We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellambriana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellambriana Hotel
Ranked #998 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just okay..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Location is okay, if you have a car or don`t mind public transportation.
Rooms are okay, but very cold!! Needed two blankets..
No wifi in the rooms, only cable 10 Euros per day.
Really slow service.. only few englishspeaking among staff..
Breakfast very limited selection, and messy.. We had to wait for refill.. seemed like the staff wanted to limit the food, by letting guests wait.. or leave before they refilled..
We only spent one day out by the pool.. ants everywhere.

My son and I stayed at this hotel just because it was less expensive than staying in central Rome, so we didn`t mind taking the bus and subway to the city. Didn`t really expect much.., but still .. just okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaSenorita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    85
    96
    58
    57
See reviews for
46
121
8
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Staff speak poor english, no WiFi in the rooms. Only in the reception area. Bus stop is near the Hotel. Check their website for directions. The directions are good. Rooms are OK. Clean and nice. No heating. It was raining so we were wet and cold. But as I said no heating. Had to warm myself under blanket. Restaurant is little bit too expensive so we ordered pizza from outside. No shampoo in the room. Only shower gel. Asked for shampoo but they told to use the gel. There is a small outside swiming pool but it closes at 19:00 and open at 9:00 next morning. If you are looking cheap but deacent hotel near centre of the Rome it's good one to choose as the hotels in the centre are much more expensive. We bought the deal on www.lastminute.com so it's a good deal. This hotel is nothing special but good if you want a nice place to sleep and get out in the morning and come back in the late evening.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acsmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a great stay at the hotel for 5 nights. Members of the staff ALWAYS very helpful with any question asked. Rooms very tidy and cleaned daily by maids. The pool was also great as it was very hot in rome. The pool was also cleaned daily too.
Shuttles from the hotel were always as specified - despite what others say on here, its just common knowledge to ask the staff at reception.

Getting into rome was easy enough, just hop on the 546 at the back of the hotel and that takes you to Batstini (spelling?) metro station and from there its on the metro.

Supermarket is 2 minute walk from hotel and we ate every night at a local place in Batstini as it was the best food ive ever tasted and cheap as hell too!

Will be returning here.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 402. perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pspence01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I thought the hotel was a good place to stay if you are not expecting something great but also want a fine room and nice dining. The rooms were nicely decorated and very different (they looked a little like something from star trek). Generally, the service was friendly and quick. If you want something different then this would be the place for you. For swimmers, the pool was clean and very warm. The restaurant was simple but tasteful, and good for families and small children, too. Our family never got a chance to try the shuttle but one of the front desk attendants was nice enough to find us a taxi right away. This is a good place to stay if you are leaving Rome or had just arrived in Rome because the hotel is close to the airport. Overall it's a nice place to stay for families and travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights end of August with my boyfriend. Most people go to Rome to sight see & therefore only stay for a couple of nights, whereas we wanted a 'holiday' not just a city break. That's why we went for this hotel as it had a swimming pool. We split our days between sunbathing by the pool & going out into the city to see the sights. It was a good mix as after 2 full days sight seeing it was relaxing to have a pool day. If you aren't interested in a hotel with a pool I suggest you get a hotel closer in the city as this one is quite far out. We didn't complain about the location as we can't have had best of both worlds. It never took us longer than 20-25 mins to get into the main part of Rome. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which we got to the metro station. The metro system is easy enough, exactly like London's. After a day we were like pros.

The restaurant in the hotel was so over priced we never ate there in our whole stay, that included the drinks which were also so expensive. The room was also stocked with cans of pop & bottles of water in the mini fridge, do not drink these. You get a charge when you check out. Much cheaper to buy your own and put them in the fridge. There is a good supermarket about a 5 minute walk from the hotel which we used to get snacks from.

At evening time we ate out every night. We got the bus into battisini area which took about 15 minutes. We found an amazing restaurant where we ate 8 times. Cheap enough also, we had a 3 course nearly every night and it never came to over 50 euros for the two of us. There is also a Chinese 15 minutes away walking distance from the hotel or 5 minutes away using bus. Ate there once and it was nice, like any other Chinese you get back in England.

Few tips about Rome in general - wear comfy shoes when out sight seeing, there's a lot of walking. Carry with you a large bottle, there are water fountains all over Rome, huge sculptured beautiful ones which pump out the most amazing refreshing cold water all day! When you do the Vatican tour go ensure that you arrive with your knees and elbows covered otherwise you have to leave the queue whilst you go find a shawl.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoBrad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We went to Italy over the Easter holidays. We stayed at what we thought was Golden Tulip but found Isola Sarca as the name printed everywhere in the hotel. We have been in many countries and I have never come across such poor hotel, service, it is not good .One night, the man at the desk with white and grey hair was horrible. The hotel is no where near Rome, is in a place where there is no facilities or tourist places around. We really regretted staying here.The hotel has a Shuttle service which is £12 per person expensive shuttle. We asked the man on the reception if there is any other way to get to Rome but he was rather unhelpful and would not tell us of any other way. We found how to get to Rome ourselves. We caught Co travel bus from outside the hotel to Ostia (lido center) only 10 min, this stops outside the train station from where we got a Train into Rome.It cost us £2 to get into Rome in total from the hotel and £2 to get back. The hotel was charging us a total of £24 per person to Rome and back. Me, my wife and daughter traveled to Rome and back over 3 days for £12 whereas the hotel would have charged us £144. The rooms were not too bad but you could hear other people doors opening and closing very clearly. The young lady serving breakfast was very annoying as she would watch you whilst you got your breakfast and ate it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
ENGLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stay their from the 4th of April to the 13 of April 2012, and I have to amit it was one of the worst hotels I have stay in. The indoor pool was nothing but dirty with scum marks around it and so cold. The food was so bad and the service well all I can say if you are white in colour then you will be okay but if like me and ou group who were british Asian then you have had it we were treated so badly by the people in their. We had to asks for bread and butter with our evening meals where the others got it without asking once they were seated at the table. I booked thee hotel through Thomas Cook who told me it was a great hotel and within five minutes walk of the Vatican which was rubbish it was like a good two hour walk and we spent so much on taxis just to get into the town I suggest to anyone booking this hotel be aware the rooms where so awful with the shower unti broken the room was so marked up and dirty and they said it was a superior room and charge those prices. It was going to be a holiday of a life time for me and my girlfriend and family and it turn into a holiday of hell. The only good thing thaat came out of our stay was the receptionist called Meena who try to help us biut her hand was tied as the people who owned the hotel said as we were coloured it did not matter, I found better hotels in rome who were only two stars and three who were better looking and with better service.

ROBERT PATEL ENGLAND U.K POSTED ON THE 15TH OF APRIL 2012,

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel and if you haave booked it already cancel the hotel and choose a other one bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#433 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Ginevra
Park Hotel Ginevra
#570 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.8 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Smooth Hotel Rome West
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#837 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#350 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#507 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellambriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellambriana Hotel

Property: Bellambriana Hotel
Address: Via Luca Passi 6, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#338 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellambriana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bellambriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bellambriana Hotel Rome
Golden Tulip Hotel Bellambriana
Golden Tulip Rome
Rome Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing