We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accomondation experience that you shouldn't miss!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lussemburgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lussemburgo
Ranked #651 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Accomondation experience that you shouldn't miss!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I travelled with a friend in Rome and Hotel Lussemburgo was the perfect accomondation for us! Mr Carlo and Mrs Lucia were there during the whole day ready to help us with everything.
We couldn't speak the same language but we could communicate! They served us a good breakfast and helped us with everything! The area is perfect, near the Termini station. It looked a bit dangerous at first, but then we realised that there was no danger. It's located a walking distance near everything! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Argyrwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    75
    28
    3
    9
See reviews for
12
95
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent service, my stay at the Hotel Lussemburgo was pleasant and the people who work there have a human quality and are very helpful, made ​​me feel at home.
The breakfast was good and the talk and the company better.
They gave me the right information to make my journey in Rome.
The Hotel is very well located and you can move very well caminnado or bus

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vane598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Don't assume (as we English love to) that someone here will speak English! Because they 100% do not. Not saying that is a bad thing, just saying it as a primary warning.

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights, we chose this hotel as it didn't seem too far out of central Rome, and we were on a budget.

Cons:
Not very good breakfast (we ended up buying our own cereal to have instead)
Area of hotel isn't particularly nice, quite a few homeless around, we didn't have any problems in the area, it just isn't particularly nice,
Room is on 4th floor so be ready to climb!
NO air-con (temperatures were around 40C when we were in Rome, we didn't sleep very well as there was only a rubbish fan in the room which didn't help very much)
We had our window open ALL the time due to the heat, therefore you constantly hear noise from the traffic outside (especially quite early in the morning)
Hotel isn't that central, so be prepared to either walk alot, or to travel by Metro alot.

Pros:
Nice staff (even though we didn't understand each other, the lady seemed very nice and caring)
Okay price
Clean
Kitchen - if you want to do your own cooking

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellussemburgo, Owner at Hotel Lussemburgo, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Kind Sirs,

thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.
I take inspiration from this important review to inform you and others future guests that from this year every room are equipped by air conditioning in order to make the stay more confortable; also we want to inform everybody that there is not longer kitchen to use.
In refer to the location I am not agree with you because certainly we are not in Trevi Fountain area but for sure we are at 15 minutes walk to the Colosseum, the Saint John in Laterano, the Termini Central train Station and by underground (Manzoni stop) you can easily reach the Spanish Square and the Vatican City.
We hope that our daily efforts will be enough to increase the satisfaction of our precious guest.

Massimiliano Casti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A good place to stay in Rome. A walking distance away from the main places to visit, very close to the metro station. I had hot water and a clean room all the time. Internet connection was great, although I had to connect through WiMan. The hotel is managed by a very friendly couple. They don't speak a word in English but this was not a problem at all, since they made all possible effort to comunicate (and Italians have a particular way of doing so). Also, their son who works at the hotel speaks clear English. One of the days I was there they were replacing all the TVs for new ones, so it seems they are making effort to provide better service to guests. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jams526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A nice small hotel run be a very friendly elderly couple. Good location in terms of bus/tram/underground connections, 10-15 min walk to Termini or Colosseum. The surroundings are of course not the best part of Rome, but we never felt unsafe on the streets. The room and bathroom were clean but small and quite worn. The same applies to the breakfast room. The owners are nice and helpful, but they do not speak many words in English. However, if you can at least some basic italian words and phrases, there is no problem to communicate. We have not very much background to compare, but we think that Hotel Lussemburgo offers good value for money, especially if you prefer the friendly and cosy atmosphere of this small place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markku H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Second time I visited Rome in the last 4 years and believe me there is no other city which compares. Just as first time, we went there in November, and again it proved to be a good decision. The weather was just perfect, some rain on Sunday, but beautiful sunshine during the remaining 3 days with 20 C temperature. The places were not too much crowded and we had a chance to just hanging around in this exciting environment. We had icecream 3 times a day, adding pizzas and good drinks to it.
The accomodation is quite reasonable, the hospitality is outstanding (reflects the italian temper - I really like their style), the room accessories are clean, and the location is the just perfect. The tube is just 5 minutes away on foot and you can reach many basic - must be visited - places easily. We have decided already with my Missis to go back soon to Rome and we will be definatelly chose the same hotel next time too (unless we winn the Lottery).
As a conclusion if your wallet is tight and you are more 'hakunamatata' or 'carpe diem' than go for it.
Go and Enjoy ROME
Attila

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel Lussemburgo is sort of a family business - runned by the most kind and friendly couple in the whole city of Rome, Carlo and Lucia. Of course, the service is personal and very very nice. Upstairs, the room is big, clear, clean, with a good hot shower and a soft bad to sleep after the journey of the day. Above all, you also pay for a good breakfast, shared in the warm living room of the hotel.

None out of ten stars. I really recommend it to family, friends, couple or solo trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardoFlorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Moscatello
Moscatello
#636 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#445 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#670 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#902 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#738 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#428 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lussemburgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lussemburgo

Property: Hotel Lussemburgo
Address: Via Bixio 70, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lussemburgo 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Lussemburgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lussemburgo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing