We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value for money”
Review of Hotel Sisto V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sisto V
Ranked #562 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good value for money”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Although the hotel is a little far out of town I thought it was excellent value for money. The only downside was the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    134
    81
    28
    13
See reviews for
94
75
32
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel is far from the center, there are few public transport at night, and my room was very small. The breakfast was ok, and the employees were friendly, but had some problems speaking English. The Hotel Sisto V is close to the Vatican
I recommend a hotel closer to the center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiago2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

There was absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel. It was lovely. But, it could be quite adventurous to get to the city centre. For example you could go to the train station nearby just to find out that the train would not be coming in an other hour. And then you would have to figure out how to do so alternatively, like with a bus. You could ask somenone but they would definately not speak english. On the contrary they would keep on talking to yhou in italian despite your dazzled look. You could follow them though to the bus station, try to "read" the board of buses and direction and guess which one could be the one. Then you would ride with the bus for about 30-40 minutes, find a tube station and then things would be much easier. Off course the tube stations are very few to chose among and a good deal of walking towards the sight is included.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowwhite124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest, is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I had to book a hotel in Rome at the last minute and found it difficult to locate something affordable with available rooms. A friend suggested this hotel as it is located in his neighborhood.
It has been recently renovated and the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathrooms are modern and above average for Europe.
It is unfortunately located in a residential area and too far from the sites of Rome. I discovered the bus stops just steps away, however, and there is also a train station within a couple of blocks, so one can make an easy connection to the metro system.
The worst disadvantage for me is that there are literally no restaurants within walking distance. There are several pizzarias and small markets, but one has to travel by bus or taxi to get to a decent restaurant.
The breakfast was quite poor for this class hotel - instant coffee dispensed from a machine, watery juices, poor quality commercial pastries, etc. They did have boiled eggs on one of the three mornings I was there.
The staff was great! They were very friendly and very helpful with information about bus routes, getting tickets, finding food, etc.
There is a garage, but it is not free.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Hotel is good in general, staff speak English and are helpful. We started using the train to get us to the metro and then to Rome Center, but we noticed reduced hours after 7PM and on weekends, I think there are 2 trains per hour after 7PM and 1 per hour after 9PM, same kind of problems during the week end. So use the bus instead, two buses take you to the metro, they are always there, just avoid them on rush hour. Also be aware that it takes about 45min to go from the hotel to Rome Center ( Coleseum for instance ), it is a big city so this is normal, just take this into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank __-___-_____
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2009

On the main thoroughway to the main hospital so do not book if you like nice peaceful sleeps! Close to Metro and just two stops away from Vatican though, so pretty handy if you are driving.No restaurant. No Bar. No additional facilities, very basic. Breakfast was not all that good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaLouiseTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children (aged 6 & 7). The room was clean and had a lovely balcolny. There was little for our children to do- no kids channels on the tv, but there was a little lounge area where they could sit and play - we brought our own packs of cards. Unfortunatley the air con broke on 2nd night and it did get hot. There is a supermarket just around the corner which was great for stocking up on pizzas, bottles of water, bread, biscuits etc. These picnics saved us a fortune and were worth carrying. The bus service in to Cornelia and then on to the metro was a lot quicker and more frequent than the train. The hotel staff were friendly,but not particurlarly helpful - Another family who we met there told us about the supermarked and the bus. Breakfast was ok but did run out of some stuff - ham and cheese, bowls! on some days

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabinorabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#466 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#452 of 1,256 in Rome
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
2.1 mi away
Park Hotel Ginevra
Park Hotel Ginevra
#627 of 1,256 in Rome
458 reviews
6.7 mi away
Camplus Guest Roma
Camplus Guest Roma
#526 of 1,256 in Rome
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sisto V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sisto V

Property: Hotel Sisto V
Address: Via Lardaria 10, 00168 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sisto V 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming atmosphere, where experience and professionalism ensure a pleasant stay for the most demanding clientele. The many facilities and the warm and relaxing atmosphere will attend to your needs during your stay in Rome.Your Roman Holiday or your business trip can start right at our Hotel, from where you can reach all important parts of the city directly from the Metro station only a few yards away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sisto V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisto v Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing