We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for group of students - not sure about anyone else!”
Review of Hotel Luciani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Luciani
Ranked #765 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The herb appeal of this place is not good, neither is the entrance from the street up a grubby flight of stairs. However, once into the hotel itself, we were relieved to find it pleasant enough and importantly clean.

We travelled with a group of eighteen 15/16 year olds and were accommodated in a variety of rooms of 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 people. There were no complaints of broken fittings, in fact some rooms were very nicely furnished. The rooms that had windows that faced 'inward' were not blessed with a pleasant view, sadly.

Breakfast was very simple but perfectly adequate. We arranged with the hotel packed lunches which were fine and evening meals at restaurants on the same street which again were good.

There were a couple of hitches that were quickly and efficiently sorted out though the confusion should have been avoided in the first place as our requirements were all confirmed.

The hotel seems to attract quite a few groups of young people an unavoidably this can lead to noise in the evening (night...) so might not be suitable for those looking for peace and quiet. However, for low cost accommodation in a convenient location, it delivered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend for 2 nights (my boyfriend, my brother and I) and when we entered the room were overcome by the most pungent odor of rank and cigarettes (like someone had smoked in the room for 20 years and then died there). The bed was like sleeping on concrete and when I went to have a shower it was ice cold. This would have been mildly ok if I had a towel instead of a pillowcase to dry myself when I got out. On the last day my boyfriend and I went out and left my brother asleep. He was woken up by someone entering the room (not a cleaner) who apologized and hurriedly exited.

Really, this hotel was so bad it is funny (and a good story to tell) however for anyone reading this and considering staying, don't do it! We are very accommodating people and normally put up with most conditions with a smile, but do NOT waste your money on this - trust me!!

One plus- it is very near the Tremini station ( so handy for metro). Not worth the stinky room, concrete bed and cold shower with bed sheet towels though...

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I understand where some of the negative reviews are coming from. It's cheaply furnished. It's an old building. They don't have air conditioning so I'm grateful I stayed during the winter. My tv didn't work, and I had about the same room as on my side of the college dorm I stayed in freshman year. I also had to go downstairs to the second floor to use the wifi.

On the other hand, it's cheaper than other hotels, and it is right across from the Termini Station. You're in walking distance from the biggest hub of transportation within the city, Santa Maria Maggiore (my favorite of the major basilicas), the Baths of Diocletian, and other places. I looked into getting a hostel, but many of them seemed almost the same price as the hotel, or I feared they had restrictions on times when you couldn't come in. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, I think it's a good fit and reasonably priced for budget travelers, but it's certainly not for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muckwa_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent one night last week there. Very basic room, need updating. Air con available for euros/ night. Did not expect much for this price. It was suitable for us near air port transportation and Termini

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Only thing good about this hotel is the location.Very dirty bathroom/room.Its a pity we booked this hotel and ruined our vacation.shower curtain extremely old and dirty.The shower was actually only a pipe.Tiles had cracks.Breakfast only croisant and coffee.No AC.just a table fan which made too much noise.Our double room had 4 beds.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aldrina_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

the hotel's location is great from a travellers point of view being so close to the train station but apart from that plus the hotel rooms are pretty shabby. The matresses were so thin you could feel the springs through the bedding . The bathroom had cracked tiles ,mouldy joins and only luke warm water to shower in . The staff were quite helpful and the breakfast was reasonable so i would probably chance it again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

If all you are after is breakfast and somewhere to sleep, then this is fine. If you are given the keys to room 9 or 10, give them straight back. Not only are both rooms literally at the bottom of a busy stairwell, they are very close to the reception and dining areas and so cop a lot of noise at all times of the night and early morning. Room 9 didn't have a shower door/curtain and neither did it have a bathroom door, which made for a very cold shower.
Great proximity to Termini where you can access the Rome underground. However, some unlikeable characters lurk in this area. Some cheap and decent eateries in the immediate area also.
The staff are friendly and helpful. All the rooms are clean. Breakfast is substantial.
Wi-Fi can only be used by four people at once and can only be used in the reception area.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms 9 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,134 of 1,269 in Rome
241 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#704 of 1,269 in Rome
790 reviews
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#356 of 1,269 in Rome
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#930 of 1,269 in Rome
342 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Indipendenza
Hotel Indipendenza
#873 of 1,269 in Rome
229 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#667 of 1,269 in Rome
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luciani

Address: Via Milazzo 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #765 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $45 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Luciani 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, located in the center of Rome, the 50 rooms of the 2 -star Hotel Luciani are offered in different types in order to meet any need of the clientele. With air conditioning and satellite TV, ensure maximum relaxation. Each room has a bathroom with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luciani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luciani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing