We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok if you have to be nearby the "Gemelli" Hospital”
Review of Hotel Sisto V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sisto V
Ranked #638 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nothing against the Hotel itself, but just out of all great touristic areas. As titlet, it is very convenient if you have to be nearby the Gemelli Hospital, or at the Congress Center in the Hospital (my case). The hotel is clean calm, air conditioned, free Wifi, courtesy staff, so nothing against the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 323 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Hotel Sisto V is a comfortable and clean hotel with very nice updated bathrooms. It is not a resort type of hotel with a lot of amenities but offers a good base when returning from a full day of sightseeing. The hotel is located in the north west section of Rome....more suburbia than city. There are shops and a pharmacy within walking distance. I found my double room to be peaceful and quiet despite the fact the hotel is near a train station and hospital, To get to the center of Rome where most of the historic sites are we took a taxi to Cornelia Metro Station which passes through most important sites. The staff are helpful and speak English quite well. Good value for money. Would have been nice if there were some coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms especially as there is no restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judiza_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

May be some people like this place but we didn't.
Some reasons:
- bad value for money
- rooms are old, especially WCs
- very Far from city center, we spent about 40 min by light train.

My advise - look for the places closer to the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ytrewq2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Although the hotel is a little far out of town I thought it was excellent value for money. The only downside was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel is far from the center, there are few public transport at night, and my room was very small. The breakfast was ok, and the employees were friendly, but had some problems speaking English. The Hotel Sisto V is close to the Vatican
I recommend a hotel closer to the center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiago2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Guest,
is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

There was absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel. It was lovely. But, it could be quite adventurous to get to the city centre. For example you could go to the train station nearby just to find out that the train would not be coming in an other hour. And then you would have to figure out how to do so alternatively, like with a bus. You could ask somenone but they would definately not speak english. On the contrary they would keep on talking to yhou in italian despite your dazzled look. You could follow them though to the bus station, try to "read" the board of buses and direction and guess which one could be the one. Then you would ride with the bus for about 30-40 minutes, find a tube station and then things would be much easier. Off course the tube stations are very few to chose among and a good deal of walking towards the sight is included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowwhite124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Guest, is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I had to book a hotel in Rome at the last minute and found it difficult to locate something affordable with available rooms. A friend suggested this hotel as it is located in his neighborhood.
It has been recently renovated and the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathrooms are modern and above average for Europe.
It is unfortunately located in a residential area and too far from the sites of Rome. I discovered the bus stops just steps away, however, and there is also a train station within a couple of blocks, so one can make an easy connection to the metro system.
The worst disadvantage for me is that there are literally no restaurants within walking distance. There are several pizzarias and small markets, but one has to travel by bus or taxi to get to a decent restaurant.
The breakfast was quite poor for this class hotel - instant coffee dispensed from a machine, watery juices, poor quality commercial pastries, etc. They did have boiled eggs on one of the three mornings I was there.
The staff was great! They were very friendly and very helpful with information about bus routes, getting tickets, finding food, etc.
There is a garage, but it is not free.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Guest,
is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#451 of 1,270 in Rome
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#543 of 1,270 in Rome
668 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#489 of 1,270 in Rome
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
4 mi away
Hotel Rome Pisana
Hotel Rome Pisana
#614 of 1,270 in Rome
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sisto V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sisto V

Address: Via Lardaria 10, 00168 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $43 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sisto V 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming atmosphere, where experience and professionalism ensure a pleasant stay for the most demanding clientele. The many facilities and the warm and relaxing atmosphere will attend to your needs during your stay in Rome.Your Roman Holiday or your business trip can start right at our Hotel, from where you can reach all important parts of the city directly from the Metro station only a few yards away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sisto V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisto v Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing