We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel for backpacker”
Review of Salus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salus
Ranked #1,156 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 30, 2009

this hotel is in a excellent location and is extremely cheap,friendly staff and breakfast was free.air conditioned rooms help you escape the insane heat of rome and its location next to the train station help it become a handy one. if you are backpacking around europe it is excemptionly recommended to come here.everything here is excellent for a cheap traveller just looking for a bbed for the night,thumbs up

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2007

i was in rome in the low season, not many tourist in november; this hotel gave me double room for single person, price 40 euro. during 4 days i found 1 ant, and no remote control for the tv. roomnumber 306 is really big space but with smal bathroom.
did not try the breakfast because i like sleeping.
markhamers@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank markhamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We have travelled a lot and NEVER experienced anything like this. It was so discusting, dirty and everything was broken, nothing was working. One the second day we came home in the night finding our room covered with small bugs, everything was alive. We got another room (a staff room) I was also filled with bugs. Next day we found another hotel.

At breakfast there was no knifes so we had to use a plastic spoon to put on butter.

You get what you pay for NOTHING but dirt !

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Rikkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

I've never seen anything like this! It all started from the front door of the hotel. The glass of the door was broken and left just like that. The person at the front desk told me that their printer didn't work and that she could also not accept credit card payment because the machine did not work.

The didn't find our reservation because it was misplaced.

The room that was assigned to us was incredible! My daughter bursted in tears when she saw where we were supposed to stay for 5 nights! Where should I start?

1) Lights did not work
2) The floor was broken. Entire pieces of wooden floor got off.
3) The window curtain was dirty and torn off.
4) No shower curtain
5) No place in the bathroom where to put towels
6) The walls were all dirty, broken
7) The bed cover had weird stains and holes
8) The electric system was inadequate. Wires were hanging there without any protection (Do not take your children to this hotel!!)
9) The was a large hole in the bathroom door. Somebody had probably kicked it.
10) There was no way to lock the bathroom door.
11) The window was broken and the stair in front of it was broken.
12) It started raining at some point and we heard a weird noise from the hallway. I took a look in the corridor and saw big plastic baskets on the floor full of water. There was rain coming in from the ceiling and the baskets were full of water. The water was flooding on the floor.
12) There was no remote control for the TV. The TV did not have a good picture. Could not enjoy TV programs at all.
13) The telephone line did not work
14) On the first day we got 4 towels, the next days only 3
15) We had to use our own toalett paper because they gave only two rolls during the whole week
16) The breakfast was ridiculous. Bad coffee, instant juice for my daughter, prefabricated buns that tasted like plastic. We only had once breakfast there and that was enough!
17) The walls of the breakfast room were covered by mould.
18) There was no restaurant in the hotel even if the web pages advertised one with fancy pictures.
19) The hotel was rated a 3 star hotel. I could not give it even one star.
20) The price for a double in this House of Horrors was 85 euros!!!

The list could go on and on but I'll stop here. In a few words: Do not book yourself there!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MaijaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
223
Reviewed November 1, 2005

in september our school went on a study tour of italy, and our last stop was Rome. The day we moved from venice to rome was awful. we'd had terrible luck and couldnt get into the hotel we had originally booked, so our only option was to stay at the salus. we walked in the door and were given our room keys by a concierge who was hradly dressed appropriately and walked over to the elevator to get our massive suitcases up to our room. we waited at the elevator for 5 minutes waiting for it come back down, it was only just big enough to fit 2 people and after we got in and it wouldn t work the hotel manager came and started yelling at us for trying to use it. to get up to our room we had to go up 2 flights of stairs down and down a couple. we got into our room and my friends and i were afraid to touch anything. some girls found spiders in their beds, and others had raw sewrage coming out of the bottom of the shower when they flushed the toilet. the bathroom was dusguisting the shower curtain, once white, was completely covered in mould and you got an electric shock every time you turned on the shower. some of the girls were even lucky enough to get their own "Death Pit". The breakfas was awful and i highly recomend not dinking the coffee. luckily we only had to stay there 2 day before alternate accomadation was arranged, but we were all rejoycing the last time we walked out that door.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
110
Reviewed November 1, 2005

this was the worst hotel we came across. the rooms were dirty, small, and had no lights. there was mould growing on the roof, there was only 1 light in the room and it didnt work, the bed had 3 legs and there were bugs in the sheets. the bathroom floor was level with the rest of the room (leaving the whole room flooded). the door did not lock, windows were broken and security shutters were not secure (to say the least)... the phone and tv didnt work and a 'continental' breakfast was bread. Apart from all of this it was... pretty bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT HAD A DEATH PIT!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stroud, Gloucestershire, England
216
Reviewed October 24, 2005

Good location very close to Termini station in a quiet square, if you come in from Ciampino on the bus you'll see it on the left hand side just before you arrive at Termini.
Room was comfortable enough, breakfast OK.
Strangely the whole place seemed to be suffering from a shortage of working light bulbs.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#350 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,892 of 3,735 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salus

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 13, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,156 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 237
Also Known As:
Salus Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing