We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel 30 minutes from piazza Venecia” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Hotel
Ranked #1,051 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel 30 minutes from piazza Venecia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Me and my husband had a 1 week - trip to Rome.
We've bookied a room in Sunrise hotel on their web-site as they suggested the lowest price if booking in advance (but in our case it was just 2 weeks before arrival).
Inside the Hotel is decorated in white, gold and red colors, furnished in classic style, with fresh roses allover. The room on the 3rd floor that we had was very big and clean with huge bed, Wi-Fi and TV with international channels free of charge. The bathroom was big, decorated with marble, with massage shower cab and bidet. Bathroom accesories and towels were changed everyday.
The breakfast included cereals, yougurt, eggs, cheese, omelette, sausages, croissants (very-very tasty!), peach and orange juice, still and sparkling water, jams, honey and chocolate butter, coffe, tea.
The hotel stuff was helpful, especially we liked Valentina from reception who spoke the best English and could solve our problems.
We didn't find the hotel to be too far from the center, usually maximum about 30 minutes by bus #60 from piazza Venecia or #90 form Termini. By the way,we arrived to Rome after midnight and caught an official taxi from Termini to the Hotel just for 15 euro according to taxometer!

Unfortunately, during the all days of our stay the air conditioner didn't work. Staff said that it was the problem of all hotel, but in halls and restaurants it was always cool.
We also didn't like the fact that the receptionists were not aware of some important information. For example, we've read in the bus that there was supposed to be a strike of all transporters on the day we had to leave. We asked about it on reception and a girl who worked there misinformed us about the time of the strike because she couldn't translate an Italian article to English correctly. Finally, we got the answer from carabinieras and tourist office.

Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay in Sunrise hotel as we've got all we needed from it: sleep, breakfast and a good price-quality ratio.

Have a good trip to beautiful Rome!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    128
    98
    49
    28
See reviews for
55
159
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Hotel was booked through Hotwire so were blind to the location. Just a 1 night stopover.

The location itself was in a working class neighborhood but quite a ride to get to rapid transit.
The neighborhood was ok as to shops and restaurants but 45 minutes to 1 hour overall to get to the Forum, our 1 day tour destination.

Nice restauarant in the area and enjoyed the walk around--just too far out.

Room Tip: Booking blind for a good rate-not again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had an ok rate. had a special request. They put us in a accessible room, which would have been all fine if the shower would not have flooded the whole bathroom. We had to get all the towels to get the water soaked. Room was with high ceiling felt specious.
When asked to change room, was showed a room which was much smaller and smelled smoke (we know this trick if they do not want to move you)
Service was ok but nothing special.
Breakfast was running out of food felt like not enough staff.
If you stay be prepared to take a bus journey to the city (only 20 mins, not bad at all)
I do not think we would stay again. Could have done better.
Free internet was a plus

Room Tip: ground floor perhaps (high ceiling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladolcevita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I had read lots of reviws about the hotel and was alittle unsure, However the price of the room convinced us to book and im glad we did. We traveled to Termini station and was at first allitle stuck on how to get to the hotel so to save time we got a taxi which was 13 euros.(later we found that we had come out of the station on the wrong side and the other side offered a huge bus terminal where we could have got the number 90 or 60 for a euro). On arrival the staff were lovely, the room was clean, tidy, and not shabby at all, we were nicely surprised. as it was the evening we went for a walk in the local area, we found a great family run resturant and some lovely bars. we then sat on the hotel terrace with some drinks which was lovely! breakfast was very nice, we arn't big breakfast eaters but we had everything we needed. the hotel gave us lots of info about getting into town, a 2 min walk away from the No. 60 bus (1 euro for 75 min travel) which took us all the way to the centre of Rome..abit busy but the ride was worth it. We found ourselves getting taxis home mainly because of all the wine we drank! overall, clean, friendly and would stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

I have just returned with my daughter and grand daughter from a 3 night stay at the Sunrise Hotel. The room was extremely good and staff very pleasant and helpful. It cost 30 euros to get from the Termini Station to the hotel but after we had checked in we travelled the 20 minute journey to and from the centre of Rome for 1 euro each. Tickets for the bus number 90 are available at reception or the newsagents at the bottom of the steps. The hotel staff will give you all the details. There is a really good restaurant on the opposite side of the road to the newsagents but is so popular you may have to wait for a table. Breakfast was cereals, cheese, ham, yoghurts, fresh fruit and masses of cakes and croissants. A liitle way out of the centre but very good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeymooners
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Myself and my wife are frequent visitors to Rome so we know the city well. This time we wanted to go to a hotel on this occasion that was not in the middle of the noisy and polluted centre of Rome. Given that I wanted a restful week's holiday and a bit of nice view and vegitation to appreciate, while still being in the city, this hotel was for me a deligtful joy. Despite the Euro being annoyingly expensive at this time, we got a pretty good deal for what we paid. We were very warmly welcomed by the man with a goatie beard, who is most helpful. Also another young lady works at the desk most of the week and she was also very helpful. We soon felt very much at home and I would really like to thank the hotel for providing a Gideon Bible in three langugages that we all speak, it means a lot to us to have that since we cannot easily carry a Bible on our travels.

To give an honest opinion of things we didn't find so good, we felt some of the staff at the weekend were not too helpful but we wouldn't rate it a bad hotel for that. Also we would suggest having fresh fruit juice at the breakfast a good idea. Of course being out on Nomentana traffic is slower going into Rome but then there are frequent buses and they will get you into town as quick as any other way. That is something you find anyway wherever you stay in the city. It does take time to get around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I found the family size room inadequate for 4 people. There is no place to sit & unwind after a long day. There is no place to eat should you order room service (15" round table with 2 chairs.) The decor is tired, the place is dirty and smells of cigarette smoke. The front desk staff was very helpful however and redeemed the hotel (for me.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelsmemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
ARS Hotel
ARS Hotel
#402 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aniene
Hotel Aniene
#758 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
#301 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
#896 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Claudia B&B
Claudia B&B
#699 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#618 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Property: Sunrise Hotel
Address: Via Cilento 3 | Montesacro, 141 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#347 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing