We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #404 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a good experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed it. I found our room to be quite clean. The staff was courteous. The pool was better than I expected (the lifeguard also rescued a child whose mother was not paying attention to him). The only downside was the location which is on the other side of most tourist attractions but close to Vatican. The breakfast was also quite good too. My kids were disappointed that we had to miss one and they let us in well before opennng hours so we can eat before an early morning Vatican tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ralph Z,

Thank you for your 5* review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool during your stay, the lifeguard will be delighted with your comments as am I. I will passed your comments to all the team.

Hopefully we will see you back here again one day soon!

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    183
    83
    36
    22
See reviews for
97
170
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in july 2013 with family. The pool and the service from the friendly staff was super. Very good breakfast served in topfloor restaurant-room with view over the city. The only problem was a noisy aircon in our rather small rooms at the first floor and the distance from the hotel to the center of Rome - a busride of apr. 15-20 min. Take the 30 min. walk through the nearby park to the Vatican - the view from the park overlooking the city is excellent.

Room Tip: Noisy aircon in our rooms on first floor. Could not be repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Pete T,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a TripAdvisor comment.

We are happy that you spend nice time with your family and you appreciate the hotel sevices. Regarding a aircon during your stay, we are very sorry, that you didn’t inform our reception to check it your room or change.
The hotel position is at the Gianicolo hill, 10-15 minutes walk to Trastevere, 30 minutes walk to Vatican City. Buses to the city centrum goes in front of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in future and thank you once again.

Best regards from Grand hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a very comfortable traditional style 4 star hotel. Great breakfast buffet, lovely gardens and swimming pool. Reception staff were polite, friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballydoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ballydoogan

Thank you so much for outstanding review on TripAdvisor and awesome recommendation.
It’s very important for us to know that you had a very comfortable stay and you spend a wonderful time in our hotel.
We look forward to taking care of you during your next stay.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Room is tiny & condition deplorable. Leaking shower, water damage, mould & peeling wallpaper. Air conditioning to minimum of 25C which is 80F. Hotel management doesn't allow it to be set lower. Not had a proper nights rest since our arrival. Exhaust fan doesn't work.There are no washcloths. Had to ask several times for toilet tissue and complimentary water. 5 hangers for 2 people over 5 nights. No food after 3:00 p.m! Internet free for only 3 days but is intermittent during that time. Argumentative, rude & unhelpful reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
384 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were there with our second honey moon (25 years). Service was nice and good. Staff heard about our celebration and we found a nice bottle of spumante and some small pizzas etc. from our room at that special day. Thank you a lot. Room was nice but a bit noisy. Breakfast was very good and service there was good. Near the hotel are two restaurants. Other one is fine dining and the other one is much cheaper but good food also. Just to the left from the gate 50m.
If you go to Rome take your hotel in Trastevere. Trust me.

Room Tip: Go enough high. Not the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Eero N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon in our hotel and all hotel staff took care of you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

5 nights prepaid...
Pros- Nice room (small with charm), great breakfast, very nice pool, air conditioning works good, and the staff were very helpful.
Cons- Not very close to the city or public transportation (you can catch a bus if you walk down the hill.) All of our tour guides sent a car for us daily, so it wasn't much of a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear JD E,

Thank you for your lovely review about the hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments about our room, services and the staff are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo is a great hotel to stay at while you are in Rome. It's at the top of the Janiculum Hill and close to the Parco Gianicolense where you can stroll from the hotel and admire the view of the city. You can also walk down hill into Trastevere, stopping en route to enjoy the view of the city from Fonte Acqua Paola which is really spectacular. There are lots of nice restaurants in Trastevere. It's a steep climb back up the hill to the hotel but that is just the thing to work off your dinner.
The hotel itself is very well run. The decor in the rooms is a bit dated. The rooms are clean although maybe a bit on the small side, and the shower cabinet was a bit cramped. However after a day we had forgotten about these details and just enjoyed the stay. The pool is fantastic and the breakfast has everything you could want to eat as well as a lovely view of St Peter's Basilica. You can walk to many of the sights of Rome across the river quite easily. Staff at reception very helpful. There is free tea and coffee in the lounge which is a nice touch. The bar next door is worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Belindascotland,

We are very grateful that you have let other people know of your positive stay on TripAdvisor.
I have passed your kind comments to all the team who really do appreciate your time.

We hope to welcome you back in future and thank you once again.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#33 of 1,256 in Rome
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#177 of 1,256 in Rome
251 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#303 of 1,256 in Rome
1,285 reviews
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#256 of 1,256 in Rome
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Property: Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing