We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #387 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic pool”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel in July/August 2012. It was a very comfortable stay and the service was very good; particularly by the pool attendant who is extremely attentive and is friendly to the guests maintaining a pleasant, quiet and relaxing atmosphere around the pool. The food on the pool menu was very tasty, as was that ordered through room service. Could be difficult to get the attention of the breakfast staff to request drinks.
Although it does have busy roads around it, the windows did a great job in sound proofing the room we were in. The location is great, with spectacular views of Rome just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Would prefer to have a room with a bath after lots of walking around Rome, but booked late and staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 298Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear 298Tracey,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you liked our swimming pool area and the food on the pool menu which is prepared by our chef. Thank you for your kind comments and special mention about our hotel staff.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    173
    83
    35
    20
See reviews for
95
163
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capri, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I found all the staff kind, courteous and very helpful. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. I was sad to leave as I felt as if I was leaving behind friends. Having a pool was so nice in the heat of Rome in late July and the air conditioning in the room worked very well. The location was great.a lot quieter than most hotels in Rome and as a solo traveller I felt safe. I will return and this would be the only hotel I would stay at in Rome. There were also young families and the hotel seemed to accommodate their needs very well....all in all, a very happy week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larajay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Larajay9,

Thank you for your fantastic comments and we appreciated that you chose to stay with Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and you found our staff kind, helpful and courteous. I will share your feedback directly with the hotel team.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm not too sure where the negative reviewers have stayed in Europe before. This is a good hotel to be based in Rome for a few days. It has a great pool and very comfortable rooms. The menu at the pool could be improved, but not very many people eat here, most like us travel into the heart of the city to explore. The staff are all very courteous and helpful. The breakfast is good, but I agree that it's not mind blowing. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, we had interconnecting rooms which work very well with the kids.

For the price and ability for the kids to wind down after some sightseeing it's a good choice and I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Quadrupeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Quadrupeds,

Thank you for your nice comments following your stay at the hotel. We are delighted that you and kids enjoy staying with us and you recommend our hotel to other clients.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have just returned from a three week trip to Italy and booked this hotel for our last night in Rome.
i was very disappointed. I wanted a hotel with a pool as I know Rome gets hot in July and this i have to say was the main plus point of the hotel. The pool was well maintained and clean and the pool area in general pleasant.

The rest however, I felt left a lot to be desired for a hotel classing itself as four star.We had to ask to have our room changed as the one we were given smelled like a people had been smoking in there. I found the decor dark and over bearing and really felt the whole place could be doing with an overhaul.Breakfast was nothing to write home about and only a buffet with no morning a la carte choice. We stayed in a 3 star hotel in Sorrento and it beat this place hands down for quality and service.It just wasn't what I'd expected at all.I think it is mis leading that it's billed as four star.

Trastevere is a good location so that was another plus.Sorry , but I think the 'Grand' should be left out of this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyenglish2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Decent hotel...long walk to Trastevere (they will tell you that you can take the bus, not clear how). Stayed in July, air conditioning was horrible and loud and inquiry of how to turn it down or off required trip to the lobby where your room temp is controlled. My questions were met with disdain. AC never worked well. For the money, I would recommend the Hotel Santa Maria...tricky to find but great staff, quiet oasis after busy day of sightseeing, Pool at Gianicolo was nice, but required swimming caps and I was reminded not to wear athletic shoes in the future. Rules like this only make me want to break them. Better options exist closer to the heart of the best section of Rome (Trastevere).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Rich K,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo did not meet your expectations. We want you to know that we value you as our guest and your feedback is important to us.

Trastevere is 15 minutes walk from the hotel. If you don’t want to walk you can take the bus N. 115 (in front of the hotel). Please note any information, city maps of Rome and bus routes information ,Wi-Fi ticket (without any charge) are always available to clients whenever they want to ask for - 24 hours a day. Regarding the noise of air-conditioning we actively work on it, we monitor this very carefully and we are very disappointed this has negate. We would like to inform you that many hotels in Italy, not only our, require that all swimmers (male and female) wear a swim cap. It’s the rule, that must be respected.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed for 6 nights in July.

Positives
Great location near to Trastevere as others have warned it is a bit of a walk back up hill with a full belly after your evening meal.
Very clean hotel
Pool area very nice, large clean, well maintained
Staff everyone was friendly, welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast - cereal, fruit, cakes, pastries, fresh juices, small amount of bacon, sausage and egg if you fancy something warm etc. lovely location.
We had a nice meal at the hotel the first night, the chef made a lovely vegetable lasagne which we eat at the pool bar with a good glass of wine (or 2)
Such a relief to use the pool after walking around Rome for a few hours in 30 degree heat.


Negatives

swimming hat - not really necessary waste of 10 euro s really, but you could always buy a cheap one before you go. The rule wasn't enforced with everyone when we were there.
Our room was tiny and the walls within the hotel are paper thin and you can literally hear Everything! we were woken most nights by nocturnal noises!
wine and water is expensive but probably same as most hotels, however you can buy these cheaper in Trastevere

We would not return because we feel that we have seen most of Rome after having a few visits. However I would recommend the hotel to others for the cleanliness, the staff, the pool and the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Rostin,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a Trip Advisor comment.

It’s nice to hear that you liked our swimming pool, great location, breakfast room with cereal, fruit, cakes etc. and all our staff take good care of you. We are happy to read that you enjoyed homemade vegetable lasagna prepared by our chef.

We would like to inform you, that is obligated to wear a swimming cap. Many hotels in Italy require that all swimmer wear a swimming cap. You can take a swim cap from home or if you don’t have it, you can buy it in hotel, It’s cost 5,00 euro/1piece. Regarding the noise we actively work on it, we monitor this very carefully and we are very disappointed this has negatively impacted your stay. We do not understand why you did not refer to us in the moment, perhaps we could change your room.

We are glad that you enjoy staying with us and you recommend our hotel to other clients.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

i was in the hotel giannicolo in march 2012 for a week.....the hotel is amazing and a great location....the food was exccelent and the rooms were very confortable and welcoming....what made our stay there was the staff they were all very helpful and kind plus very professional....big thank you to Virginia :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Holiday I,

Thank you for such a fantastic review!
I will share your feedback directly with the hotel team. It is great to read you enjoyed your visit, the hotel, and that you had a great time in Rome!

We look forward to your next visit,

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#36 of 1,291 in Rome
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#308 of 1,291 in Rome
1,210 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#228 of 1,291 in Rome
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Property: Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing