We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby hotel that does not deserve 4 stars” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #1,051 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shabby hotel that does not deserve 4 stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived it was apparent this hotel does not deserve a four star rating. From the falling off stucco on the outside to the mouldy bathroom and the peeling plaster in the bedroom this hotel was one big disappointment. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever had the misfortune of sleeping in and the toilet was leaking water very noisily all night long.

The staff however were pleasant enough and the free breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Location wise it was a total pain, with the only way to get into the city for a reasonable price on the very crowded and uncomfortable buses.

If I ever return to Rome, I would give this hotel a big miss.

Room Tip: Avoid 206 like the plague - mouldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    128
    98
    49
    28
See reviews for
55
159
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

The staff is wonderful, the room are ok, not great. We spent 2 nights and was fairly easy to get to the center of the city on the bus.

We were presently surprised with the free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jchoumane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Extremely horrible hotel. I dont know why it says it's a 4 star hotel, I've stayed at motels that are better than this place. It's really far from the center and quite a challenge to find unless you take a taxi which is quite expensive. Beds are old and you can feel the springs every time you lay down. AC did not work through our whole stay of 4 nights, let the staff know every day and they told us very rudely to just leave the window open. I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! The only reason I stayed here is because I booked through Hotwire.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbrahamDeLaGarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed 4 nig hts from the 22th of feb and we loved it, the room got properly cleanned everytime, it was in a quiet area and even thouh it is quite far away from the city centre in self we found it realy easy to trabel there by bus wich is just across the road. The only problem that we had and is not a massive one is that as vegans we dint have much of a choise when it came to breackfast apart from bread and jam, it would have been a lot better if we had at least a selection of friut of soya milk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank christopher p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eur
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Good hotel, not expensive it's a little far away from the center but you can use the bus. We had a snowstorm during our stay in Rome, so there were no busses or taxis available....
Breakfast is absolutly not worth it. It's more a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days at the end of March for our honeymoon trip to Europe. The staff was wonderful, very helpful. The location was about 15 mins by bus to downtown Rome. Breakfast room downstairs was nice and well stocked. The rooms are large and the bathroom was 3x's the size of what we had in paris. The area surrounding the hotel is quite and a good dose of real living in Rome. Not touristy at all. The restaurant at the bottom of the steps is a must visit. One night I was not feling well and they took complete care of me. Lots of little shops and stores close, the open market a few blocks away is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nice clean hotel with Ok staff, breakfast is good, rooms are nice size with facilities. could do with kettle for a quick cuppa.
It is a fair way out from the sights, but a good bus service is available to commute it & out. A bit of a squeeze on them at peak times. Don't get on the wrong bus & go the wrong way from the Square, like we did one day, at least we got to see a bit more of Rome suberbs, but it does come back to the square again.
A couple of good restrants just down the road.
Buy bus tickets from tabaconist store or opn line in advance. Best stop to get off is Republicco as it is near station & metro when going into town

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
ARS Hotel
ARS Hotel
#402 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aniene
Hotel Aniene
#758 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
#301 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
#896 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Claudia B&B
Claudia B&B
#699 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#618 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Property: Sunrise Hotel
Address: Via Cilento 3 | Montesacro, 141 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#347 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing