoyed it. There's also a pub on the cross street nearest the B&B called Camden Park. Doesn't smell the best but nice pint selection as well as wine and liquor and a few food varieties. It was nice to just hang out in a dark bar and reminisce on our day.

Basically, our trip was as great as it was because of the Arena House. Had we not found this little piece of Roma, I am convinced it would not have been as great of a trip as we expected. Highly recommended!!!

The free breakfast offered is at the hotel connected to this B&B and includes a danish and a beverage (cappuccino, etc). We only took advantage once since we had early morning tours planned most days.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms available. Can't imagine a bad room there. Plus the owners live on site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylissa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gislaved, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This bed and breakfast is in the perfect location literally a 2 minute walk and your right in front of the Colosseum. Everything you want to see in Rome is walking distance from this place. It is close to a bank if you need to change out money like I did and close to a metro. There are also a hand full of good restaurants walking distance as well. If you are looking for a cheap place and good location this is your place. It isnt anything fancy, but the people who work there are the nicest people I have ever met. They will give you a map and show you everything you want to see and give you a bunch of good information about visiting there. The room was a good size with a nice sized bed. Everything worked in the room, including the wifi, hairdryer, fridge and the heater.. If I go back to Rome, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adnama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hi all
we have just returned from a nice romantic weekend break, curious of rome & its attractions and upon searching we went with the reviews of others & all i can say is.....thank god we did, we were not disappointed, loved every minute, this place is everything you need, the staff were first class the minute you walk in, make you feel at home & go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay(this include the area it is in,does help having a quiet police station next door!!
The buses are a great way to get around once you get to grips with your locations.also may i add the location of this place is bang on & to save your legs & go to see more of rome just hop on the 85 bus!!
CAUTIOUS POINTS.....if your like us & dont like getting ripped off while your sitting relaxing & enjoying the views and having a pint or glass of rose, check the prices before ordering,we only got caught once 8.50 euros a pint (no i shall not mention the antica roma/in the piazza venezia..hehe) on the first night exploring lol
next day found a supermercato..1.50 a big bottle & 1.52 for a carton of rose & laughed our way sitting & kissing at the trevi for two nights....aint that romantic!!!

To conclude....the staff are so helpful & knowledgeable & willing to help on all accounts,will def stay if back in rome.!!!
Thank you for letting us stay ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymoe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

On returning to Rome, we found this cozy hotel within steps of the Colosseum. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. As we checked in, they gave us a map and marked not only our hotel, but three recommended restaurants and a small grocery store nearby.
The room was plain, but very, very clean. The beds were very comfortable. A PC with free internet is provided with each room.
It was like staying in someone's guest room rather than a hotel. When we came in at night, we were always greeted by name. They went out of their way to make sure that we felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really loved our stay here in this B&B Arena House. Owners are very very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Barbara, she is very kind, helpful and warm welcoming. We stayed at this place for 3 nights. This place is very near to Colosseum (and Metro/Subway/Bus station). Breakfast (coffee/cappuccino and croissant) was included in a nearby snack shop. You can also get some other option in addition by paying at that nearby snack shop. In short, we really enjoyed our visit in Rome and our stay at Arena House. Also, they arranged cab for Airport pickup (for extra charge) which as very useful. Room was small but had bathroom, hair dryer, small fridge, desktop computer with internet, A/C, chair, desk, night lamps and cupboard and a double bed. Common area had iron, tooth paste, shaving gel/cream and some other utility stuff.

Overall, we can stay here again in our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SrsRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Although we were hardly ever in our room, on coming back for a night's sleep, it was very clean, in a quite area and yet so close to all the sites.
The staff are so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for couples who are staying for a few nights and would be spending most of their time out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#534 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#421 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Monti
Bellezza al Colosseo
Bellezza al Colosseo
#127 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#427 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Monti
Parco di Nerone
Parco di Nerone
#447 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Guest House Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Guest House Roma

Property: Arena Guest House Roma
Address: Via Marco Aurelio 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Guest House Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and cheap bed and breakfast located in the historical center of Rome, 50 meters far from the Colosseum and Imperial forum, in the most interesting archaeological area but far from the city caos and traffic.The bed and breakfast is situated in a very quite area with every kind of services and a lot of tipical restaurants.We have different kinds of rooms: single ,double, triple and on request family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Guest House Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Guest House Roma Colosseo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing