We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Derby
Nearby Hotels
$196
$187
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$447
$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$451
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$600
$397
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$163
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$389
$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$338
$286
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
60
126
72
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
126
72
19
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 281 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Hotel is located near Garbatelle station, can get in the citycenter in 10mins.
The hotel is not new but the rooms are kept clean during the whole stay.
The receptionists are very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast is enough, the waiter is also very helpful and friendly.
They speak languages (FR, EN I experienced).
Altogether was a pleasant stay, can recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have recently stayed at the Hotel Derby and for the price i paid I cant complain, It is a basic 3 star hotel, it is clean and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very standard, there is a choice of cereal, yoghurt, iced croissants, bread, ham and cheese and apples. The hotel was only 10 mins walk from the metro station so it was very easily accessible to the centre of Rome, the Coliseum metro was only 2 or 3 stops away. The room I stayed in was fine, it had a balcony and air conditioning, it was an average size, the bathroom was really clean and the room was cleaned everyday, it also had a tv but no tea or coffee facilities The only negative about this hotel is the area it is in - Garbatella. As soon as we arrived and walked out of the metro station....it was very smelly and the area was absolutely covered in rubbish, there is not a lot around. There are a couple of pizza restaurants that are cheap to eat at but I wouldn't recommend, also no one speaks any sort of English in this area it is a very typical Italian suburb.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KickinKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We only had a two-night break in Rome and the hotel was well situated, only 3 stops on the metro from the Colisseum (the metro is easy to use). Not in the centre so stay in town if you are looking for a restaurant in the evening. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Comfortable room, large, clean, comfortable bed. Only one hitch - the room fronted the main road so there was traffic noise until quite late and then again from around 6.30-7.00 in the morning.Bathroom a bit small and maybe needed some "freshening-up". Overall a good hotel and we would go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room at the back and not fronting the road.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A short walk from the metro station in a busy but pleasant suburb, the Hotel Derby is an ideal base for seeing the sights of Rome, especially on a budget. We got a Groupon deal which included breakfast and was great value for money.

At first, we were given a tiny room on the corner of the 1st floor (109) but when we asked to change this the receptionist obliged and we got a good-sized room (108) which looked out onto a road but was fairly quiet.

The rooms are clean and airy and have satellite TV, a fridge and air con but no tea/coffee facilities - luckily we were prepared though! The bathroom was OK with a good shower.

The continental breakfast was very nice with a good selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc. We were also served glazed croissants which were delicious! For dinner, there are a few nice restaurants in the area and the city centre is very easily accessible.

As with many places in Rome, the staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke very good English. Overall, we were pleased with our stay, especially for the price - and we even got lucky with the weather!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClioChick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Hotel Derby, the room was small, but very clean, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, a large selection. Giorgio on reception was so friendly and helpful. He recommended great restaurants, and helped us book some of our day trips, I would definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews