We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine if you don't pay full price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Piave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Piave
Ranked #437 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine if you don't pay full price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We spend 5 days in Rome in October which proved to be a great time weather wise: warm but not too warm. Booked the Albergo Piave after a lot of researching on Tripadvisor and I was pleased with the ease of booking and instant confirmation. The location of the hotel is good - easy walk from Termini and plenty of buses into all areas in Rome if you don't fancy walking, although you can walk to e.g. Trevi Fountain in about 25 min. The neighbourhood felt perfectly safe at night and there were plenty of restaurants around although we never tried them, going more into the towncentre. The hotel itself is is a nice place, well decorated and immaculately clean. The rooms are tiny, even smaller than in places such as New York or London. We had paid only 90 Euros per night, which was fine, it would not be worth the rack rate of 150 Euro. The room looked out into a tiny courtyard and although that conjurs images of romantic Italian vistas, it is nothing like it. In fact there is no view, therefore we kept the shutters closed pretty much all the time. But you don't go to Rome for a hotelview! Also, the walls are very thin, so you do hear other guests. We were lucky as there were no noisy people staying. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite and breakfast was good for Italian styles. The coffee certainly wakes you up. Overall, I would stay again, but only at similar rates.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    107
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
139
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed 6 nights at the Piave. It's a good choice if your on a tight budget. I would give it four stars if not for Mr. Tommaso's mischievous advice regarding restaurants. He recommended us an awful trattoria nearby owned by a fellow named Livio which unfortunately we tried. You'll be much better if you pick the Cantina Cantarina at Piazza Sallustio. In a word, stay here. Just don't listen to Tommaso's advices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbon_PortugalPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Albergo Piave for 4 nights in late April 2009. I chose this hotel for the price- I got it for about 95 Euro per night. I was considering other hotels closer to many of the sites that were also much larger and had more ammenities, but the price of this hotel and its ratings are why we chose this one. After coming from Sorrento, this hotel was a bit shocking to see at first... it is in an older NY-style building and only occupies the 3-4 floors of the building. The rooms are VERY small, but clean and efficient. The hotel is run by an older man whose English is not the greatest and has a very dry sense of humor that is not for everyone. The location of the hotel is not that bad, but we did use the metro quite often to get around as it was more convenient and quicker than walking. This hotel is not in a touristy area, so things die down at night, but I always felt safe walking at night. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you're looking to save money, but if you're willing to splurge a bit more, I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petfriendlytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at Albergo Piave over the weekend for a pleasure trip in Rome and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a budget hotel with style. Albergo Piave is located in a beautiful residential area, nearby many embassies. We appreaciated the quietness of the area after spending all day sightseeing in the busy streets of Rome.

When booking we were dubious because the hotel is on the second floor of a residential building, but decided to go ahead anyway. We did not regret it. The hotel is small, no thrills, but has everything you need. We enjoied the modern decorated room and the stylish bathroom, everything is very new and clean.

On top of everything we had an excellent customer service! Once back home I reliazed I forgot a piece of clothing at the hotel and they send it to my home address at no charge, and within 24 hours I had my missing item delivered.

We have been extremely impressed by the whole experience at Albergo Piave andd strongly reccomend it to all tourists visiting Rome.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

Recently visited Italy and Albergo Piave was my first stay. Great location within a 10 minute walk to the Rome Termini. Was traveling alone, and felt very safe here. Modestly spacious room, however someone working at the hotel smoked on occasion, and it could be smelled in my room. Good breakfast. Communication with staff challenging in the evenings - english speaking staff present during daytime hours. Great gelato place a few blocks away - l Caruso on Via Collina N 13/15, and wonderful market, Pinta SRL on Via Flavia 48/50, where you can get fresh, delicious pizza and pastries.

  • Liked — location in Rome, near Termini and surrounding stores
  • Disliked — smell of smoke in rooms at times, limited English-speaking staff in evenings
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Really a great place if you're on a tight budget (all you backpackers out there!).
The rooms are extremely clean. AC works perfectly (and you need AC in Rome). The shower is better than a shower you'll find at a 4 star hotel! That was my favorite part of the room. And trust me that when you walk outside all day in the heat, you want a shower that works perfectly when you come back to your room.
The staff is very friendly and often asks if everything is fine. Breakfast is simple but good. They make a great cappuccino! The place is a bit far from the center if you plan on walking but all the buses pass in front of the hotel.
There is a delicious little gelateria 10 seconds away from the hotel and (oddly enough) a really good Greek fast food place right around the corner. Explore the streets around the hotel because although they are very quiet, there are lots of little restaurants and food joints around.
I would defintely go back if I wanted to stay at a place in a more quiet neighborhood!

  • Liked — The shower!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinderella7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

We neither loved nor disliked the Piave. All things considered our stay was definitely more positive than negative, but we probably wouldn't stay again for the minor conveniences it did not have.
On the positive side: The hotel is very nicely maintained and decorated, from the cool floors in the hallway to the breakfast room to the rooms and bathrooms. The staff is very nice. (Other reviews mentioned the woman serving breakfast not being pleasant, but I could not disagree more. She was a bit shy, but totally nice when engaged in conversation!) The room was small, but we had a toddler with us; I think the size would have been absolutely fine for 2 people only. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well, and the bathroom was very new looking and nicely tiled. Breakfast buffet was small, but with good variety, and fresh. Both the fresh brioches and the fresh fruit were welcome treats each morning. We liked the neighborhood; it felt very local and the bus to Termini picks up a block away. The Trattoria Cadorna around the corner had good service and absolutely delicious and plentiful pasta dishes.
Traveling with a small child was both the most positive and one of the negatives of the hotel. The small room gave did not provide much space for him to move around and there was no refrigerator in the room which was difficult in terms of providing our son with his regular meal and beverage schedule. BUT the staff was SO good to our son and so accommodating to us and our needs. They let us use their fridge and even provided us with milk twice a day (outside of breakfast hours) so we wouldn't have to worry about buying it. In addition, the hotel provided a travel crib in excellent condition at no additional cost. The Piave is most definitely a child friendly place!
The biggest negative other than that just expressed was the air conditioning. It did not work well at all. We decided to stay in the room one afternoon to rest and escape the Roman heat, and though the air was turned on to full blast, I was actually sticky from the heat in the room. It did not matter how long the air ran or what setting it was on: the temperature bordered on uncomfortable. Another negative (picky, I know) was in the bathroom: looks great, but not completely functional. There was only space to hang one bath towel, and the shelf above the sink is curved: pretty, but not big enough for two people's toiletries because everything on the curved side slides down. The shower head was a bit blocked so water pressure and direction of spray was not the best. There were also sudden changes in temperature if water was used elsewhere. 3. The coffee at breakfast wasn't particularly good. After two tries, we skipped it all together. Finally, there was a big armoire in the room, but no drawers, so we had to live out of our suitcases.
As I said earlier, except for the problem with the air conditioning, all the other "negatives" are minor, and the hotel met our needs for this trip. Taken all together, however, we would not return.

  • Liked — extremely child friendly
  • Disliked — non-functioning air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundaygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Versailles
#688 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ercoli
Hotel Ercoli
#731 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Louisiana
Hotel Louisiana
#524 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#254 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sol Levante
Hotel Sol Levante
#645 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Piave

Property: Albergo Piave
Address: Via Piave 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Style:
#210 Business Hotel in Rome
#233 Family Hotel in Rome
#265 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Piave 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Piave Rome
Albergo Piave Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing