We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$390
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$200
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$283
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$424
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$180
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)
$196
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
131
207
87
42
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
207
87
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat poolbreakfast roomswimming poolpool attendanttrastevere restaurantstop floorcentre of romelovely hotelmarble floorsminute walkbit datedcost eurosthe air conditioningcold meatspastriesrooms are smallpublic transportation
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 490 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are fine with living outside the very center of the city, and are prepared to walk a lot up&down the fairly steep Gianicolo hill, this is a good choice. The Janiculum/ Gianicolo is one of the best locations in Rome for a wonderful view of the innumerable domes and bell towers that pierce the skyline. The area looks really exclusive and wealthy, which it is.
Food: great hotel breakfast with local specialities, there is a beautiful view from the terrace, a wonderful way to start the day.

The hotel staff is very proper, professional, kind and helpful.
The rooms are clean & spacious with nice furniture though things seem a bit worn (the bathroom could do with a make-over). During the night, there was hardly any traffic noise, which is very rare in Rome. However, it was a bit surprising that you could easily hear through the walls what was going on above and next door.
We had the garden/ outdoor sitting area practically to ourselves, probably because it was off-season. In the garden there were plenty of flowers and trees, (with green parrots! (runaways?)).
It takes about 15 minutes to walk to Trastevere, following via Garibaldi, even using the short-cut. We never got around to catching a bus.
Overall impression: good food, quiet, clean, kind of fancy and kind of remote.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudberry_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Cloudberry-Voyager,

Thank you very much for nice words about our hotel and we are very glad that we have met your expectations.
We are glad that you appreciated our beautiful location “Gianicolo”, hotel garden with plenty of flowers and trees (yes, there are many runaway parrots in the park), hotel breakfast with local specialities and professional, kind and helpful staff.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed four nights with a group of friends. Reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our room was clean, quite well equipped although compact. The ensuite facilities were fine apart from a rather cramped shower. Breakfast was provided in a top floor room that provided spectacular views of the city and surrounding areas, although the planters placed outside each of the windows tended to restrict the view. There was a good choice at breakfast including delicious croissants and excellent cappuccinos! The hotel is a leisurely 30-45 walk to St Peter's Square and the east bank of the Tiber can be reached with a brisk 20 minute walk. There are also regular bus services from the vicinity of the hotel. But, be warned, walking to or from the hotel does entail steep climbs or descents!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krefelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Krefelder,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and location met your expectations. It’s nice to hear that you appreciated our delicious croissants and cappuccinos at the Roof garden.

Best regards,

Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel del Gianicolo twice during our stay in Rome this fall. During our planning stage while at home we were uncertain about the location, where it was in reference to the Vatican, restaurants and stores. All we knew was what we could see on Google Earth. The Grand Hotel Gianicolo is perched upon a hill within a 25 minute beautiful walk to the Vatican to the north and a 10 minute walk southeast to stores and restaurants. To the north west a beautiful park is yours to discover. And we cant forget, right around the corner was a small quaint Italian ristorante – Carpe Diem Ristorante. Amazing food, terrific friendly service with great rates – very handy while staying at this hotel. We felt the location was perfect. The staff throughout the hotel is extremely helpful and kind. The morning breakfast was the best we experienced in all of our travels in Italy. All in all, The Grand Hotel del Gianicolo was a terrific hotel and made our trip to Roma a truly memorable experience – returning to Roma this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: The end room had a larger bathroom ....
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Steve3535,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor and we appreciated that you chose to stay with Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo again.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and you found our staff helpful and they made your stay truly momorable.

We hope to welcome you back in future and thank you once again.

Best regards,

Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. There are many good things: the hotel has some grandeur (marble floors, pretty wallpapers, wooden finishing touches, jacuzzi in the bathroom); there is a nice outdoor area and a swimming pool. Good breakfast with great cappucino's, juices and italian smoked ham. Free wifi, a swimming pool. The room was clean, there were enough towels, and somme toiletries.What else do you need?
The room I stayed in was average in size (20 sq metre); the tv did not work (probably the batteries), the aircon did not work; so I had to keep the windows open, but there was day and (a bit during the) night traffic noise because the hotel is close to the road connecting the vatican city area with trastevere. The reception-people are friendly but on the first day I they gave me the key + personal message of somebody else and on the 2nd day I got again the key of another room. Although there is a busstop close, and you can walk within half an hour to more lively parts of Rome, there is not much of a choice of restaurants nearby the hotel,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reparepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Reparepa,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a TripAdvisor comment.

We are very pleased that you liked our hotel with outdoor area, american buffet breakfast with a wide choice of dishes, free Wi-Fi and friendly hotel staff. We are very sorry that you didn’t ask our reception staff to controlled the TV and the air conditioning, we could change your room. We have our hotel restaurant which is open every day or in the neighborhood you have many restaurants (for example Trastevere is 10-15 minutes walk).

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The images and descriptions on the hotel's website are quite misleading. This is not worth more than 3 stars at the very most.

Rooms are dusty. Showers a bit past their sell by date. TV doesn't work. Curtains hanging off the rails. Restaurant closed for a wedding. Very few staff. No iron or ironing board. Electronic access to door very temperamental Cant adjust air conditioning. Very noisy floors .. person aboe me may as well be a clog dancer!

Would I recommend this place - no.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Pat W,

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you had while staying with us. We are very sorry that your stay at the Grand Hotel del Gianicolo did not meet your expectations.
Contribution is very important for us to improve services at the hotel. The hotel rooms are cleaned and controlled by our housekeeper every day. It’s a pity that you didn’t ask our reception staff to controlled your TV set and air conditioning. We could change your room. If we have some special events in the hotel, sometimes we closed our hotel restaurant, but for our hotel guests is always possible to have a lunch or dinner in another hotel space. Regarding iron and ironing board, we have a hotel laundry service for your comfort.
We will do our best to resolve the issues that you brought to our attention.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews