We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Aventino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aventino
Ranked #67 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay in Rome at the Hotel Aventino. The staff, particularly Justino and Stefano at the front desk, were incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and quiet. It is located in a residential area which felt very safe. It was a quick walk downhill (about 5-10mins) to the Testaccio neighbourhood where there are plenty of coffee shops, pastry shops and restaurants, shops and grocery stores, and a local market for food and household items/clothing and shoes. It was a great experience to stay in Rome and to see so few tourists! We primarily heard Italian in the Testaccio and Aventino area, although almost all, especially those working in the shops and restaurants, spoke fluent English. It was about 15 mins or less to walk to Trastavere, and approximately the same (via a different route) to reach the Jewish Ghetto area in Rome. The Aventine Hill has several gardens which offer wonderful views of Rome and several churches. We were able to take in a free classical concert at one of the churches one evening which was wonderful. The breakfast included yoghurts, cereals, breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, teas, and coffees/cappuccinos etc. There was plenty to choose from and the service was good. There is a lovely terrace/garden at the front entrance where you can sit for a coffee or a drink or just relax. We very much enjoyed our stay here, and would happily return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibTrav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guests,
What an amazing review.!!
Thank you so much for the time and effort dedicated to us.!!
We really appreciate your enthusiasm and your feelings about our Hotel Aventino and we really hope to see you again in the near future ..
Justino and Stefano ares the best and they are always very pleased to be mentioned since they really try hard to satisfy guests’s needs and desires..!!!
Hoping to see you soon, for another beautiful trip in Rome.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 983 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location, very close to the famous "Keyhole" of the Knights of Malta. A short hike down the Aventino hill to reach public transport and/or sights (and back up when you return). But if you don't mind the walk or welcome it, it is a great place. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very good and quite substantial. The garden rooms are quite dark, so probably best to get a room in the main building on an upper floor.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are quite dark, so probably best to get a room in the main building on an upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedee1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us during your trip in Rome..!
We are happy to know you appreciated the hotel, our service and the calm and beauty of the Aventino hill.
The staff and i are so glad to know your stay here was pleasant and enjoyable and that you had a chance to relax in our beautiful garden.
We really hope you can come back to Rome for another comfortable stay in our eternal city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our family of five stayed at Hotel Aventino for three nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel is situated in a quiet, historical residential area and walking distance to the Forum, buses, and subway. Just a few blocks away are fantastic vistas of Rome from a secluded park overlooking the Tiber and all the hustle and bustle. The facilities were spotless and beautiful. Breakfast was complete and more than adequate. The staff were FANTASTIC - very helpful and friendly. The only bad part of our stay at Aventino is that it wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMan84115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on the community of Tripadvisor.
We are so happy that everything went perfect during your stay in our Hotel Aventino, appreciating the special location and the service received by all our Staff.!!
We will be glad to have you again in our Hotel Aventino, for another pleasant stay in Rome.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quiet, safe residential neighbourhood with 10 minutes walk to the nearby Testaccio quarter with many small but excellent local restaurants and a range of buses in Via Marmorata.
The hotel is housed in a villa from 1929, everything is nice and clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly and you get everything you would expect in a *** hotel plus a nice quiet garden and the feel of a home away from home.
Breakfast was good and service was prompt and friendly.
Choose this hotel if you like quiet nights and helpful service, and don't mind the short walk to the sights, restaurants and buses.
We heard a few barking dogs, but they were not really annoying after 23.00 (11.00 PM).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus_K_Nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Mr Nielsen,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor community.!
We are glad you appreciated the privileged position of our Hotel Aventino , placed in the quiet elegant area called Aventino hill. All the staff is pleased to read your words about the quality of the service: everyday we try to do our best to satisfy the needs of our guests. We are happy only when everything is perfect.!
It’s good to know that you enjoyed the good breakfast in the garden surrounded by the scented trees in this special oasis and thank you for recommending our Hotel Aventino to others potential guest that are looking for some quiet stay.!!
We will wait you again for another beautiful trip in the eternal city!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and were completely satisfied. The hotel is small but cosy, with nice garden. The hotel's staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It was quite chilly in our room during our stay, but two warm benches and Italian vine helped us to solve this issue.
All in all, it's a very good hotel located in one of the best parts of the city. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Slide109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for this positive comment.!
Our Hotel Aventino is a surprise experience and it can reserve unexpected joy.!!
Knowing about positive stays like yours is always a pleasure for all our staff that works hardly for this purpose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had a lovely stay for work at this hotel. It is in a complete oasis of peace and calm on the Aventino Hill within a mile or two (and an easy tram ride) to the Cooloseum and access to public transport to the city. Quiet room, well appointed and clean, English speaking news on the TV, nice breakfast, and a lovely green area with tables to sit out of an evening. It has the feel of a boutique hotel, with excellent service. Good wifi - just make sure you are not in the garden rooms (334, 335) where there is no wifi or phone signal (i ended up downloading work over breakfast). If i get to take the family to Rome it will definitely be a place I will stay again. It's part of a small chain of Aventino hotels, and the other two round the corner (Pio and San Anselmo I think) are similar and nice too.

Room Tip: if you need wifi don't stay in the garden rooms 334 and 335 - but they are lovely, quiet and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the nice words you spent in describing the location and the atmosphere of our Aventino Hotel.!!
It’s always a pleasure for us to know how our Villa is welcoming and charming for business travellers as you and we like to take care of our guests taking note of every feedback to improve our service.
Thank you very much for your stay and we will wait you soon with your family for another pleasant trip in the beauty of Rome.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family of 5 were welcomed with open arms & all our questions were answered by the very friendly staff. Restaurant recommendations were very helpful, as we enjoyed several delicious meals. The hotel is within walking distance to the Colosseum & the Forum. The neighborhood is very quiet, and we enjoyed the breakfast, as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
It was such a pleasure to take care of your family during your stay with us, and we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed our friendly and warm hospitality. Our hotel location is perfect to relax after a long day walk and staff is always attentive to satisfy your needs for a great roman experience.
we’re really looking forward for your next stay with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#40 of 1,272 in Rome
1,192 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#180 of 1,272 in Rome
1,504 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,272 in Rome
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aventino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aventino

Address: Via San Domenico 10, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $80 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aventino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aventino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing