We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Augustea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Augustea
Ranked #595 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central, Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Augustea hotel for a long weekend in November. The room was clean and comfortable with modern fittings. The pictures in the brochure's make it look a bit dated but we were pleasantly surprised. We booked through Citalia who were brilliant, even arranging taxi transfer to and from FCO airport.
The breakfast, was your normal continental with tea's, coffee's, and a good selection of pastries. I would definatley stay here again, with the location, the nearest restaurants were just a street away and you could walk to the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We emailed and requested a good room and were happy with it, Only down side.. No tea and coffee maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_pmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    109
    94
    48
    23
See reviews for
69
136
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Having read the trip advisor reviews I was nervous about this hotel. Family of four with older kids.

The first night we were in a very small, hot and very noisy room but the very kind and lovely gentleman on reception explained we would be moved to a larger room the next day. True to his word we moved to a larger, cooler room with better sound proofing from the deafening road noise outside (still noisy but fun to watch the people outside). Clean and tidy place.

Fantastic location for accessing everywhere but definitely not glamorous, and NOT honeymoon material. You really are thrown into the craziness of a big city and you might need an oasis rather than this hotel if you are sensitive to the noise and grime of street life in general. The kids experienced massive culture shock the second we arrived at this place.

The worst part by a long long way was the breakfast room. It was tiny with too many tables crammed in, lots of grumpy elbowing folk all trying to serve themselves from the tiny corner buffet. Claustrophobic and hot. Did not set you up for the day other than putting you in a grotty mood. We hated breakfast time! I would have much preferred being given the option of a breakfast pack or tray to take to our room which as I said was spacious and cool. So if you are reading this, Gennaro, how about that as an idea to reduce the crush and bad tempers of guests?

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. (March 25-28) We had a great experience. The location was amazing. We could walk everywhere and if you did not want to the bus was out front. We had no problems with the 2 gentlemen that worked at the front desk. They were always friendly and helpful to us. Our room was huge and it was clean. Yes it was old school but you are in Rome.....it is old. The bathroom was clean, the bed was king size (yes 2 beds pushed together, but fine for us) We had our 6 month old son and they set up a playpen free of charge for us and made sure we had access to a microwave and hot water whenever we needed. The breakfast room is small but even with a baby we did not seem to have that much trouble and the hotel was full. The breakfast was quite adequate and we left full.

This is a 3* hotel and that is what it is. If you expect 5* you will be disappointed. For the location and $ we paid it was a great place to stay and I would stay here again. We spent very little time in our room as we were in Rome to be in Rome not our room. Perhaps we have low standards but this place me ours.

Room Tip: We got a room on the inside. We were happy with that as we had a baby and preferred something not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasberryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is very close to the Termini and the major attractions can be covered on foot. Now the negatives... the entrance itself is very uninviting. You take a fleet of stairs up to the second level and are greeted by unwelcoming staff. The rooms are clean but carry a very old look. The break fast room can fit it just about 15 guests and so be prepared to carry your grub back to your room. Avoid this place if possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orator4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

the room we had was really big. It was facing the main road but that didn't bother us. The room did not have the euro powerplugs but the old italian one with 3 pins in a row. However the staff were great and gave us one for the duration of our stay. The breakfast room is rather small so do not take any bags with you. The buffet was adequate and we got enough energy from it to last a few hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is great. The staff were helpful. They saw that we were a senior couple and carried our bags up to the next floor for us but the daily walk up the stairs after walking all day in Rome is tiring. There is a small elevator for part of the way but still have to walk up. The room was clean and large enough. it was noisy at night because it is on the street side. I was told the rooms on the inner side are very small. One single traveler said her shower was so small she could hardly fit in. Our bathroom was fine.The matress was tired and so were the pillows. Wifi was a little difficult and should have been provided I think. Breakfast was good but the breakfast room was very, very small and was not adequate for the size of the hotel. It was ok if you came when noone else came but that didn't happen very much. It didn't make for a very relaxing start to the day. I was wishing the owner would stay at his own hotel for a week and he might change a few things. I probably will not stay here again despite the great location.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet sleep book a hotel on a side street not a main street. Rome is great but very de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and here is The Good, the hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to the main sites and transport at your doorstep, the receptionist was very pleasant more so with my husband that could speak Italian than with me who couldn't, the room was clean and quite spacious. The Bad, the breakfast room was very small and they would not budge on the start time for breakfast, i also found a screw in the fresh yogurt container and when i gave it to that dinning room attendant she just screwed it back on with no thanks for finding it, using the internet was near on impossible I could not connect to wi fi at all and it's not free if you can connect. And now The Ugly, our king bed was two single beds pushed together, they were uncomfortable and felt like you were sleeping on a slope, the pillows were hard, the fridge was barely cold, no provisions to make a coffee in the room, the air conditioner was so noisy that you couldn't have it on while you were trying to sleep and the room had a stale smell when we first arrived. This was all bearably for two nights but I wouldn't stay here again if I was staying any longer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelisfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#533 of 1,259 in Rome
607 reviews
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#236 of 1,259 in Rome
296 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#609 of 1,259 in Rome
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#714 of 1,259 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
Flann O'Brien Rooms
Flann O'Brien Rooms
#675 of 1,259 in Rome
152 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#203 of 1,259 in Rome
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augustea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augustea

Property: Hotel Augustea
Address: Via Nazionale 251, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #595 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Augustea 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Augustea is one of the best hotels in the centre of Rome. Less than 15 minutes walking from the Colisseum, symbol of the Eternal City and Villa Borghese, the city's most beautiful area of greenery, the Hotel Augustea will truly let you breathe in the atmosphere of this wonderful city. The Trevi Fountain is also close (less than 10 minutes walking) as well as Piazza Barberini. Close to Termini railway station (5 minutes on foot) and Piazza della Repubblica-Teatro dell'Opera subway station (30 metres), the Hotel Augustea is perfectly located for getting around easily and exploring Rome. Choosing us as a place to stay means you will be able to visit this spectacular city not just using public transport but also on foot. Located in a classic, late nineteenth-century building, the Hotel Augustea, with its 22 rooms all equipped with every conceivable amenity, is designed to reward our valued guests with the best stay possible. Our services include free Wi-Fi in all the common areas and rooms, free room service for breakfast and bar, air conditioning, plasma TV, satellite TV and phone with direct line, own bathroom with shower or tub, hairdryer and courtesy kit. At our reception, available 24 hours a day, you will receive all necessary information to make your stay in Rome as pleasant as possible and you will also have the chance of booking outings and guided tours. and the wonderful terrace, situated on the second floor of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Augustea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing