We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hostel with great service”
Review of Conte House I

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conte House I
Ranked #732 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed three days at Conte House last week (late July 2013) and had a great experience. The service was very good, the room was very clean and the extras were fantastic. I was impressed with how helpful the staff were with all my enquiries. The breakfast was very generous and delicious. I liked that there was a full bathroom for every room. When I asked where to buy a transformer/charger the staff member actually found one in their store room and lent me one. The location allowed me to walk to all my destinations and there were many nice stores in the area for food and other shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scouterbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Conte House I
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

- very good location, 10 min walking distance from Termini, 10 min from Colosseum, typical italian street with lot of trees and shade
- the stuff was helpfull all the time, gave us lot of very usefull advices
- rooms were clean, spacious, tastefully furnished
- breakfest beyond sufficient (bread, croissants, toasts, ham, cheas, vegetable, delicious espresso, tea, juice), for that price, who would expect a feast?
- we´ll definitely return back!

Room Tip: Rooms "with view" can be little bit noisy because of a busy street.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TwoFriendsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rooms are located in the second floor of an aparment house. The rooms are clean and from small balcony you can enjoy the street rush. The staff is very pleasant. There is a brekfast with a small room with a modest choice, however the choice is convenient and you can enjoy very good espresso! The house is situated close to Roma Termini train station just a hop from Colosseum and Roman Forum, actually all the historical city centre is within walking distance. The price is really convenient, I have alredy been there three times and next time in Roma I will book it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LudekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Staff were excellent and went beyond to be helpful to advise us on best way to see the sites. No price gouging for drinks and when the cooler got low they responded immediately and with a smile. You could appreciate their sincerity to get you satisfaction. Room and breakfast were great. I will book there on my next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Get one with balcony...really adds to the relaxing part
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lcfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Three years ago, while traveling through Italy by myself, I stayed at the Conte House and absolutely loved it. It's good accomodations for the price you pay, nice location, clean, and safe. When I was planning to take my family back this past spring, I was excited share my experience with Conte House with them. While I have no complaints with the room: it was still nice and clean and well maintained, we did have difficulty with the fact there was no 24 hour reception on site. Due to arriving early, we got the keys to our room quickly (indeed we had to wait downstair for someone to come and let us in) and since we spent 7:00- 10:00 out wandering the streets of Rome we never saw anyone to go through the formal registration process. Conte House is a nice stay, but be aware that there isn't reception on site and be sure to keep lines of communication between you and the staff open should your plans change.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Conte House was a very pleasant surprise to what we had imagined! Upon our arrival the staff was very accommodating, despite our lack of proficiency in the Italian language. The abundance of staff also ensured that the facility and bedrooms were spotless. Breakfast was more than enough for the price we were paying and whatever we needed, the staff was at our service. We even asked for an ironing board and the staff ended up doing the ironing for us (which was more than generous). Not to mention the location was perfect, just a five minute walk from the colosseum! If you're looking to save a bit of money when staying in Rome, I highly recommend staying at Conte House.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashAnnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Our room was wonderful and just perfect for our requirements for a 4 night stay in Rome! The breakfasts were lovely and there was plenty of it, you could each basically as much as you needed. The atmosphere was so chilled out and relaxed. Our kids loved the sweet bowl. Rooms cleaned daily. We also liked the fact that our room had double glazed windows. This was brill as we were on a main street, it kept the noise out amazingly well! My daughter described it as 'Our hometel!' (That speaks for itself doesn't it?)The location was excellent, close to the bus station termini and the Colosseum was also a stones throw away plus most other amenities were within walking distance. We found Rome an amazing experience with the Conte House a big part of our fantastic stay. Many thanks to all the staff for making this an unforgettable holiday. We would love to return someday and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#650 of 1,267 in Rome
428 reviews
Monti
I Dormienti
I Dormienti
#807 of 1,267 in Rome
107 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#409 of 1,267 in Rome
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#327 of 1,267 in Rome
420 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#782 of 1,267 in Rome
403 reviews
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#475 of 1,267 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conte House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conte House I

Address: Via Merulana 191, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #732 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conte House is the ideal choice for you to get the most out of your trip to Rome. We aim to welcome you, assist you and keep you safe so you can enjoy all the marvels of this historic city. Our hostel features: Free Wi-Fi,breakfast included, privates bathroom, guest kitchen and free luggage storage.The Conte House is within walking distance of all of Romans most famous landmarks: Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Santa Maria Maggiore...are just in a five/ten minutes walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Conte House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conte House i Hotel Rome
Conte Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing