We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Hotel Mari 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mari 1
Ranked #3,218 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were forced to use Mari 1 since the manger at Mari 2 told us there were some problems with our booked rooms at the hotel. The manager at Mari 1 was unpolite, rude and bad at English. Our rooms were not clean, breakfast (which we had paid for) was only available at Mari 2 (a 10 minute walk), one day there were no hot water and wifi never worked. Don't book this hotel!

Stayed: February 2012
3  Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Christian, we apologize for the inconvenience of the room. Sometimes it happens to be overbooked and we do our best to accommodate our guests. If you had presented the problem of wifi and hot water we had immediately took the remedies. However, thanks to your review we have improved the service day by day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mari 1
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

I couldn't even imagine places like this exist in Rome. I would never call it "Hotel". The info & pictures provided at their website are outrageous lie. We found all details step by step: no lift, no internet connection, dirthy, TV doesn't work, towels are not provided (I had to go down to ask for them), the "double" bed consists of two narrow beds which fall apart during the night and you find yourself in the morning sleeping in the hole. The toilet & shower are at the same room which located at the corridor, so if you need a toilet, but somebody is taking a shower, you have to wait. "Reception" staff consists of 2 people; one of them doesn't understand any word in English and another one knows few words, but from time to time you find the reception door closed and you don't have anyone else to apply to solve your problem. Oh, I forgot to mention that the machine for making payments by credit card most of time also doesn't work and you should be ready to pay by cash. If you don't want to ruin your impressions of this wonderful city, never choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nik0letta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Firstly, on arrival we had to carry our suitcases up 127 steps of concrete to get to our room. Our key wouldn't open the door so we had to get a spare from the rude manager! The room smelt, the 'double' bed was 2 single beds put together and the bunkbeds wern't stable at all. Breakfast consisted of dry pastrys and juice ( with bits of floating cereal in it) and soft cereal. You have to leave your keys at reception when you leave the hotel. After the first day of seeing the breakfast we skipped breakfast for the 3 other days. Italian people shouting from balconys at us. Got called out of our room in our pyjamas because an italian man accused usof throwing [---] in a bag out of the window which is foul. This was at a ridiculous hour in the morning and we had to apologise to make him go away and not to ring the police, it was humiliating. The facilities were very poor... the shower was like a footbath for a midget. NEVER EVER STAY HERE, trust me and the 40 other people that stayed with us. To finish the holiday off we had to carry our suitcases all the way back down the 127 stairs... the joys.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasminwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The price that we paid for the room was really not worth it. No elevators. The receptionist was really unfriendly. The fan and lights in the room were not working.In short, that was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Don't be tempted to accept either this hotel or its sister the Mari 2 as suitable hotels for school groups. They may be inexpensive and relatively centrally located, but we had an extremely stressful stay here. Because of an accident that happened on the first morning of our visit, the managers locked us out of our rooms each evening and threatened to chuck us out of the hotel if we didn't pay up immediately. We were insured for accidents, the insurance company were quick to assure both us and the hotel that the damage would be paid for, and the hotel was paid before we left. A professionally run hotel would have known how to deal with the situation without the grief it caused us and our young charges - children aged 11-13. It was curious that during our time there the price for damage continued to rise, ending in a massive bill, which frankly defied belief. In the accident a couple of the children were injured - again no care was given to the boys as a result from the hotel management. We loved Rome, but want to warn others that this is not the place to stay with a school group. Even as a tourist I would think again. In our rooms we had a leaking basin, no hot water and one day no water at all, broken shower heads, wires were sticking out from wall, mirror cracked, curtain hanging from windows, loose floorboards, the breakfast, said to be 'hearty' on their website - was 'one croissant only' and a bowl of cereal. The managers, especially Enzo running Mari 1, were unbelievably rude. I understand that damage caused is upsetting to hotel managers, but it does happen and one should deal with it professionally. Sadly we just got threats, rudeness, distrust and aggression.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagisterLatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The room was on the 3rd floor (no lift). The room was ok with a newly renovated bathroom. Short distance from Termini so it was easy to just take a metro and train. A bit noise from the street on the mornings but it didn't bother that much.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laaksola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Everyone here seems to be moaning, basically this was just about the cheapest hotel (within walking distance of the main sites) that we could find. And obviously you get what you pay for! Yes the hotel has no lift, but for f's sake; you people walk miles and miles all over Rome looking at the sights, who cares about a few flights of stairs?! Yes the reception is on the 4th floor and the hotel rooms are on the 7th (or there about) but it says all this on your booking form. Our room was clean and comfortable, the windows had decent glazing for sound-proofing and the bathroom was clean, simple and worked fine. The manager was quite a character (and doesn't speak English), but with a bit of improv we managed to work out the booking with no problem at all. The only downside I can think of is that the reception is only open for a few hours in afternoon, so plan your trip; leave your luggage at the train station (2min walk away) while you see the sites on your first day. Personally I think this is worth small amount of money you pay. Back-packer / shared dorm accommodation is only slightly cheaper than this, but you get your own room, bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#761 of 1,267 in Rome
357 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#807 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
B&B La Chicca
#1,686 of 3,711 in Rome
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Laterano Guest House
Laterano Guest House
#2,303 of 3,711 in Rome
87 reviews
Esquilino
No photo provided
Roma Termini 89
#3,195 of 3,711 in Rome
11 reviews
Roma Scout Center
#245 of 3,711 in Rome
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mari 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mari 1

Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,218 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $33 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mari 1 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mari 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing