We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people but not a hotel... no value for money”
Review of Hotel Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Giardino
Ranked #899 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 17, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank CfredpNavan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean and comfortable without all the bells and whistles. Very charming hotel that was within walking distance to all the major sites! The staff was very helpful and accomodating. One caveat- the shower was very small as some of the other reviewers mentioned. I'm 5'3" 110 lbs and I felt claustrophobic in there! Also, we may have caused two blackouts here (though they were very quickly resolved.) They always occurred while we were running the shower and the AC at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mars m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Giardino is a small, basic hotel located in the heart of Rome. The staff, especially Tiger, went out of their way to make our stay great, from recommendations to directions (even pulling up Google Maps), he took an interest in ensuring our time in Rome was well spent. The staff and location of Giardino were two of the main reasons we chose this hotel, and we're pleased to say neither disappointed.

Our room was clean and moderately sized with a large bathroom (ask for #42), overlooking the street with large windows. WiFi is available in the common areas, and in some rooms close to the reception desk. Breakfast was simple, consisting of croissants, breads, jam, cereal, cappuccino, coffee and juice. The hotel was quiet at night.

As we checked out, Tiger even offered for us to call him if we ran into any problems as we moved on to our next city!

For those with mobility issues, be warned there is a flight of stairs to reach the hotel level, it's not terrible by any means, though should be noted (we found this to be common in many older hotels throughout Italy).

Room Tip: Street rooms offer a view of the busy Via Maggio; Courtyard rooms are super quiet. #42 is a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Das533
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This little hotel has a very helpful staff (we got plenty of restaurant and sightseeing recommendations from Tiger and Mustafa), and it is located right in the central part of the historic center of Rome. Our room was cozy and clean, with en suite facilities (though it is true- the shower is tiny).
If we 60+-somethings had any complaint at all, it is that there is a very large flight of stairs to walk up (no lift) every time we returned to our room (and after sight-seeing all day in the 90 degree heat, up and down all those hills in Rome, that was not welcome). On the bright side, we burned up even more calories for pizza!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lvcavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms were nice and comfortable, we had a single and a double and both were very accomodating, even had a nice little balcony overlooking the street. The staff was very helpful and nice, spoke good English as well, which helped us being first time travellers in Italy. The location was extremely convenient and the breakfast was good. Would stay here again. Only drawback was no wifi access in rooms, had to go to the little patio for service, but that was ok too.

Room Tip: ask for the double with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jilld776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Like other reviews have noted, the location is perfect. Easy walking distance to sites, kind of in the middle of all of these: Coliseum & Forum, Pantheon (really close), Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Vatican is a short, easy bus ride away. The train station is also walkable (10 minutes), but it's so easy to just take the bus (which stops literally around the corner from the hotel). If you have a Roma Pass, the bus is free. Note: Hotel Giardino is not near a metro station, but the metro doesn't take you all the places you want to go anyway.

The staff was very nice and super helpful. Everyone speaks English. The room was unremarkable, but very clean and adequately appointed. The breakfast was more filling than I expected and a nice break from having to pay for every meal. It's really all about the location though. We took many night walks, and between the hotel and places of interest at night (e.g. Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona) it is completely safe to walk around. I highly recommend seeing Rome at night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasonlillis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Quirinale Luxury Rooms
Quirinale Luxury Rooms
#215 of 1,269 in Rome
138 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#699 of 1,269 in Rome
265 reviews
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#608 of 1,269 in Rome
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#870 of 1,269 in Rome
117 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#239 of 1,269 in Rome
801 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#107 of 1,269 in Rome
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 51, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #899 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing