We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the metro and helpful staff but needs renovation”
Review of Pensione Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensione Paradise
Ranked #1,378 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best thing about this is that its bang on the Lepanto metro station. So close, that if you are a light sleeper like me, you can feel the rumbling of the metro in the early morning when its quiet. Its in the vatican/prati area and the vatican is just about 1.5 kms away. Our room faced the main road (Via Giulio Cesare) so if you open the window there is plenty of vehicular noise from the road. That said, the soundproofing in the window is pretty good fo if you close its it bearable. But since there is no AC, the room can get a bit stifling, especially in the summers. Maybe you can ask for a fan, check before going.

The place can do with a facelift - new flooring or carpets and a lick of paint, especially in the bathrooms.

They dont serve breakfast, which we always prefer within our hotel. But they have a common fridge so you can get your stuff and store it there. The staff are very helpful with maps, directions and questions. They insisted on charging upfront for the 3 nights staywhich was a bit strange as they already had our credit card from the booking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeptic_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel taught us that you get what you pay for. The price and location aren't bad at all seeing its Rome. You can walk to the Vatican and Villa Borghese but you'll need the Metro for other attractions.

The rooms are however quite shabby and despite superficial cleanliness, the shared bathrooms and rooms are actually quite unhygienic (there was a nice thick layer of dust in out of sight places). The rooms also had no air-conditioning apart from a fan! so the small rooms are very stuffy.

The worst part however were the bed bugs as both my girlfriend and I discovered a number of bites on our bodies after the second night and it was pretty intolerable by the final night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel regretfully. The price is good on paper but be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great hotel and location. A little away from the noise of the city but easy to get to where you need to go.The staff was so nice and helpful. Felt safe and comfortable. Great price. Great distance from the subway to hop on and off. I would stay here again and suggest it to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was very satisfied with this hotel. Its location was perfect, it was like 10-15 minutes from the Vatican, the bus and metro station was 150 m from the entrance, the river was near, so every night we went for a walk. The staff was friendly, they always asked if we needed any help with anything. Our room was close to the reception, so we had wifi in the bathroom. The room was mostly clean, the bed was comfortable, my only problem was the shower, it kinda looked dirty a bit. In overall this hotel made our trip smooth and comfortable, I recommend it if you are short budget, and you don't want to go to a five-star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom near the reception and with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csajkaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful at this place, so that is worth noting. The plus side: there are some nice cafes in pizzerias in the neighbourhood and a grocery store. But you must take the metro or bus into town so it is not a centre stay. This pensione is quite old and worn but will work if you're on a tight budget in Rome. Recommend getting a room with ensuite bath as it is larger. Our biggest complaint is that the carpet in the room was very worn and dirty - it was actually sticky and smelled bad. Also to note that Internet can only be used in the front lobby so you have to sit on the little old couch to get a signal. And the pillows are just two big lumps of concrete, so better bring your own if you don't want a stiff neck! Since Rome is such a beautiful city and you can walk almost everywhere, staying on the other side of the river would be a better choice.

Room Tip: Definitely get the en suite if you are staying here. The rooms without it are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Rome
1
Reviewed November 20, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lilliput Hostel
Lilliput Hostel
#698 of 1,196 in Rome
57 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,115 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,539 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Paradise

Address: Via Gavinana 2, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,378 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $74 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensione Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing