We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy....”
Review of Fenicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenicia
Ranked #655 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 14, 2006

if i could give this hotel a lower rating, i would.... we arrived around 10pm in the evening and were confronted with a man telling us that becuase we had arrived so late in the evening that they thought we were not going to show up, so they sold our room on.

He then had the audacity to say that he had tried to process our credit card details as a cancellation. Thankfully for us, our partciular Visa card has enough security to prevent people using the number without the card.

He then said that he had a room in a partner hotel across the city, but we would have to pay for it at his hotel. This is where things got really dodgy, i informed him that we would only pay at the hotel we were staying at and asked that he call them so i could ensure that they had a vacancy. He was very reluctant, but when he did call them, he insisted on speaking to them. Lucky for us we both speak resonable Italian and were able to ascertain that the room did not exist. At this point we simply up and left, and were able to find a really nice hotel around 500 metres away.

I cannot comment on the comfort of the hotel as i didnt not get to see a room, but would seriously advise people to be careful if booking at this hotel as the owners are obviously dodgy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
5  Thank LeBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Fenicia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 158 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
35156
Reviewed February 20, 2005

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2001. Upon arrival, I was told that my reserved single room was unavailable because the current occupant was staying longer. I was offered a new double room at 45% more. The room was on the floor above and was unbelievably nice - a large double that had just been finished with comfortable new bed, beautiful new furniture, (faux) hardwood floors and a large, gorgeous (faux) marble bathroom. It was a great room for 130,000 lire ($60) a night. At checkout time, I was told I would have to pay cash, as the hotel "could not accept credit cards for the new rooms." I pointed to the sign saying that Mastercard and Visa were accepted, and the owner magically changed her mind. The room was a "5" - absolutely wonderful and well worth the extra money; the old singles were not that nice (I peeked into one). But the owners earned a "1" - be careful, and have a backup plan.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TaniaPrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrián A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Consigliabili le stanze all'ultimo piano, sono più luminose e meno affette da rumori provenienti...
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank comerienda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#592 of 1,267 in Rome
182 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel dell'Urbe
Hotel dell'Urbe
#609 of 1,267 in Rome
121 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#426 of 1,267 in Rome
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#372 of 1,267 in Rome
256 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#613 of 1,267 in Rome
409 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#731 of 1,267 in Rome
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenicia

Address: Via Milazzo 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenicia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenicia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing