We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location: Trastevere?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #401 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Decent hotel with lovely garden and swimming pool (though, closed this week in 25 degree weather), but we were led to believe by booking web site, that it was located in Trastevere... maybe in this district, but in reality far away from the street life near the river. Location should be noted as Gianicolo, an upscale residential district, near the Garibaldi statue, beautiful view overlooking Rome.

Bus travel (44 & 75) is intermittent at best and a walk from the hotel, one way streets in the neighbourhood make for difficult self driving.

Breakfast was fine, dinner disappointed.

Cramped room for a double, mediocre shower, terrible toilet paper. Staff was accommodating.

If you really want to get away from the action of Rome and Trastevere, this place is an oasis.

Room Tip: Don't get one overlooking a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Christoper C,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience at our Grand Hotel Gianicolo with us.

Regarding the location of hotel, we are on the top of the Gianicolo Hill, just above the famous Trastevere quarter and just a few miles south of the Vatican City. The street life is near hotel, just 10 minutes walk down the hill or if you don’t want to walk you will find bar and restaurants in the neighborhood.
We would like to inform all of our clients that on our website will find the swimming pool opening times (May through September).
We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel garden and the American breakfast.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 481 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing spot in Rome, above the noise and chaos of Trastevere, but just a short walk away from it. The building is beautiful, with very pleasant gardens outside and a nice pool. But inside, the decor was not of my taste, and our first room smelt of damp. The shower is very small, and not particularly comfortable. Very friendly staff, and good food. All in all, not bad, but not great either.

Room Tip: Better views up on higher floors. Wi-fi less reliable on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajarvis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Ajarvis_12,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a TripAdvisor comment.
We are very glad that you appreciate our hotel area with gardens outside and nice pool. Each of our rooms are designed and adorned in authentic Italian accents. Hotel offers the standard bathtub or shower.
I'll pass your kind words onto our Chef and hotel staff!

We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ithe hotel had a beautiful garden and was in a fantastic location, the staff were very nice and very organised. The breakfast was filled with a variety of delicious foods, that did not disapoint. Although the walk from the city was long, it was worthwhile in the end as the walk is picturesque. To add, The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated, the bathroom is also spacoius and clean. The only downside is the wifi is unreliable, it cut out when we needed it most! Overall, the hotel is beautiful and I wouldnt hesitste to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bockbock19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Bockbock19,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your nice words following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel Gianicolo.
We are very grateful that you have let other people know of your positive stay, the good services, the kindness and organization of staff .
We are pleased that you would hesitate to stay with us again.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Only redeeming feature is the short walk to la grande belleza at the top of Gianicolo. Otherwise this hotel has nothing but disadvantages. Very remote by public transport. Very slow and expensive for taxis to reach due to the traffic and one-way system. Rude and unsympathetic staff. Ground floor room behind the desk meant very loud talking late into night with no sense among staff that guests may need sleep. Room stank of cigarette smoke. Peeling wallpaper and poor lighting - dim and no desk light to work by. No toilet seat. Very rough toilet paper. Shower too cold to stand underneath even at maximum temperature. Aged wiring and plugs not earthed, so constant electric shocks from appliances. Internet access only on a pay-for basis, then extremely slow and kept cutting out. Very poor quality coffee (which is particularly unusual in Italy) and shoddy food for breakfast, though lovely seasonal fruit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regular-conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Regular-conferencer,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very surprised to read your negative comments. First of all, at the arrival of our guests we give all the information regarding transportation. In our neighborhood there are several bus stops , two of them are the 44 and 75 which are two of the most important buses and takes you to Piazza Venezia and Colosseo. High- speed Wireless Internet access is free for all hotel clients . We offer a full range of food for American breakfast, all homemade cakes, different types of coffee, we are sorry that you didn’t find anything to your taste. All hotel rooms are not smoking, have toilet seat and regarding the toilet paper is made from recycled paper in the way to become a green hotel. About our hotel staff, we receive many positive comments, but we can see from your review that you did not appreciate our hotel at all. We truly apologize for not satisfying your expectations and we thank you again for your comments which will be a stimulation to improve our deficiencies.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The decor is a little dated, a bit dark and velvelette for our tastes but all clean and tidy. Breakfast was fine, nice pastries although the cooked food was looking a bit stale by the time we went to eat. The room we had was a corner room and was fine for us although the bath/shower leaked and as not fixed despite being reported to reception every day we were staying. We paid £140 a night which felt about right for the standard of the hotel (probably uk 3* rather than 4*) and the location. All of the staff were friendly and professional at all times. Please note it is right at the top of a very big hill so be prepared for a decent workout in getting back from trastevere... There are about 75 stairs and lots of fairly steep road to get back. What you get as payback are some amazing views across Rome. To get to the hotel we took the local train from fiuminico, changed at trastevere and then got the train to Quattro venti. From there it's an ok 15 minute walk up the less steep side of huge hill to the hotel. Would stay again.. 10 minute walk to great restaurants and bars and 30 minute walk to the colosseum was great for what we wanted.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chrisb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Chrisb2,

Thank you for your time to write on TripAdvisor. It is important for us to receive comments to improve services.
We are very glad to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The breakfast is prepared every day with fresh food and homemade cakes by our Chef.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff.
Once again we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

And I can't believe I paid (pre-paid) $400 a night! What a waste of money! The ONLY good thing about this hotel is the green space outside the hotel. All the rest of it was bad...for a 4 star hotel. It would have been an OK hotel for $100 - $120/ night and a 3 star rating. Here's the bad: 1) Hotel staff acts like you are completely imposing upon them. Very short with their answers; no smiling; we did not feel welcomed at all! 2) Phone did not work in our hotel room. 3) Pool's nice, but was told that you have to wear a haircap if you want to swim, and go ALL THE WAY back to reception to get one, if you want it. 4) Breakfast was just ho-hum; nothing special at all. 5) The a/c would only go down to 21 celsius; that's only 70 Farenheit, and it still feels really hot in the room when it's 90 Farenheit outside. 5) Toilet paper is recycled and ROUGH. My bum hurt after only two trips to the bathroom, so we had to go to the store and buy our own toilet paper. 6) The shower leaked so bad that the whole bathroom was wet everytime we got of the shower. So had to constantly get more towels to mop it up. 7) There's mold and mildew in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling. I just feel sick about the amount of money I spent, excpecting a really nice experience and being completely ripped off! DO NOT STAY HERE, GO ELSEWHERE!!!!

Room Tip: Here's a tip; don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HometownHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

No doubt this hotel could be with a lick of paint, preferably lighter as it is currently very dark, but aside from that it is a lovely little hotel. The staff are all very polite and helpful. The breakfast was good, well maintained and the breakfast room was kept really clean, very reassuring, and with stunning views.
The rooms were a decent size, and clean, new sheets and towels every day for a full 5 night stay. It was also nice that the two rooms we had booked were next door.
The one, very slight, downside is the location. It is away from centre of Trastevere so has a really calm feel, but it being at the top of a hill means it's either a hike or a taxi home, there are plenty though so not to much of a problem.
All in all it is a lovely hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylorann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Taylorann3,

Thank you for your nice review about the hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments about our room, services and the staff are very much appreciated.

The hotel position is at the Gianicolo hill, 10 minutes walk to Trastevere, 30 minutes walk to Vatican City. Buses to the city centrum goes in front of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#280 of 1,271 in Rome
1,001 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Palazzo Dama Hotel
Palazzo Dama Hotel
#380 of 1,271 in Rome
184 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $95 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing