We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Nearby Hotels
$213
$200
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$390
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$529
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$283
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$193
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$180
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$146
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$300
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
131
207
87
42
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
207
87
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat poolbreakfast roomswimming poolpool attendanttrastevere restaurantstop floorcentre of romelovely hotelmarble floorsminute walkbit datedcost eurosthe air conditioningcold meatspastriesrooms are smallpublic transportation
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 490 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

An older hotel in reasonably good repair with beautiful gardens at entrance and a nice pool area. Located in Trastevere area of Rome just outside the city walls. May not be suitable for older travelers or those with mobility problems.

Our bathroom had an ancient, non-working, leaking Jacuzzi tub. Since the tub is several inches higher than a normal tub it was very difficult to get in and out of, particularly since there were no grab bars. The bottom of the tub was also very slippery with the grit surface long worn out.

There is only one elevator which seems to take forever to arrive. The staircase is rather narrow, has marble stair treads, and no railings.

Breakfast area is very nice with an adequate selection of items but the eggs and ham were always lukewarm at best.

For those with a number of electronic gadgets to recharge be aware that this hotel utilizes an energy conservation system that requires the room key to be inserted into a slot just inside the door to activate the lights and receptacles. This means that you can not charge devices when you are out of your room. However free wi-fi is available.

Staff was almost equally divided between friendly and helpful and surly and rude. Room and public areas were kept very clean. Elegant but expensive dining area.

Might would stay again if bargain rates were available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Bob317,

Thank you for your feedback. At the outset, we thank you for complimenting the swimming pool, location and the breakfast.
Regarding non working, leaking Jacuzzi tub during your stay, we are very sorry, that you didn’t inform our reception to check it your room. We could send a maintainer to repair it or change a room. Each jacuzzi bath have a standard high and length.
There is only one elevator but working very well, also when the hotel is fully booked and they are many check-in and check-out. If somebody needs help, there is a bellboy which help you with the suitcases.
We would like to however, bring to your notice that we use an energy conservation system because we want to get closer to energy-saving. The hotel offer you free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Hotel is really nice and the garden is well kept; ( Although if I was the owner or the GM I would schedule a renovation) rooms were very clean and breakfast buffet is nice, right on the roof of the building.( nice view and fresh air ).
staff is really nice and Accommodating . we walked to the the center of Roma ( Via Del Corso ) it's a good few KM to walk, but we enjoyed it. Taxied it at night 15 EURO on average.
Bus to Vatican numer 870 right out side of the hotel. and bus to coliseum right down the road, the font desk agent helped us.

Room Tip: Garden View was nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Ronen_23,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent visit to the Grand Hotel Gianicolo.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very rewarding to know that you found our staff nice and accomodating and they helped you during your stay. We are glad that you appreciate our hotel garden and the area position.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Clean, nice very helpful staff, free wi fi, lovely, sunny breakfast room on 4th floor with everything from eggs to pastries, to meats, to fiber cereal to the most delicious pear I have ever eaten. Was visiting a friend at the American Academy in Rome which is literally right across the street. So excellent location for that. It's a bit of a hike into the center and up hill home. Good exercise but be prepared for that. Staff was very friendly. Excellent shuttle to airport. One small quibble which may be typical for Europe: The wi fi kicks you off if you are not using it and does not remember you. So you have to type in the long user name and password each time. BUT it worked very well when on. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodle451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Noodle451,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo.

The best feedback we can receive is when people say that our team staffs are helpful and friendly.
We are very glad to hear that you experienced such an enjoyable stay and you loved our hotel services, American buffet breakfast on the top of Roof garden and you appreciated our excellent location a few minutes from the American Academy in Rome.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm sure the pool is great - we were there in march...-but i cannot see another reason to stay here unless you need to be in this neighborhood. (If you dont need to be in this neighborhood, i'd stay somewhere more central. we stayed here based on wanting to spend a night in a different area and took a friend in Rome's reco.).

The hotel needs a dramatic interior upgrade starting with the rooms. They are small - ok, its Europe- but they are also old, a bit musty and generally depressing. When your 9 year old has trepidation about the rooms, that is a bad sign...

We stay in a lot of hotels and know the difference. There are lovely hotels in Rome and this isnt one of them.

1  Thank RolandPark
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear RolandPark,

First of all we want to thank you for your feedback.

Regarding your first paragraph, we are not agree at all as our location is awesome , superb and one of the most beautiful in Rome, five minutes walking far from Trastevere and just a few more from the Vatican . All of our guests really appreciate our location.

We are very sorry that you did not speak directly with our receptionist, maybe give us the opportunity to help you and maybe a room change would make a difference.

We truly apologize for not satisfying your expectations and we thank you again for your letter which will be a stimulation to improve our deficiencies.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My daughters and I recently stayed here. So cute, so charming, friendly staff. Very nice room, beautiful bathroom. The best part of this place was the lovely breakfast buffet. Big spread of cheeses, meats, tomatoes, fruit, great scrambled eggs. Fresh bottle water, juices. Great staff helping if you need and cute room to eat. They have a great outside area to eat. They have a cute bar to get wine and snacks. We loved it here, wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottootan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Nottootan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to know that you and your daughters did appreciate the services of the hotel. I will share your feedback with all of our hotel team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews